We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our Costa Rica trip!”

Manuel Antonio Expeditions
Ranked #16 of 65 Tours in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a small company that loves to share nature and teach about our wildlife and natural resources. Our guides are all professional and billingual.We are proud to offer personalize service and work with our clients to make the best of their vacation. Let us know be part of your wonderfull trip to Costa Rica.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“Highlight of our Costa Rica trip!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Our family of five toured the park with Pablo and we were amazed at his ability to spot the animals hidden in the trees. Had we been on our own we would have missed seeing: Sloths,Monkeys, Snakes, Bats, Spiders, Insects and all the beautiful plants in the park. Not only did Pablo spot the animals, he explained how each animal fit into the overall Eco-system. We were so impressed with the park tour that we went on a Mangrove bout tour with Pablo a couple of days later. This tour was even better! We saw a complete different set of animals than we did in the park, including Turtles and Crocodiles. One of the highlights was when Pablo called Monkeys right onto our boat! The most impressive part of the tour was lunch back at Pablo's house, what a great treat! Pablo's wife Wendy prepared a delicious fish lunch while Pablo explained about everyday life in Costa Rica. We couldn't have asked for better hospitality! If you want to experience the best that Manuel Antonio has to offer, take a tour with MA Expeditions!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    62
    11
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The ONLY way to see Manuel Antonio Park!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I am so happy we had a guide accompany us through the park. Had we been on our own, we would have missed all the fascinating wildlife (you need a trained eye to spot them). Munching on termites (my kids, not me!) was a definite highlight and Lenny was gracious, accommodating, fun and patient with our wayward group of nine. There is a gorgeous beach there. Pack swimwear and towels to enjoy it. Wish we would have known as we missed out on this amazing attraction.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank justkaijack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star Valley Ranch, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“MA Expeditions STILL great”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I toured with Juan last September and brought my parents, wife, and daughter back to MA to have Juan lead us through the park again. Juan is very well educated and informed about the flora and fauna. Juan is personable and great to be with. Juan is a professional and understands all of the elements of service. He is also a little bit of an entertainer. BEST of all he has amazing spotting skills and a great scope.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bakaroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakemary, FL
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wow! You MUST take a guide!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Wow! What an amazing place! We went with a guide (Paul) and saw animals that we never imagined were right next to us: Bats, lizards, deadly vipers! If not for the trained eyes of our guide, it would have been a relatively boring walk along the path with us muttering "Where are the dang monkeys!" Instead, we were shown animals that we NEVER would have noticed, practically in touching distance from the path!
There are three beaches that are all absolutely amazing to behold! The water was warm and the scenery was gorgeous! We were treated to fresh fruits at the first beach and given the opportunity to take in some of the beach scenery. Meanwhile, a group of howler monkeys were frolicking above!
Overall, it was a Must-See attraction!
Be advised, however, that there is a certain type of tree whose sap is painful to the touch. These trees are right along the edge of the beach where a tourist like me would hang my bags and towels and climb up for a picture! Yet another reason to bring a guide!

The Great:
- Amazing wildlife!
- Great Beaches!

The Not-So-Great:
- Watch out for the nasty acid tree! (sorry I don't know the name)

Tips/Advice:
- Get a guide but make plans to stay on your own after the tour so you can enjoy the beach. Otherwise you may feel like you missed out on great beach relaxation and picture opportunities!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lola13th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Rated #1 in MA activities and I agree”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Very professional and prompt. We did night mangrove tour. We got a break with rain and it really didn't rain at all while we toured the mangroves at night so that helped seeing wild life.

We got picked up at 5:30 from our bungalow, drove to one of the guide's home and different guide finally drove us to boat dock. There were only 6 tourists, 2 guides, and boat driver.

Overall, we saw many animals including bats, raccoon, possum, all kinds of birds sleeping, lizards, snakes, caught and release small croc, lizards, and bull frog.

We failed to spot a large croc but they had medium size one caught early (so they say) in the boat tank so we got to see that.

End of the tour, the tide was getting low, got stuck a couple of times and the guide had to jump off and push the boat but nothing worse.

After the tour, we were served with Mahi-mahi plate dinner at the guide's home. His wife made the dishes and my wife thought were done very cleanly and well prepared, better than most of the restaurant that we've been to.

I understand that in Western culture (or American culture), it may seem akward to eat while residents watch tv or in the living room, but we thought it was good to experience normal Tico living. I read one review that they were having dinner in the kitchen while guide's kids were watching tv. They actually set up table in the front yard so we didn't mind at all.

Overall good company, good guides, and good tour.

Night tour was different and great experience but if I have to do it again, I would do day time mangrove tour. We saw more sleeping birds but missed out on many mammals. It was very hard to see clearly and taking photo was next to impossible because it was so dark, we were constantly in motion, and plants were in the way.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chookgoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manuel Antonio Expeditions also viewed

Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Manuel Antonio Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing