We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”
Review of Hotel Plaza Yara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Yara
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My wife and I were reminiscing about our trip to Costa Rica last year (February 2012). We were discussing all the hotels we stayed in and I couldn't believe that I didn't writer a review for Hotel Plaza Yara. This place way exceeded our expectations.

To start, the rooms are really big and very clean. We felt spoiled by how much space we had for just the two of us, and at a fraction of the price that we payed for hotels in other cities. Our room had a balcony facing some lush rainforest and on our first night, we spotted a sloth in a tree right outside our window. We watched it for about an hour, and we even went down to the pool area to get a closer look. In the mornings, we saw White Face and Capuchin monkeys.

The hotel offers free breakfast served in an outside, but covered dining area that also faces the rainforest. The service and the meals we're always to notch!

The location is just a short drive from the Manuel Antonio National Park, and it's very close to a wide assortment of restaurants.

I definitely recommend this hotel if you're staying in the Manuel Antonio area. Also, the restaurant with the big airplane was really good, reasonably priced, and has fantastic views of the coastline.

Have a great trip!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CubanoHermano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 762 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Plaza Yara so much we extended it by a day. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms are beautifully designed and comfortable, and the location is terrific. The backyard is the jungle and the main road passes by out front, but it's never noisy. One morning however there was some noise on the roof--it turned out to be an enormous troop of squirrel monkeys that stayed about half an hour. Breakfast is delicious and is presented on the patio facing the jungle. We were very happy with this hotel and highly recommend it to anyone visiting Manuel Antonio.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank tomjacobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here 2 times during our recent trip to Costa Rica.
The rooms were enormously stylishly decorated with a little kitchenette. The bathroom was tip top with a walk-in shower.
Everything was very clean and outside the windows (or balcony) you could sometimes watch travelling monkeys.
The staff was very nice and helpful.

This was by far the best hotel (of many) we stayed at in CR. It's located near Quepos (5 mins) and the beaches and Manuel Antonio national park (10 mins) with the frequent bus.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pcberlin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Plaza Yara in December. The hotel is immaculate and the rooms were huge. We had a newly decorated one which opened out onto the pool, it was lovely. Very clean rooms,bathroom & communal areas. The staff at Plaza Yara are exceptionally friendly and helpful and the breakfast were great. Would recommend having a vehicle though as not walking distance to restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: Ask for the pool room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgiem315927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

One of our best Hotels in Costa Rica, the rooms were clean, had everything you need (AC, fridge, coffee machine...) and last but least we had big windows with a beautiful view in the dschungle. Especially Javier from the office was very helpful - Special thanks to him!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Joekie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stumbled upon this little gem while traveling the country on our recent honeymoon. We had the sweetest junior suite with a jungle view and, the best part, it was only $75/night during the high season! The staff was amazing. The art gallery was full of beautiful paintings done by a local artist. The national park is only about 5-10 minutes away as is the public beach. We have this on our list of "must revisit" hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MooneyChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The location of this small hotel was perfect and mid-way between town and the beaches of Manuel Antonio. The rooms were spacious and the prices were a deal. The breakfasts were delicious and fulfilling with fresh ingredients and were perfect on the back veranda overlooking the rain forest. The staff were friendly, hospitable and definitely helpful suggesting activities and things only the locals might know about. Many thanks especially to Javier who gave us the best tips for beaches, restaurants and local customs.

Room Tip: spend the little extra money and get a large suite. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeriouslyEnRoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,031 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,604 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,287 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Yara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Yara

Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio 322-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $107 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Plaza Yara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Yara is located only five minutes to Manuel Antonio National Park. Hotel Plaza Yara offers all suites feature custom made furniture,queen size beds,kichenettes and spacious baths. relax on the balcony and enjoy the jungle views with variety of wildlife with passes daily including monkeys,sloths,iguanas and exotic birds. Hotel Plaza Yara offers the possibility for you to enjoy your stay in comfort,casual elegance and in tune with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Plaza Yara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Yara Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing