We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow- Try This For a Great Experience”

Manuel Antonio Expeditions
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a small company that loves to share nature and teach about our wildlife and natural resources. Our guides are all professional and billingual.We are proud to offer personalize service and work with our clients to make the best of their vacation. Let us know be part of your wonderfull trip to Costa Rica.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow- Try This For a Great Experience”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

we loved this hike through manuel antonio national park. definitely get the tour guide, they will point out things (sloths, lizards, frog eggs!) from a mile away, literally! the tour guides know the grounds very well and bring along a scope to zoom in on creatures that are too far to see without binoculars.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank OssoBlanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    539
    62
    11
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour! Must do!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Manuel Antonio Expeditions did a phenomenal job touring us through the park. I would highly recommend them. Our tour guide, Paul Gonzalves, clearly knew his stuff. Paul was incredibly insightful, educated us on various fauna of the park and quickly scoped animals for us to see. More importantly, Paul deftly handled both the "have to see everything!" adults and the "I'm bored/hungry/dying!!" children with professional charm. While the parents were struggling with their 7-year old boy, Paul engaged him by bringing the scope to his level - keeping him active in conversation - and plying all the kids (and adults!) with enough pineapple to make it to the end!

Like others have said, you are wasting money if you don't get a tour guide in the park. I highly recommend Paul and Manuel Antonio Expeditions.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank joe e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
240 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Nature at its finest!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had a fabulous tour guide. His name was Roger. He had a degree in bugs/birds so knew what he was talking about. Great sense of humor, too.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BarefootBuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice park”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Not too big. Path are well maintained. Worth it to take a guide. Do a tour and then enjoy the beach. Don't forget to bring water and food, as nothing is sold inside the park. You'll get to see birds, monkeys, sloths, etc.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Digre_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Visiting the park”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We set up our visit of Manuel Antonio NP at our time share, Pueblo Real! Our guide was Roger. He was fabulous. Well educated, good English and a great personality. You must have a guide to visit the park.
The guides job is to find the various creatures and educate you.
There are standard creatures that each guide will try to find.
At the end of the 90 minute saunter you can take a dip in the beautiful ocean. Bring your suit as this is a welcome treat. All in all one of the most authentic stops on our Costa Rican visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manuel Antonio Expeditions also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Manuel Antonio Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing