We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“For resort visiting not true Costa Rican life” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manuel Antonio Expeditions

Manuel Antonio Expeditions
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a small company that loves to share nature and teach about our wildlife and natural resources. Our guides are all professional and billingual.We are proud to offer personalize service and work with our clients to make the best of their vacation. Let us know be part of your wonderfull trip to Costa Rica.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
366 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“For resort visiting not true Costa Rican life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We drove to Manuel Antonio to see the beauty that this national park has to offer. The beaches are so beautiful... everything Costa Rica would love for you to see. The park offers much wildlife and the smell of monkey can over-come you, but if you've never seen the beauty that is offered to the tourists; it's worth a trip. You can stay here, eat here, visit the park but know that this area is made for tourists and is not by any means a true experience of the Tico life of the natives. English is spoken here so you can go to Costa Rica without knowing their language. The hotels offer tours from Zip Line to horse back riding. If you love resort vacations; Manuel Antonio will exceed your expectations. I would not recommend that you visit the park during the weekend, the Tico's live life to the fullest and many families will be there; it's very crowded during a weekend. I would not recommend buying the Pipa de Fria (cold coconut water in the coconuts) because you never know if you are getting the real deal. Living in a casa on lush land outside of this tourist area; I learned to shave open my own coconuts for the water.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinnie1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    59
    9
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Canopy Safari Zipline”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Loved it!!!! Joe, Diego, and Alejandro helped make this a wonderful, fun, exciting, and safe adventure. I loved the zip lines, tarzan swing, and the rappels...can't decide which I liked best! Photos were provided at a small cost, which helped capture the fun experience. I loved the butterfly garden that follows...it was like being in a magical place. The lunch was excellent, too, and the guys stopped along the way to point out special plants and wildlife. Altogether a wonderful experience, and I hope to do it again someday!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“See it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Wildlife, flora and fauna, the beach make it a great easy hike. The walk is not difficult and don't forget to wear your bathing suit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jdisque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Get a guide, see more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The visit of this park was just fantastic. We had a guided tour with a small group of four (low season). I strongly recommand a guide to see things you would not see otherwise. The beaches are also great so you can bring a towel and suimsuit to enjoy for an hour. Make sure to have something to eat, there are not restaurant in the park but some at the entrance but its 20 minutes walk from the beach.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoPolo010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
1 review
“Wonderful nature walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were very happy to have a guide as we walked through the park. Our guide was able to show us a number of creatures that we never would have seen on our own. He was very knowledgeable about the wildlife we were seeing, as well as the history of the area and the park. We wish we had brought our bathing suits etc. along with us to enjoy the beaches at the end of the walk.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manuel Antonio Expeditions also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Manuel Antonio Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing