We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little piece of luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little piece of luxury”
Reviewed March 27, 2010

The Falls Resort was the most luxurious and impressive place we stayed throughout our travels of Costa Rica. The rooms are amazing and comfortable, set in beautiful gardens. The pool was great too. The added extras, like free towels for the pool and beach, help to make this a very comfortable stay.

We liked this place so much we decided to stay an extra night. We had to move from our standard room to a "superior" room for this extra night which was more expensive. We actually preferred the cheaper, standard room as it was in a more private location and with a hammock on the porch and was just as luxurious and comfortable as the superior suite, if not more so.

The staff were very helpful and Charlie the bartender was a lovely guy. The breakfasts were good and basic lunches available but it is a shame food is not available in the evenings. There are plenty of nice restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, but take care as there were two robberies of tourists which happened down the main road road whilst we were there. I think that security in the area has been increased as a result and we always felt safe - particularly within the hotel itself.

The beaches within Manuel Antonio National Park were definitely worth the visit. We were not impressed with the main beach there - a bit busy and the main road backs onto this beach.

If you do visit Manuel Antonio I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWDDEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    210
    39
    13
    5
See reviews for
237
562
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cubs2011
2 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2010

We were in Manuel Antonio in mid-March for 8 days and chose to stay at the Falls for the first two days (the remaining days were spent at Tulemar and Gaia for which I also wrote reviews). The Falls is a fantastic value if you know what you are getting.

We chose to stay here first for a few days because of the location, value and reviews from other travelers on the rooms / service. The location is great because it is right on the main road, very close to a bus stop that will very easily get you down to the park / beach, and easily walkable to several good restaurants. However, most of the rooms are back from the road so traffic noise was never a problem. The value was great because they offer a 20% discount to already low rates due to construction next door. Our room was right next to the construction area but it never really bothered us because we were gone during the day doing tours and such. As far as service, the Falls was very responsive to my emails in advance of our trip and also very helpful during our trip, which was certainly not the case with our hotels (in terms of responsiveness to emails).

The room was much better than we expected (although our expectations were low). Great bed, good space, private terrace was nice. Bathroom wasn't great, but did the job and was clean. Limited bugs in the room. Almost none, except had a little gecko who hung around the ceiling from time to time, but did no harm. The Falls also had a computer with free internet that was nice. Also the free breakfast was good; nothing fantastic but did the job.

Cons were the lack of a view and small pool.

In my opinion, the Falls is the ideal place to stay if you are planning to be busy during the day and don't need a fancy pool / beach area to relax. Don't get me wrong, the pool and bar area was still very nice and comfortable, but just not on par with the nicer resorts like Gaia and Si Com No (whose pools are both nice and I'd be happy lounging around all day).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubs2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Falls recently and loved it. As many of the reviews have mentioned the staff was very friendly. Jorge & Charlie (bartenders) were a lot of fun to talk to and extremely nice. There are plenty of great places to dine around the hotel and the bus and/or taxi access to the beach is a breeze. The grounds are beautiful and we are excited to see pictures of the new treehouse rooms that are being built. Would definitely recommend The Falls, and plan on making a return visit in the future!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolaMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2010

We stayed at the Falls one night out of our 9-night honeymoon--wish we had stayed here longer!! The property was so beautiful, from the luxurious rooms to the lush grounds. The infinity pool was like swimming in silk--perfect temperature!! The staff was so welcoming and although security was never a concern, it was comforting to have the entrance to the property controlled by a locked gate and guard at night. Cool stone shower, they provide robes, dvd player, huge closets. I loved the little touches in the room (they give you a battery-powered lantern) and the bed was so comfortable, we slept like babies. Wish I could live there!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montoya84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2010

My husband and I and another couple spent a week at the Falls and can recommend it wholeheartedly. From the wonderful attentions of the staff (Jorge at the front desk and Charlie the bartender in particular) to the convenient location between town and the national park, to the amazing towel sculptures executed daily by the cleaning staff, we were really pleased. We had been given a $40 a night deduction on the room due to the ongoing construction of the Jade next door, but we rarely heard a thing, day or night. Breakfast is included (great fresh fruit and so-so steam table eggs and pancakes daily), there's a lovely pool and a small jacuzzi, and the rooms are comfortable and air conditioned. We arranged tours through the front desk and had terrific guides of several parks, the mangrove swamps, and a sunset snorkel tour (with open bar). Would have been great if a package could be put together, since we paid separately for each of these tours, but still... it was great value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devadasi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

Stunning rooms, nice pool area, but we expected a bit more food and drinks on offer for such a hotel. For wxample you can't dine at the resort. Friendly staff. Take the local bus to get to the beach/town if you travel wothout car.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabennet79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Ma
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Picked The Falls based on your reviews. It lived up to everything people said. Loved the staff - particularly Jorge and Charlie! Very lovely, welcoming, comfortable place. Quiet and lush setting. Loved swinging in the hammock on our front porch! Do stay here!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.0 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio

Property: Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Address: 50 Mtr Sur de Si Como No, Manuel Antonio National Park 94-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica is an amazingly beautiful and tranquil garden and waterfall setting within walking distance of this famous little town's best restaurants and gorgeous beaches. White faced capuchins, sloths, toucans, and the endangered mono titi monkeys frequent the trees overhead, while blue iridescent morpho butterflies and hummingbirds bustle about the garden. Whether you are seeking an adventure of a lifetime or just want to relax in one of the most beautiful places on earth, the Falls Resort may be the perfect place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Resort At Manuel Antonio Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Falls Hotel At Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort At Manuel Antonio Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing