We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A great tour experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manuel Antonio Expeditions

Manuel Antonio Expeditions
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a small company that loves to share nature and teach about our wildlife and natural resources. Our guides are all professional and billingual.We are proud to offer personalize service and work with our clients to make the best of their vacation. Let us know be part of your wonderfull trip to Costa Rica.
Portland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great tour experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

As many other reviewers have mentioned, having a guide take you through Manual Antonio is definitely the way to go. The walk from the park entrance to the beach really isn't long at all. If you were to go by yourself, you'd walk along a gravel road, maybe see a couple of animals if you were really looking, and then end up on a beautiful beach. With Edgar as our guide, however, we saw many, many animals. He was really dedicated to making sure that we saw as many interesting creatures as possible, and we did! We saw two types of sloths, three types of monkeys, and many different birds, insects, and bats. Edgar used his scope and our phones to take some fantastic photos that we couldn't have captured at all otherwise. We ended the tour with cookies, fresh pineapple, and juice and then said goodbye to Edgar and spent some time playing on the beach and in the water. It's a busy beach, but a very nice one. It's easy to take photos of white-faced monkeys from the beach because, unfortunately, they've been quite desensitized to humans and come to the trees on the beach looking for food.

We emailed manuelantonioexpeditions@hotmail.com at 8:30 the night before and got a response back right away. We met Edgar at El Avion restaurant (an easy landmark to find) and he hopped in the car and helped us to get to the best parking location. Note that there are numerous people wearing official-looking orange or yellow vests trying to flag down cars and direct them to parking our tours, but Edgar helped us to bypass all of them and get to a very close, safe parking area. If we'd been alone and stopped at the first official-looking orange vest, we would have had a long, uphill walk to the park entrance.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mishibell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    60
    10
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mangrove boat tour was wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Paul, our guide, picked us up exactly on time from our hotel. he was funny, interesting and spoke flawless English. The boat tour itself was relaxing, interesting and a great opportunity to see wildlife without working up a sweat. Paul pointed out many types of birds, snakes (including 2 black boa sightings), lizards, a crocodile. We also had an up close and personal experience with monkeys, who climbed onto the boat and entertained us. After the boat tour, Paul took us to his own home, where his lovely wife prepared a typical Costa Rican meal. Great experience, one of our favorites, highly recommend!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank texfoodmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Totally worth the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I almost toured the national park ourselves.....what a bad idea that would have been.

This expedition tour group flagged us down when we were driving down to the park and told us it would be 35,000 colones (~ $60 or so) and I will admit I was skeptical at first, but it was worth every penny.

Our tour guide Jason was wonderful - he was extremely knowledgable, funny and fun to be around. He spotted animals we seriously could have seen if we tried - baby iguana, snake, crabs, multiple spiders, birds, monkeys and sloths - all awe-inspiring to see, plus the backstory Jason provided made it a memorable experience.

You need to hire this service, and request Jason.

- Jake and Sarah

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Snavelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Amazing park--wonderful guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had been to the Manuel Antonio area before but never to the Park. Our guide was Josue and he was excellent. We saw animals that we would never had seen on our own, heard stories about virtually ever plant we passed, and laughed at jokes that were based on what we were seeing. He even managed for us to pet one of the deer that roams in the park. When we reached the beachfront, w saw more monkeys--both white-faced and howlers--than we've seen on both previous trips combined. Great experience!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jmc247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totally exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

It's our first time in Costa Rica and Manuel Antonio Nat'l Park was our first thing to do in the country. We didn't know what to expect from a tour, and being inveterate DIY-ers, we were worried we might regret the choice to hire a guide. Turns out to be the best decision we could have made. Pablo (Paul) was the best--using his telescope, he showed us everything from the tiniest insect to hidden bats to sloths and monkeys, and could explain it all knowledgably in fluent English. I can say with certainty that we wouldn't have seen anything other than a few bugs without him. He's also a delightful person to hang with-- interacted with our kids (13 and 15) really well, kept them involved and entertained, and had lots to say about Oregon, where we're from, especially our Oregon Ducks! In fact, we scheduled a mangrove kayak tour with his company the next day and that was equally great. Can't recommend enough!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manuel Antonio Expeditions also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Manuel Antonio Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing