We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Plaza Yara
Nearby Hotels
Los Altos Resort(Manuel Antonio)
$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parador Resort and Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$189
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mariposa Hotel(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$156
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Cascadas The Falls(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gaia Hotel & Reserve(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tulemar Resort(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$486
$471
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (855)
Filter reviews
855 results
Traveler rating
643
181
27
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
643
181
27
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart galleryrooms are hugeoutdoor loungelocal artistscosta ricayogurtthe main roadbus stopsitting areanational parksquirrel monkeyscoffee makerbreakfast was deliciousthe hotel managerbeautiful hotelwalk in showerboutique hotel
Filter
Updating list...
513 - 518 of 855 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Loved this place. The rooms were very modern and clean, much better than I experienced elsewhere. Our room had a small balcony that looked out into the rain forest. They serve you breakfast on the balcony if you choose which was so lovely. I was a little concerned at first when the check in person said they couldn't find our reservation, then found it for a different day than we had booked. Since they weren't expecting us we had to wait a while for our room, but he was also very helpful with finding us good tours and setting all that up for us.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamber79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelsonmonge, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2011

Thank you for your review and recommendation of Hotel Plaza Yara. We look forward to welcoming you back to Costa Rica.

Pura Vida!
Nelson Monge
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed in this hotel from Dec. 26- Jan. 3. This is the high-season period where most hotels double and even triple their rates. Plaza Yara was still affordable. This hotel is a great find. It is located close to Quepos and the Manuel Antonio Beach. It is located next to the Gaia Hotel and Reserve on the main road in Manuel Antonio. The two things that I would change about this place is the mattress on the bed and attitude of the lady who brings the fruit to your room in the morning. First, the mattress is really thin and makes for an average to less than average sleep. Second the lady who brings your breakfast to you in the morning is not friendly. A simple good morning and a smile would go a long way.

But do not let that discourage you. This is a Great ALL SUITE Hotel. There are less than 20 rooms and the hotel staff (besides the breakfast lady) are very friendly and will go out of their way to make sure that your stay is an enjoyable one. Stay here...YOU WONT REGRET IT!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cjdlsu0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelsonmonge, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2011

Thank you for your review and recommendation of Hotel Plaza Yara. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us.

Pura Vida,
Nelson Monge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

My family of 4 just returned from a 9 day trip around Costa Rica, and staying at the Plaza Yara was one of the highlights. We stayed in Suite 4, and it was more than enough room for all of us. When we arrived we were welcomed by the monkeys swinging in the trees, but the highlight for us was watching the mother sloth and her baby outside our breakfast area every morning. They deliver breakfast to your Suite every morning, at a time of your choosing, and it was more than enough for the four of us (which includes a hungry husband, and a 15 and 11 year old). In fact, we loved the fruit bread so much I wish I had the recipe! The rooms were cleaned immaculately every day as well. We also enjoyed the Pizza di Marco next door very much, especially after a long day exploring the area. P.S. If you pay in cash, they won't charge the local tax for your room, saving you 13%! I would highly recommend you consider a stay here part of your vacation!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelsonmonge, Manager at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2011

Thanks so much for your kind review, "is excellent in every way".
It was a pleasure to have you and your family with us at Hotel Plaza Yara.

Kind regards,
Nelson Monge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

This hotel was wonderful. Our patio was just what we expected from a costa rican experience - full on jungle view with monkeys. The room was very quiet. We thoroughly enjoyed the escape on our balcony. Javier (check-in) and Nelson (manager) were really nice and very helpful. Would Definitely recommend to anyone!!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skeg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelsonmonge, Gerente at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2011

Thank you so much for your review of Hotel Plaza Yara. It was our pleasure to welcome you to Manuel Antonio and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to your return to Costa Rica and to Hotel Plaza Yara.

Kind Regards,
Pura vida!!!
Nelson
Javier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Plaza Yara for 2 nights in February 2011. Nelson was unbelievably helpful, friendly and welcoming to the hotel when we arrived. As I checked in my boyfriend watched the squirrel monkeys use "the monkey bridge" to get across the street right at the hotel. Pretty cool! Jonathan showed me to the room which was spacious and clean. We stayed in room #5 which was spacious and looked out over the jungle in the back. I was able to see a mama sloth and her baby from our room hanging out in the tree right by the pool deck. Nelson signed us up for a guided tour of the National Park in the morning with Juan. He was great very knowledgeable and patient. We saw lots of sloths, a howler monkey, iguanas, toucans, lizards, a gladiator frog, and other various birds. We spent some time down at the pool (no bar) with our own cocktails. It was very relaxing and we had to all to ourselves. We met some other couples on the tour and had a great time with them both at the pool and at other random spots in Costa Rica.
The first night the air conditioning worked well and my boyfriend was able to take a hot shower. We were unable to get hot water in our shower the second day and that night the AC was not putting out cold air. Also, the bed, while comfortable enough, only had a sheet and a thin sheet like cover. If you tend to get cold at night we suggest bringing something a little warmer. Overall the staff was great, the scenery was beautiful and the kitty was adorable! We ended up leaving a credit card in the safe when we departed to our next city. Nelson contacted me immediately by email to let me know. THANKS NELSON!!! ( :

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SparklePanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelsonmonge, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2011

Thank you for your review of Hotel Plaza Yara. It was our pleasure to welcome you to Manuel Antonio and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We apologize for the air-conditioner and water temperature, both were repaired immediately.

We look forward to your return to Costa Rica and to Hotel Plaza Yara.

Kind Regards,
Pura vida!!!
Nelson
Jonathan
and Havana (the kitty)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews