We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The guide was great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manuel Antonio Expeditions

Manuel Antonio Expeditions
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a small company that loves to share nature and teach about our wildlife and natural resources. Our guides are all professional and billingual.We are proud to offer personalize service and work with our clients to make the best of their vacation. Let us know be part of your wonderfull trip to Costa Rica.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
504 reviews
270 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“The guide was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We read the reviews from people who didn’t get guides, but after we did this tour, we don’t know how in the world someone could go without a guide. We would have seen nothing! I wonder if their experience with the fake parking attendants just soured them on the whole experience. We had a transfer from the hotel, but we saw the fake parking attendants, practically a mile from the park, and couldn’t believe how rude that was to trick people into parking there. We spent three hours in the park, walking along the path and having our guide, Bernie, spot cool things for us. Just like at a zoo, you are never guaranteed to see animals, but with our guide, we saw a silverback spider, a ‘Kiss of Death’ snake, two mother sloths with babies (!), a deer and fawn, Howler monkeys, bats, white faced monkeys and a Basilik lizard. We did bring our swim suits for the beach, which has much calmer water than outside the park and no vendors or chair rental people trying to sell things to you. Plus, you can watch the monkeys playing in the trees just at the edge of the beach. We read reviews that the place was really crowded, but we were there during Easter week and while there were a lot of people, we never thought it was all that bad.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RYC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    58
    9
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Great service!!! Will use again for sure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Had a great experience working with Paul. He helped us every step of the way to organize our trip and has been extremely patient in explaining options, tour choices, and hotel suggestions. Great experience. Will definitely use on our next trip to Costa Rica.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank yury55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Or
Level Contributor
165 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Park - Great Guide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

You will see almost nothing interesting without a guide that knows where the interesting animals happen to be on a particular day, and without a telescope that they provide even if you know where they are - you won't see them. Our guide was great - my guess is they don't hire bad guides. Good English extremely knowledgable, personal and humorous. Highly recommend this.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank fiddle_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love Manuel Antonio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My 2nd visit to Costa Rica and Manuel Antonio, but this time with children. It was great! Our guide was fabulous with my two small children 8 and 5) and helped keep them engaged and was very good at making sure they saw all the lovely animals. We saw two and three toed sloths, Jesus Christ Lizard, squirrel monkes and many other critters.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kbluster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Manuel Antonio National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a great park, the animals were very cool and the beach was really beautiful. This park can't be missed; it’s the highlight of the area.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeffM1199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manuel Antonio Expeditions also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Manuel Antonio Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing