We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, friendly welcome”
Review of Hotel Plaza Yara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Yara
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel reception is in the art gallery and Jonathan on reception was really friendly and helpful. The location is between Quepos and Manuel Antonio, around a 20-25 minute walk from each - depending on the heat - but along a hilly road. Taxis are easy to get in this area and not too expensive, plus for a cheaper option there are also local buses.

The restaurant is a seafood restaurant - part of the same building as the hotel - though I understand now they also do other meals including vegetarian, we didn't realise this at the time so didn't eat there. In the room there were also some telephone numbers for other food places that will deliver to Plaza Yara, menus for those places and for the Z seafood restaurant in the room would have been very handy.

Because of the restaurant being separate and the layout, the hotel itself has more of a motel feel, the rooms are large and include a kitchen area (microwave/sink etc with crockery and complimentary microwave popcorn!).

The breakfast was very good and served in a nice cafe area at the back. And the price we got was good, so overall we were satisfied with our two night stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattDavies2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Plaza Yara
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 743 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

Impressive. The price was high compared to other hotels nearer to the beach but now I know why. The room was fun, very large and modern. You feel at home. Breakfast was outstanding, the patio is beautiful and it was nice to enjoy the morning. The pool is nice, we really enjoyed our room and special location. Overall the service and staff were great, the best places to eat are just down the road, check out Pizza Pata for sliced by the meter! Great food, overall service and the area is really nice. We live in this country and we felt like we were REALLY on vacation. Nicely done!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nboutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Right off the main road heading to manuel antonio, we felt safe parking the car directly outside the check in desk. Rooms were very spacious and clean. Breakfast was made to order and was good. Beautiful patio to enjoy breakfast right in the canopy. Was also thankful for the mini-fridge and microwave with sink and dishes. Made having snacks in the room very easy.

Bed was VERY soft, didn't bother me but my husband woke up with a backache.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kealy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hotel staff was very welcoming and even showed us to our room. The room was spacious with an extra bed, sitting areas, kitchenette and great balcony looking out over breakfast patio area and the rain forest. As silly as this sound, they had the best bathroom out of the 4 places we stayed in Costa Rica. The pool was small, but nice for a quick, peaceful dip. The hotel was next to a bus stop, which was convenient for getting to downtown Manual Antonio. The closer you get to Manuel Antonio, the more expensive it gets and becomes more of romantic getaway hotels, which is not what my husband and I were looking for. There was a restaurant adjacent to the hotel that appeared to have a modern looking ambiance if you are looking for a convenient place for dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsCBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

It was amazing. One of the best hotels I've stayed in. Spacious rooms, beautiful patio n pool, good breakfast n friendly staff...loved it. Anyone travelling to Manuel Antonio should stay here especially if on a budget.

Stayed: May 2013
3  Thank mams30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel was phenomenal. Great rooms with all amenities...real coffee and makers, nice large suites. Our balcony room overlooked the dining and common areas, where we were treated to a passing troop of squirrel monkeys during our first night's stay!

Also watched a passing group of howler monkeys across the street on the next afternoon. We only ate breakfast there, but it was great. We did eat at Z's restaurant next door, where the atmosphere is fantastic. Sand floors in a jungle setting--couldn't be beat.

Thanks Nelson for the wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Rooms are huge.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel is small and intimate. It's actually a boutique hotel with a beautiful decoration. The rooms are big, super clean and well maintained with a killer air-condition. A good breakfast is served on the porch facing the jungle and every morning different kind of monkeys came to visit us. The hotel staff is amazingly friendly and helpful, especially Havier the hotel manager whose advice about attractions and places to dine were excellent and priceless.
We stayed 3 nights and were so sorry to leave.
We bought beautiful art work that always remind us of Costa Rica and Hotel PLAZA YARA.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Keren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,581 reviews
1.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,028 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
2.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
916 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Yara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Yara

Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio 322-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $104 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Plaza Yara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Yara is located only five minutes to Manuel Antonio National Park. Hotel Plaza Yara offers all suites feature custom made furniture,queen size beds,kichenettes and spacious baths. relax on the balcony and enjoy the jungle views with variety of wildlife with passes daily including monkeys,sloths,iguanas and exotic birds. Hotel Plaza Yara offers the possibility for you to enjoy your stay in comfort,casual elegance and in tune with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Plaza Yara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Yara Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing