We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Experience”
Review of Hotel Plaza Yara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Yara
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here in late June/early July 2014 for our 1st year anniversary, and we were blown away by this hotel!

The rooms are huge, the breakfast is to die for (order the tipica breakfast, it's the best) the location is great, it's very private, there are only 12 rooms so you feel like there is almost no one ever there (which we love), but the service is probably the best part about staying here.

Hands down, the customer service is some of the best I have experienced anywhere in the world. Nelson, Javier and all of the other staff members are extremely helpful, friendly, and go out of their way to help you with whatever it is you need.

I will recommend this hotel to everyone.

- Jake (Jacob) and Sarah

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snavelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 764 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2014

Immaculate, large rooms with kitchenette, beautifully decorated. Nestled in forest and still on the main drag with easy access to both Manuel Antonio Park and Quepos. Staff is unbelievable -- really excel at anticipating your needs without being in-your-face. My room overlooked the breakfast area where monkeys came right in and entertained on the first day. Underline: great shower pressure in my bathroom. Used the safe the first night, then didn't bother after -- place is completely secure and guarded. Had an idyllic swim in the tree-surrounded pool.

All staff and management great at their jobs/professional -- in a couple of cases, also so sincerely warm that I actually felt sad to leave. They also really know their stuff/can arrange anything you like, not just in the area. One of my pick ups was one minute late and Jonathan knew to check the arrangements! Went out of their way to accommodate me between checkout and transfer times. Kudos to Jonathan, Javier, breakfast/room/security staff -- basically everyone plus the manager.

Has all the amenities including shop/art gallery with a computer for guest use. Buses run frequently and red cabs are easy to hail. Buses from out of town will drop you at the hotel. Tip: you pay more for cabs if they are called to the hotel vs. hailing them.

I was so happy that I picked the right place to stay in Manuel Antonio, even before seeing other options that are in a cluster about halfway between it and Manuel Antonio's main beach/tourist shop area (there is no real town). Plaza Yara is, by comparison, less touristy and more private -- with amazing value. My room had the freshest, most uplifting atmosphere to crash in (hide from the heat/humidity) between excursions.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shnti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I highly recommend Hotel Plaza Yara for your stay at Manuel Antonio for many reasons.

1. It's a great deal. The room is HUGE and has a microwave, fridge, lounge chair, etc. Breakfast is also pretty good.

2. It's in a convenient location - easy access to the public bus system and importantly the walk to the bus stop feels safe.

3. Best of all - the service is amazing. My boyfriend and I got to know Jonathan very well, in addition to Nelson and Anthony. We also met another person at the end of our trip but sadly I didn't catch his name. ALL of them were so nice! Nelson is great at helping us make decisions. Jonathan is so friendly and easy to chat with.

Don't even look further - just book here! Great value, amazing service, awesome hot water & beds, convenient location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sodany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We wandered in here at 10PM and were met with excellent service from Jonathan. The hotel we had previously gone to just next door was too moldy and musty to breathe well, so we were forced to leave, and luckily, Plaza Yara had one room available. Very modern, extremely clean, and a great breakfast. We also got great recommendations from Jonathan on day itineraries and he was willing to show us the room beforehand just in case. The price was very, very reasonable for the area. Really saved the night for us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ntnrx719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed here from May 15th-21st, in the Guest Suite, ground floor, outside the pool.
What a wonderful place. The staff was attentive, breakfast was excellent.
There was construction on the road but we didn't hear a sound.
The pool is perfect, It was right outside our door. Wonderful!
Clean, great a/c, wifi , any concerns we had were dealt with immediately. Nice.
We would recommend the Yara to anyone. Its rooms are spacious for families or couples.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1travellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I stayed here for memorial day weekend with my boyfriend and a few other friends. We got a great room on the second floor with a balcony, sitting area, a small kitchen (with fridge, sink, and microwave and free popcorn!) and a beautiful view overlooking the pool. I read a few reviews prior to staying here saying that the monkeys occasionally visited its guests but we didn't happen to come across any. The room was more of a junior suite, super spacious and very clean with very modern upgrades which was a pleasant surprise! Our hosts, Javier and Jonathan couldn't have been nicer. They recommended a phenomenal Zip Line excursion and also assisted in reserving it for us.

Our free breakfast was delicious with 3 options, the typical Costa Rican Breakfast which consisted of "Gallo Pinto" which is rice and beans, accompanied with eggs and toast. The other was an "American" Breakfast, and the third one fruits.

The hotel's location was convenient and close to the national park. Overall, we all had an amazing time and will definitely come back for our next trip to Manuel Antonio. Last but not least, don't forget to ask about their happy hour, we received a free drink per person before 6pm!

Room Tip: Request the second floor for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed here with my friend for three nights in April. We LOVED this hotel. When we first arrived we were surprised to see an art gallery. The gallery and hotel itself is filled with very cool paintings and art. The rooms are modern, clean and spacious. And the AC and Wifi worked great. We had a room with one queen and one twin bed. There was a lovely little balcony outside overlooking the jungle and outdoor breakfast area. There is a pool, although small, it served it's purpose for a little R&R. This hotel is located right in the middle between the Manuel Antonio beach area and the real town. The bus stop is about a two minute walk and you can head in either direction for approx $1. There are several restaurants in walking distance such as Ronnie's (up a dirt hill road but worth it) and Coconuts just down the road.

The staff were really great, polite and super helpful and friendly. We really enjoyed our stay here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jmet1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,031 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,606 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,292 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Yara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Yara

Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio 322-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $106 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Plaza Yara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Yara is located only five minutes to Manuel Antonio National Park. Hotel Plaza Yara offers all suites feature custom made furniture,queen size beds,kichenettes and spacious baths. relax on the balcony and enjoy the jungle views with variety of wildlife with passes daily including monkeys,sloths,iguanas and exotic birds. Hotel Plaza Yara offers the possibility for you to enjoy your stay in comfort,casual elegance and in tune with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Plaza Yara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Yara Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing