We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food great coffee but the staff lacked warm vibes”

El Patio de Cafe Milagro - Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Costa Rican, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Cafe Milagro began as a small, specialty coffee roaster in 1994 and over the years it has evolved into a local culinary institution. From coffee to cuisine, we offer the best of Costa Rica's fresh local ingredients. In Manuel Antonio, be sure to check out El Patio de Cafe Milagro, our cafe, bar and restaurant featuring the area's most innovative Costa Rican kitchen. With its casual, tropical ambience, great food, local micro brews, ample wine list, fabulous cocktails and their very own fresh roasted coffee, this is bound to become your home away from home in Manuel Antonio. Breakfast, lunch & dinner served daily 7am-10pm. Live music nightly from 7pm-9pm.
Fernie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food great coffee but the staff lacked warm vibes”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This café was an absolute treat regarding the food that was served. All the food was fresh, unique and totally delicious! The coffee was great! However we were really reluctant to come back here as we found the staff weren't very friendly. One particular female staff member who served me on several occasions rolled her eyes at me and portrayed a really arrogant attitude. It was a shame as the food and coffee was so great but who wants to sit in a café where the majority of the staff make you feel like you shouldn't be there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SummahW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaRicanCoffee, Owner at El Patio de Cafe Milagro - Manuel Antonio, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Wish we could have impressed you with our normal Trifecta of great food, delicious coffee and fantastic service! We're sorry to hear we didn't hit the service you deserve out of the park. It's always helpful if you say something in the moment so we have an opportunity to do better; it's also the best way for our stellar staff to become more aware of how they interact with customers. We always receive high compliments regarding our service so I must say, this is a surprise. Thanks for the opportunity to grow. You can order more delicious Cafe Milagro online!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,593
    537
    128
    35
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kew Gardens, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great breakfast HOT SPOT! Awesome service.”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I went here for breakfast one of our last days in Costa Rica, and wished we would have gone there sooner, because we would have gone back a bunch of times! We are going back tomorrow on our last day, because it was so incredible. The coffee was great, breakfast was delicious, and the ladies serving were friendly and very attentive to making sure everyone was happy.

I ordered the omelette with italian sausage. Came with beans and rice - AMAZING! My husband had the platos tipico with eggs, beans and rice and plaintains. We wanted to try the pancakes so bad, so we did and shared them HA! We got the banana pancakes with macadamia nuts! WOW!!!! So delicious. We spent some time after breakfast browsing through the gift shop.

Such a nice place! Awesome food and service!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zagare42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaRicanCoffee, Owner at El Patio de Cafe Milagro - Manuel Antonio, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Cool! We love to be a hot spot! We are thrilled to know you loved the food and service and a sincere thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful post. Your word of mouth is everything for a small business and our gratitude to you for helping to spread the word. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing service”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I went here for dinner after reading all the great reviews on TA. Even though they had two large parties that night, they welcomed us like family. We experienced the best service. The staff really work as a team and are so friendly. I had the best calamari appetizer. Go for the service and the food!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaRicanCoffee, Owner at El Patio de Cafe Milagro - Manuel Antonio, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and thank you for taking notice of our exceptional staff. We all really care about serving well and making people happy. So glad we could give you the personalized service you deserve and provide you with delicious food too. That's a win, win! All the best to you and thank you for letting other travelers know about us. Please spread the word!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Enjoy the mellow vibe and coffees”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our first night in MA we visited Café Milagro. It was Friday night, so it was busy and had a cool, hippie kind of vibe to it. Everyone in our party seemed to enjoy their food and our friends ordered coffee that they particularly enjoyed. However, desserts are not the strong point at this café. With the exception of the coconut pie (if the have during your visit—it changes daily) the others we tried were not particularly tasty, so I'd skip it unless they improve in this area. (We found Emillio’s down the street to be the best for this and visited it 3 times during our stay)
Our friends wanted to purchase their delicious coffees for gifts to take home, so we returned on our final evening. The dinner menu is not as varied as I would like to have dined there two nights, but I did not want to take cabs to two destinations so we just ate there again for simplicity's sake. This time it was a week night, so definitely not busy or quite as lively as on our first visit.
Seems like it should be slightly less expensive since it is more of a cafe, but prices are comparable to most other places for dinner in MA

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rockmama12052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaRicanCoffee, Owner at El Patio de Cafe Milagro - Manuel Antonio, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Glad you enjoyed our mellow vibe and goodness! Thanks for the head's up regarding our desserts. We will happily taste test all of them in an effort to continue improving. We stick with simple bistro fare that highlights local, fresh ingredients. Big menus scare us as they are impossible to execute with quality and consistency; proudly both of these traits are trademarks of Milagro! Please visit us again and you can order more of our delicious coffee online!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breakfast Capital of Manuel Antonio”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Not only all of the best coffee drinks made with local coffee but breakfast choices that excell over anything you will find in the US. Severs are very friendly and seem to love their job.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaRicanCoffee, Owner at El Patio de Cafe Milagro - Manuel Antonio, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
As an owner best part of your review is hearing our staff loves their job! We sure hope so and do our best to nourish that. Nothing tastes good unless there is a lot of love behind it. Glad you had an authentic Milagro experience and left with fond memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Patio de Cafe Milagro - Manuel Antonio also viewed

Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Patio de Cafe Milagro - Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing