We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better late than never....”
Review of Hotel Plaza Yara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Yara
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed at this hotel back in December 2013 but just had to share my views now I have time. This was a great final hotel where we enjoyed four nights at the end of a busy costa rica tour (booked through the holiday place - highly recommended). We had a fantastic suite with a spacious veranda where I gazed in amazement at the monkeys trooping past the hotel as the dawn broke. The furnishings and decor were minimalist and sparkling clean making a return from the park a pleasant and relaxing process. Kitchen equipment including coffee making machine and microwave was most welcome when ramad persisted.
The hotel staff couldn't do enough and the owner was a wonderful host offering a gift on our departure to alleviate a brief moment of despair following the breakdown of the air-conditioning
(which was mended within the hour). Breakfast was most enjoyable offering a great view of the jungle with the birds and monkeys appearing as if on. In conclusion, it was the best hotel of the tour and we would certainly return if we are ever again in Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muskymush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 774 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

Nice staff, nice new hotel, nice location (between the public beach and quepos. By taxi some 8 usd away from the beach. We were in the suites, dear god were they nice!! Huge !!! with the kitchen, dining room, sitting area, 2 huge beds, walk-in closet, we LOVED IT! Ceiling to floor windows, directly in the jungle :) on the other side it is looking on the main street so you could hear some traffic. we were not in the main building, but a smaller one on the side, so basically a whole on 2 floors house for the 4 of us, very cool!! :D
The breakfast was served, you can choose among 3 types, was ok and enough.
There is a nice art gallery in the lobby, beautiful handmade ceramic geckos and frogs, amazing color combinations, 40 usd.
The pool is very small but enough to soak a bit, on a nice new terrace, with a view to the jungle.
The monkeys didn’t come while we were there :(

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VK V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We were a group of 5 families that visited Manuel Antonio over thanksgiving. Plaza yara was able accommodate all of us in 5 different rooms. We had to pre-pay the first night before we arrived. The rates were very reasonable, the rooms were quite spacious, and have a balcony facing the jungle. The free breakfast was excellent. Squirrel monkeys visited us in the evening which was great for the kids. There was a microwave(no stove) and utensils in all the rooms.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building are better than the ones in the adjacent one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank someIndianGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Plaza Yara towards the end of our trip in Costa Rica. We were with Plaza Yara for two nights. The staff is amazing here. We felt so welcomed and comfortable the entire stay. They did a great job of giving us a understanding of Manuel Antonio and provided great feed back on restaurant's and places to visit while we were here. I would come back in a heart beat and recommend this to anyone visiting Manuel Antonio.

Thank you for such wonderful accommodations and customer service.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sameera P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Amazing hotel, very spacious room, with up-to-date bathroom, and balcony overlooking rainforest, where we saw monkeys and a sloth. Small pool which was so refreshing after a hot day on the beach or National Park. Microwave and fridge in room, with not only local coffee provided, but also popcorn, and fresh milk in the fridge. Everything very clean, quiet and cool. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel situated between Manuel Antonio (for beaches and National Park) and Quepos. Follow the old road to Quepos for a nice walk free from traffic, but get the bus (frequent and cheap service) to Manuel Antonio. In the evening , go to the hotel next door, get the golf trolley ride up to the top for happy hour, where you will see amazing sunset and dance to the live band.

Room Tip: All good, all facing rain forest and overlooking pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara6491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The room is very spacious and has a great decor. The location is good for a quiet nights sleep. I liked that they have a kitchen with microwave and coffee maker. We were able to save money on dinner & lunch by getting food from the grocery store and preparing it. The local grocery store (a 5 min drive), has a great selection of pre marinated meats and vegetables.
The bathroom smelled moldy and the water in the shower smelled like a sewer (which was realized was the source of the smell on the last day). The breakfast options were limited and was our least favorite on the trip. They also charged us for bottled water which we got for free in every other place. There is also no laundry service on-site & we had to drag our dirty clothes to town to get them cleaned which was not a big deal since we had a car.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelsonmonge, Gerente at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Diana,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Hotel Plaza Yara. We are happy that you were pleased with the size of the suite as well as the décor and location and the exceptional value that we offer.

Plaza Yara receives guests from all over the world and we have many fond memories of visitors. Your review is confusing and sad to us as you seemed to be totally pleased with your stay and your kindness and compliments were noted by several members of the staff.

I would like to address your concerns and also ask that you contact us directly if you have further questions. Every suite in Plaza Yara has a two page welcome brochure. Phone numbers of services including laundry service is listed in the brochure. Laundry can be dropped off at the reception and we will call for pick up and delivery of your clothes, payment is made directly to the laundry service with no additional charges by the hotel. Breakfast is included in the hotel rate and is served on the terrace there are many raves about our breakfast service and many reviewers have posted pictures, unfortunately with only 11 suites a buffet breakfast is not possible. We apologize for not providing complimentary bottled water to our guests but the tap water in Manuel Antonio is not only safe for drinking but is constantly tested and is many instances is superior in the quality to bottled water locally offered. We do however have an unlimited complimentary supply of Costa Rican coffee and milk (not packets) in every suite and a package of popcorn to make in the microwave. Water and soft drinks are available for guests who wish to bring water with them. All beverages are sold at cost.

It is also important for us to note that all suites in Plaza Yara include a kitchenette. The kitchenette has a microwave (for reheating food and drinks or making complimentary popcorn) a coffee maker, small sink and mini refrigerator. None of our suites offer cooking facilities (range or oven) nor do we provide pots, pans or utensils.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel we hope to welcome you back to Manuel Antonio in the near future.

Kind regards,
Nelson Monge
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

This is the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at in my travels anywhere. It deserves 6 stars. You cannot beat it for the price. We stayed three nights in room 12 - maybe the best suite offered! The rooms are large and decorated in a very modern style. The beds were comfortable. There is a TV, desk, and seating area in the room. The bathroom had a large shower and again, great decor. Suite 12 has a large balcony overlooking the rainforest with a table, kitchenette and a couch. We heard noises are first morning and were greeted by a group of squirrel monkeys jumping from the roof of our porch to the trees. It was an amazing show. We also saw a spider monkey. The balcony was really great. The employees (Johnathon and one other man there on our lat morning) at the hotel were exceptional! They gave us great advice on things to do, ordered us pizza and went out of their way to help us sort out some stuff regarding a missing backpack in Monteverde. The breakfasts were very good - traditional, American and yogurt/fruit, although they were able to mix up the menu to suit our children's picky eating. The hotel is decorated very nicely throughout. The only thing I can fault is minor and does not have anything to do with our room or stay. We purchased a $45 frog from the gallery that we assumed was created locally because many of the other items were. We later saw this same frog in several shops in Santa Fe for $22.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank jfozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,038 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#18 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
923 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,630 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,508 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Yara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Yara

Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio 322-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $106 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Plaza Yara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Yara is located only five minutes to Manuel Antonio National Park. Hotel Plaza Yara offers all suites feature custom made furniture,queen size beds,kichenettes and spacious baths. relax on the balcony and enjoy the jungle views with variety of wildlife with passes daily including monkeys,sloths,iguanas and exotic birds. Hotel Plaza Yara offers the possibility for you to enjoy your stay in comfort,casual elegance and in tune with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Plaza Yara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Yara Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing