We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view for breakfast or cocktail hour”

Le Papillon Restaurant
Price range: $15 - $50
Description: El aclamado Restaurante Le Papillon del Hotel La Mariposa combina las espectaculares vistas con deliciosa comida. Este restaurante al aire libre se alza 500 metros sobre las azules aguas del Mar Pacífico de Manuel Antonio. Disfrute sus hermosas vistas a la Bahía y al Parque Nacional acompañadas de las espectaculares puestas del sol mientras deleita nuestros platillos deliciosos de nuestro chef local.
Restaurant details
Description: El aclamado Restaurante Le Papillon del Hotel La Mariposa combina las espectaculares vistas con deliciosa comida. Este restaurante al aire libre se alza 500 metros sobre las azules aguas del Mar Pacífico de Manuel Antonio. Disfrute sus hermosas vistas a la Bahía y al Parque Nacional acompañadas de las espectaculares puestas del sol mientras deleita nuestros platillos deliciosos de nuestro chef local.
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great view for breakfast or cocktail hour”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

World class view, good bk, good cocktail hour. Expensive dinner but to be expected at a very expensive hotel right? Excellent dinner. Worth it. PS: Avoid steak anywhere in CR unless they guarantee it is imported which 99% of them can't. CR cattle is grass fed on the open range, not corn fed, so it is tough. Stick with the fish which in Quepos/M.A. should be daily fresh, 2 days at most, major fishing port in CR.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Havana, Cuba
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Reward for all your senses”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

No breakfasts can be compares with ones of Le Papillón a vast offer of variety on the bufé and eggs a la minute and the waiter passing often offering cooffee and milk like he want you never stop. The lunch its a la carte, but the best experience of this restaurant is watch the sunset from the wet bar with a cocktail, prefered Golden Margarita. The menu is espectacular, all this without take in count you're seating in the top of the hills of Manuel Antonio with the best view 180° of the beach and the National Park. A experience to not forget.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jbradman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“View incredible, food, not so much”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Not a huge food expert by any means, but a badly undercooked, overpriced steak for dinner one night, and 3 breakfasts from a buffet just didn't do it. Service was ok, view of Pacific was magnificent - like the hotel. Great location and views, not much else.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scud1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful ambiance”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Since we have a house in Manuel Antonio, we have been to Le Papillion many times over the years. The food, while always very good, can be superb depending on the current chef. On our last visit it was wonderful. The wait staff is friendly, attentive and accomodating without being intrusive. So, since we've gotten to know some of them over the years, we look forward to dining them when we visit. I find it hard to be objective about the place as I think about a candlelit dinner high over the Pacific, surrounded by flowers and the tropical forest with a glass of crisp white wine and a dinner of fresh caught fish. Throw in the extraordinary view and you can see that we'll be back no question.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank amigodecr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing sunset view with so so food”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

My wife and I were staying at the hotel and wanted to enjoy a nice dinner at the restaurant at the hotel for our honeymoon. We were very impressed with the service from the waiter who was very friendly and made sure we were enjoying our meal. The restaurant was about half-full at the time we ate. Overall service was slow compared to the US, but we experienced that at every restaurant we ate at in Costa Rica. We weren't in a rush, so we were fine the service was a little on the slow side. It was a very romantic dinner and we enjoyed the setting, but the food just didn't live up to what we expected and paid for. I order the ahi tuna steak which was overcooked and dry. I had asked for it to be medium rare. My wife ordered pasta and enjoyed her food. We both started with a salad that had a great blackberry type dressing on it. The hotel is beautiful, the view is amazing and the wait staff is very friendly, I just wish that the food was a little better tasting. I would still recommend eating at this restaurant though for the view, atmosphere and friendly staff.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Papillon Restaurant also viewed

Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Le Papillon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing