We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!!! Don't miss it!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Yara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza Yara to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza Yara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 322-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!!! Don't miss it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel is small and intimate. It's actually a boutique hotel with a beautiful decoration. The rooms are big, super clean and well maintained with a killer air-condition. A good breakfast is served on the porch facing the jungle and every morning different kind of monkeys came to visit us. The hotel staff is amazingly friendly and helpful, especially Havier the hotel manager whose advice about attractions and places to dine were excellent and priceless.
We stayed 3 nights and were so sorry to leave.
We bought beautiful art work that always remind us of Costa Rica and Hotel PLAZA YARA.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Keren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great staff, very welcoming. Javier was very kind and obliging.
Huge rooms with comfortable bed and sheets.
Very pretty pool area with friendly monkeys :)
The breakfast was the best we had in Costa Rica.
Very reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ValoMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Plaza Yara for 2 nights last week. Fantastic property - huge rooms and a spacious balcony where we could watch squirrel monkeys playing in the lush forest behind the hotel. The owner is a talented artist and world traveler and his works are on display not only in the art gallery on the property but throughout the hotel itself. The reception staff were so helpful - special kudos to Jonathan who prepared us a breakfast "doggy bag" as we had to leave very early in the morning. Manuel Antonio National Park and the public beach are not far and can be reached by local bus which stops across the street - a great deal for 280 colons (approx. 70 cents). All in all a great little hotel and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sherrywyse57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband and I spent the week at Plaza Yara with another couple. We could not have picked a better place to spend our vacation in Costa Rica. The hotel is located between Quepos and Manuel Antonio which worked out to be great for us. The staff was very informative! The restaurants and excursion recommendations were over the top(we will be writing rave reviews about them as well.) The rooms were clean, comfortable, and spacious making us feel at home. One afternoon we were welcomed back from the beach by the local squirrel monkeys. They were hanging out in the trees behind the hotel and on the pool deck. We also saw howler monkeys, white faced monkeys, hummingbirds, toucans, frogs, lizards, and all sorts of other wildlife. We will be coming back to Plaza Yara!!! Thank you for making our vacation out of this world!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheBrulports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I am living and working in San Jose for one year and enjoy spending my week-ends exploring different places in Costa Rica. My wife suggested Manuel Antonio and we decided to try our luck without a reservation and head to the Coast.
We drove by Hotel Plaza Yara and decided to stop and ask about availability. The check -in is located within the hotel gallery. Nelson (the manager) greeted us and told us "one suite was available" and asked if we wanted to see it? The suite was huge, (bigger than my apartment in San jose) modern in design but with a spa like ambiance. We loved it! Nelson told me "the suite was $75 USD per night and included breakfast". I said "then thats $150 a night for two" and Nelson told me that "the price of $75 USD was for the suite doble occupancy". Seriously, it wold be a great deal at $150 USD but $75 was beyond a steal!
We headed to the beach in MAnuel Antonio (beatiful) and returned to the hotel in afternoon. Upon our return we were greeted by Javier the night manager and asked him for a "recomandation" for sunset. Javier suggested "happy hour" at Gaia Hotel which is located next door to Plaza Yara. The view was awesome and the "tapas" were outstanding it was perfect. Were returned to Plaza Yara and Javier helped us by booking a tour of the National Park for the morning.
Our second day began with breakfast which was served on a beatiful terrace overlooking the jungle. The breakfast was delicious, the service was friendly and efficient and a troop of monkeys entertained us.
Hotel Plaza Yara and Manuel Antonio has become our favorite place in Costa Rica. Considerent the location, value, furnishings and genuine kind and professional service I highly recommend this hotel!
Jason and Beth Green

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JGB565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
145 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are quite nice, large and well equipped and the view back into the forest is lovely.

However the service was nothing special at all. Check in and greeting was all business and no warmth at all. The rest of our stay staff kept to themselves and displayed no real interest, warmth or concern for guests - a deal breaker in my book. Breakfasts were simple and nothing special. Definitely not worth the high marks praised on the am food by other reviews.

Sure there are monkeys out behind the hotel and their hoots and hollers and occasional appearances are an event - but one should not take this as a substitute for excellent customer service which I found to be sorely lacking. For the rates charged - and the number of 5 star TA reviews I read, frankly I was expecting alot more from staff and
from their breakfast service.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mochilero22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My 23 year old daughter and I spent a couple nights in early April at Hotel Plaza Yara and had a great experience! We were greeted by Jonathan and he was very kind and helpful. Our room was very large with comfortable beds and we had a nice balcony where we could relax and enjoy the view. We had a real treat on the afternoon we arrived there was a mother & young sloth in a tree just feet away from the pool deck. The breakfast included was great and Jonathan recommended two great restaurants Agua Azul & Barba Rosa where we had dinner to the two nights we were there. Hotel Plaza Yara is a great place to stay in beautiful Manuel Antonio and I would definitely stay again if I return!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vmcglincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#4 of 50 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,097 reviews
1.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#8 of 50 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#19 of 50 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#17 of 50 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 50 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
#1 of 50 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Yara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Yara

Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 322-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Plaza Yara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Yara is located only five minutes to Manuel Antonio National Park. Hotel Plaza Yara offers all suites feature custom made bamboo furniture,queen size beds,kichenettes and spacious baths. relax on the balcony and enjoy the jungle views with variety of wildlife with passes daily including monkeys,sloths,iguanas and exotic birds. Hotel Plaza Yara offers the possibility for you to enjoy your stay in comfort,casual elegance and in tune with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Plaza Yara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Yara Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing