We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food..a little on the expensive side, but there was live music which was great.”

Barba Roja Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $38
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Seafood, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: A Manuel Antonio tradition since 1975, Barba Roja Restaurante is the local hangout, as well as the best sunset view in the area. Open for lunch and dinner, 7 days a week. Please join us for Happy Hour every day from 4-6. Every Tuesday and Friday we have live music, Wednesday is ladies night and karaoke. Enjoy our 5 big screens every day with your favorite sports programming. We offer a variety of cuisines from around the world at good prices.
Black River Falls, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really good food..a little on the expensive side, but there was live music which was great.”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

It had a ptetty cool atmosphere an a good view..the food was food and good size portions. Our waiter spoke good english and were vru concerned that everything ws right.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Profe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    545
    373
    124
    47
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great little spot!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Happy Hour was excellent, great view of the ocean view sunset, and they have a great little menu that you wouldn't expect. I used to come here for their nachos, but now they have sushi and great salads! I'll be back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HTinCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We ate there for 4 of the 6 days we were in CR. Loved it. The food portions are huge and the drinks are just right. Live music is great as well. Not to mention the view.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sbsgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a great place”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed in Manuel Antonio for 2 weeks. We ate here 3 times. My first meal was ok. They have since changed their menu and that item was no longer there. One night I had a burger. It was fantastic. Service is spot on. William, our waiter the first time, even recognized us when we went back in the 2nd and 3rd time. We went on a Friday night for the ribs. Very tender w/ a great smoked flavor. I finished them up for breakfast the next morning. We were due to leave town and I couldn't bare to let them go to waste. We went during the rainy season but were lucky enough to get a sunset here on our last night. All around a great place. I will say though, that I didn't much care for the live music. All 60's gringo music. Oh well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wanttotravelmore123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, California
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view & good food”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We just missed sunset by 10 minutes, but what a view! This restaurant was recommended by our hotel. Chico, our waiter, took great care of us. Two of us had the mahi-mahi which was delicious. One of us ordered the burger. Our waiter said it's the best burger in town. He was right. It was huge and tasty. We weren't expecting to order sushi, but it was 2 for 1 so we went with just the basic California roll. Would like to go back to enjoy the view seeing it was dark.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank somrtravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barba Roja Restaurant also viewed

Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Barba Roja Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing