We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the money”
Review of Hotel Plaza Yara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Yara
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not bad for the money”
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Plaza Yara for 2 nights in February 2011. Nelson was unbelievably helpful, friendly and welcoming to the hotel when we arrived. As I checked in my boyfriend watched the squirrel monkeys use "the monkey bridge" to get across the street right at the hotel. Pretty cool! Jonathan showed me to the room which was spacious and clean. We stayed in room #5 which was spacious and looked out over the jungle in the back. I was able to see a mama sloth and her baby from our room hanging out in the tree right by the pool deck. Nelson signed us up for a guided tour of the National Park in the morning with Juan. He was great very knowledgeable and patient. We saw lots of sloths, a howler monkey, iguanas, toucans, lizards, a gladiator frog, and other various birds. We spent some time down at the pool (no bar) with our own cocktails. It was very relaxing and we had to all to ourselves. We met some other couples on the tour and had a great time with them both at the pool and at other random spots in Costa Rica.
The first night the air conditioning worked well and my boyfriend was able to take a hot shower. We were unable to get hot water in our shower the second day and that night the AC was not putting out cold air. Also, the bed, while comfortable enough, only had a sheet and a thin sheet like cover. If you tend to get cold at night we suggest bringing something a little warmer. Overall the staff was great, the scenery was beautiful and the kitty was adorable! We ended up leaving a credit card in the safe when we departed to our next city. Nelson contacted me immediately by email to let me know. THANKS NELSON!!! ( :

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SparklePanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelsonmonge, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Thank you for your review of Hotel Plaza Yara. It was our pleasure to welcome you to Manuel Antonio and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We apologize for the air-conditioner and water temperature, both were repaired immediately.

We look forward to your return to Costa Rica and to Hotel Plaza Yara.

Kind Regards,
Pura vida!!!
Nelson
Jonathan
and Havana (the kitty)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    154
    22
    3
    1
See reviews for
159
392
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

There's lots to like about Hotel Plaza Yara, starting with the staff. Nelson, Javier and Jonathan are the best! They gave us great recommendations for restaurants, arranged for an excellent guided trip through Manuel Antonio park and a wonderful afternoon sailing. The rooms are HUGE and include a kitchenette, sitting area and outdoor porch/patio overlooking the forest -- we watched sloths and howler monkeys while eating breakfast, which is delivered room-service style. The hotel's location is convenient to both Quepos and Manuel Antonio. No beach views but we honestly didn't miss it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebrainDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelsonmonge, Manager at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this review, March 2, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure to have you at Hotel Plaza Yara for me and my Staff, we look forward to welcoming you back soon to Manuel Antonio.
Nelson Monge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights at the start of our trip. The reservation process was smooth and the hotel was very prompt in their communications by email. The rooms were gigantic, clean and contained a lot of unexpected amenities (microwave, fridge, dishes, coffeemaker with fresh coffee and milk in the fridge, etc). Rooms were cleaned daily and we had no issues with bugs of any kind. We felt safe at all times. The staff was great. Very quick to respond to requests, and willing to accommodate us when we asked for breakfast early as we had an early tour. They brought our fresh fruit, yogurt, juice and granola bars the night before. As it turns out, I was mistaken about the early tour time. Without even asking the staff showed up at our door promptly at 7am with fresh baked bread. Right on the main road (convenient for finding and for location in general, but a lot of street noise at night). Huge picture windows that looked out on the jungle (no monkey sightings though). Had 2 nice restaurants (typical and pizza) right next door that would deliver to rooms if requested. Had a pool, which was very small, but quiet and had a great deck for relaxing. We thought the price was incredibly reasonable for all that we received. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chstewar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelsonmonge, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you at our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Pura Vida!
Nelson Monge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We were a little disappointed with my husband. The room had no balcony (but the room description said it would) and no sun light.The room was indeed big but when you spend your day outside it does not really matter. Service was okay but every question we had we got very vague answers and we have not been showned the Internet nor the swimming pool. Oh and yes. We got awake at 2 am by a phone call but no one was on the line. It's still unclear if it was the reception or if the phone in the bedroom actually had a separate phone number that would allow people from outside to call. We switched hotel after two nights.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelsonmonge, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Thank you for your review of Hotel Plaza Yara. It is unusual for us to have a dissatisfied guest and would like to respond to your concerns.

Plaza Yara is a small all-suite hotel consisting of 10 suites. Eight of the ten suites at Hotel Plaza Yara have external balconies. Suites 6 and 7 are the largest accomodations and have three sets of sliding glass doors with railing but no external balcony we apologize for the confusion. All suites face east and have abundant morning sunshine through the trees of the rainforest. All suites have individual phone lines and there is no charge for calls within Costa Rica, unfortunately with private lines it is possible for someone to dial a wrong number.

We are currently reviewing our check-in policy. Many of the travelers to Manuel Antonio travel a distance to reach us and we have a rapid check-in. In place of a property tour each suite has a two page guest brochure which includes telephone, Wi-Fi, pool, and room service and other relevant information.

We apologize that you were not 100% satisfied and we hope that you will return on your next visit to Costa Rica.

Kind regards,
Nelson Monge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Our room was clean, quiet, and spacious; it even included a small kitchen and a deck where we enjoyed the free continental breakfast every morning while watching the monkeys playing in the trees. Very conveniently located a few minutes walk to the bus stop, where buses stop frequently for Quepos (the closest town) or Manuel Antonio National Park. Nelson and Javier were friendly and helpful. We were very happy with Hotel Plaza Yara and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sasuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelsonmonge, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review, we think you're "excellent in every way".

Kind regards,

Nelson Monge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2011

My brother was turning 50, and as with everything else, the whole family decided to join in the festivities. Destination: Costa Rica! He had heard about Hotel Plaza Yara from a friend who said that he had spent a night there, so we decided to check it out. This was not your normal family vacation by any means! When all was said and done, 33 family members, ranging from 2 to 86 took Costa Rica by storm! Several phone calls, and too many e-mails to count, we were greeted by the wonderful staff at Hotel Plaza Yara. What can we say, except thank you, thank you thank you! Nelson, you are our Angel! The requests were many, and each one was handled with a smile. We had breakfast each day at the hotel, but we were in need of dinner reservations (several nights for all 33), taxis all times of the day and night, and even emergency diapers. The married couples wanted romantic getaways, the younger crowd late night dancing, and even entertainment for the children. The made reservations for Zip Lining, RVing, and even a sunset boat cruise with dinner on my birthday, which was also celebrated there.

Beside the amazing customer service, the hotel is such a find. The cleanliness was beyond belief (even having my finicky mother remarking how clean it was). The rooms were spacious, including a small kitchen area where we made our fabulous Costa Rican coffee each morning. The deck outside our room was even more amazing in the early morning with the monkeys playing in the trees only feet from me! The bathrooms were wonderful, with an wonderfully large shower that refreshed you after a day at the beach! There were also 2 restaurants in the complex, and they were perfect for the nights we wanted to relax close to the hotel! And don't forget to visit the art gallery that also has beautiful jewelry!

As far as location, we were only minutes from the beach, the entrance to the tour of the Manuel Antonio rain forest (which I highly recommend) and from the quaint lovely town.

We hope to return to Hotel Plaza Yara soon, and recommend that you do the same!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewNonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelsonmonge, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Thank you so much for your review of Hotel Plaza Yara. The staff of the hotel had as much fun as your family. It was amazing to have the entire hotel rented to a family and we were sad to see you leave.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards,
Nelson Monge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Location: Between Quepos and Manuel Antonio, very close to Manuel Antonio especially if you have a vehicle. They have an art gallery in the lobby which is a nice touch.

Service: Super friendly staff. Nelson and Jonathan welcomed us and helped us with any info we needed.

Room: Huge room, nice decor, huge bathroom, nice balcony.

Safe provided, TV with cable.

Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cucharaloca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelsonmonge, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Thank you so much for you review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to Manuel Antonio.

Kind Regards,
Nelson Monge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,009 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,540 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,201 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Yara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Yara

Property: Hotel Plaza Yara
Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio 322-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Plaza Yara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Yara is located only five minutes to Manuel Antonio National Park. Hotel Plaza Yara offers all suites feature custom made furniture,queen size beds,kichenettes and spacious baths. relax on the balcony and enjoy the jungle views with variety of wildlife with passes daily including monkeys,sloths,iguanas and exotic birds. Hotel Plaza Yara offers the possibility for you to enjoy your stay in comfort,casual elegance and in tune with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Plaza Yara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Yara Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing