We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why go to Manuel Antonio if you don't have a guide?”

Manuel Antonio Expeditions
Ranked #16 of 66 Tours in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a small company that loves to share nature and teach about our wildlife and natural resources. Our guides are all professional and billingual.We are proud to offer personalize service and work with our clients to make the best of their vacation. Let us know be part of your wonderfull trip to Costa Rica.
Draper, UT.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Why go to Manuel Antonio if you don't have a guide?”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had a fabulous tour with Pablo of Manuel Antonio Park. He was so knowledgeable and great with our kids. Because he has previously lived in Toronto his English was impeccable. (We don't speak Spanish.) We were amazed that as we walked he would suddenly stop and point out an animal high in the tree that we NEVER would have seen had we just walked through on our own. On this tour we saw monkeys, sloths, a boa constrictor, spiders, birds,raccoons, iguanas, bats, frogs, grasshoppers, Halloween crabs, and much more. We also saw the looks of jealousy in the eyes of those visitors walking through without a guide as they peered into the trees to try and spot what we were seeing. However, it was sometimes difficult (if not impossible) to see without a scope. If seeing the various wildlife that Manuel Antonio offers is your main interest, it would be foolish to go without a guide. We highly recommend Pablo and his company and would use them again on another trip. It was well worth the price of admission.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LauraDraper_UT_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    62
    11
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Day with Juan”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

On May 15th,mMy two daughters, wife and I enjoyed an entire day with Juan. We started the day by being picked up at the exact time we were promised. We then headed to Manuel Antonio National Parkwith Juan being our guide for the morning. He was great at finding various animals for us to all see and to observe through the scope. We were able to even see two beautiful toucans. He makes the day both interesting and fun. After the time at MANP we picked up 3 other couples and headed to eat lunch at Pablo's house. Pablo's wife, Wendy, cooked a fabulous meal. Pablo's daughter was home that day and was very nice. We enjoyed experiencing being in someone's home in Costa Rica and truly felt welcomed. We then headed to the Mangrove. Our group was thrilled with all of the different animals we were able to see. There was one lady who was scared to death to have a monkey on the boat and Juan was great at making sure that her fear would not stop the rest of us from having a fun and adventurous time. I highly recumbent Juan and his company. He is very personable and professional. Thanks for making memories for me and my family.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a great tour in the park! Our guide was very intelligent, funny, and outgoing. We truly enjoyed our time with him and the rest of the group. He answered all of our questions and he even took pictures for us to ensure we got the perfect shot.

Def book them for the manuel antonio park tour!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brittney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Really truly amazing experience with Edgar the naturalist”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

This was one of my best experiences in Costa Rica. It was made exceptional by our guide Edgar who is extremely knowledgable, friendly, obliging and has a good sense of humour. I would strongly recommend him. We saw a very large number of animals including central American squirrel monkeys (my favourite!), howler monkeys, racoons, iguanas, bats, deer, white faced monkeys, lizards. Edgar grew up in the area and so is very familiar with the local flora and fauna.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank intrepid_pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schriever, Louisiana
1 review
“friends trip”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This was a beautiful park. Very clean with sufficient bathroom facilities.
Our guide Paul was very informative about the park. He could answer any ? asked to him. His price was resonable. His company also took us on a Mangrove trip. Saw lots of monkeys. Juan was our guide very friendly & likeable person. Lunch @ Paul,s home was included. Cassada for lunch very good. Paul was our transport to San Josa for our return home trip. 3 hr. trip Talked about the country & took us to lunch & shopping before we returned to our hotel. Very informative & all around good person to be with. Good driver also. Glad we hooked up with this company. Paul & Juan I would recommend you to anyone going to Costa Rica. Best guides
Charlene & Pete

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manuel Antonio Expeditions also viewed

Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Manuel Antonio Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing