We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Guelph
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The boutique hotel was everything we needed. It was close to Manuel Antonio National Park. There were countless restaurants to try and most rated rather high in our tested opinion. Staff were friendly and accommodating. On Sunday night the hotel restaurant was closed and staff made a reservation for us at a nearby restaurant. Worked out great as the food was very good too. Highly recommend The Falls.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    210
    39
    13
    5
See reviews for
237
562
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stay at the Falls last week and had a very good time. We saw monkeys jumping around and lizards "waking through" the walkway. My daughter loves it and we were very relax the whole time. However, bear in mind that everything will be calculated in US dollars, basically you don't need to exchange local currency at all. We exchange money at the airport which was a mistake, cause they charge dollars everywhere (in other word, we paid more when we use local currency). Taxi out was inexpensive ($8 to 10 each way) and on the way back to the hotel you can take the local bus. Hotel restaurant is very nice and the food is good (compare to the nearby restaurant). If you want to experience the forest sleep over with morden comfort, go for it!

Room Tip: choosing a room next to the banana tree so you can see the monkeys
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trius718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Falls. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the property is gorgeous. The pool is nice, and the food and drinks at the restaurant are very well priced and delicious. I most definitely hope to return.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SS1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We spent two nights at The Falls Resort last week. It's conveniently close to Manuel Antonio National Park.

Because we're (frankly) not big spenders, we opted for a lower-priced room facing the road, rather than one of the ones opening onto the hotel grounds. I don't remember being particularly bothered by traffic noise, but others might feel differently. The room itself was spacious and tasteful, and included a minibar (which we didn't take advantage of) and a refrigerator (which we did), plus cable and a flat-screen TV.

Curiously, the shower door was missing. Showering became an exercise in not splashing too much water out onto the floor. That was about the only thing wrong with the room itself.

The hotel grounds are beautiful, a mini-jungle. Our second morning at about 6:30, dozens of monkeys traversed the trees and roofs while I was on the deck having coffee, coming all the way down to eye level at times -- a pleasant surprise.

Breakfast starts at 7am, but there was coffee and tea available earlier, which was welcome. The food was good.

Two things compel me to rate the Falls lower than I otherwise might. The first is parking. There are a limited number of spots, and in order to exit any of them, you have to back out onto a very busy road that turns on either side of the hotel, meaning very limited visibility. If anyone is parked next to you, you may not have any visibility at all. It can be a stressful experience, especially for those not accustomed to driving in Costa Rica. (I should also note that walking that road is an adventure as well, as there is often no space off of the roadway for pedestrians. And I wouldn't dare walk it in the dark.)

The second negative was our checkout experience. My wife had paid cash on check-in -- having been told in no uncertain terms that we couldn't have the room without payment up front. And when she asked for a receipt, she was told that they didn't give receipts for cash payment. (!) When we went to check out two days later, we were told there was no record of payment. She had to stand at the desk, humiliated, for the better part of an hour as others checked out, while the hotel tried to track down the manager on duty the day we checked in. They eventually agreed that we must have paid, even though there was no record of it. The next day we got an apology email; they had finally found their cash receipts for the day in question. But it was a stressful, really unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

From the outside, The Falls looks rather non-descript. Once in the lobby, which opens into the gardens, everything changes. Lots of wood, pleasant decor, and a bit of jungle right behind. Rooms are scattered around the gardens and there is a feeling of intimacy in most spaces. The infinity pool is small and quite shallow but the set-up makes up for that.
Our room (with two queen-size beds) was huge. The bathroom was comfortable too with a good power shower. Decor was modern and simple, which we appreciated as we'd stayed at a couple of really ugly places just before.
Breakfast was one of the best we've had so far and we also had an excellent dinner at the restaurant. Weirdly, it was closed on Sunday from 2 pm - I had never come across this in a hotel, not very convenient!
The staff were both helpful and efficient and I'm glad to say we didn't have the familiar Costa Rican experience of asking for the same thing twenty times - one of the reception ladies even arranged for a shawl I'd left behind elsewhere to be delivered back to the hotel.
On the minus side (apart from the restaurant being closed on Sunday afternoon and eve) the wifi didn't reach our bedroom, which was part of the main building just above the bar/lobby.
Overall, a very nice hotel with a choice of good places to eat nearby and close enough to the park.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrotamundoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We were staying in Damas which seemed too far and called The Falls. We very luckily got the apartment since we were traveling with our daughter and needed two rooms. It was a three bedroom apartment, two baths a huge living room and the kitchen had a washer dryer. It was located on the street side but you just had a short walk to the pool and to the garden area. Breakfast was wonderful and the staff were accommodating and very pleasant. We felt so lucky to stumble into this great situation. I

Room Tip: For a family traveling, the apartment is a real find
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoshanna-rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The location is convenient. Room is clean and neat. A very small pool in the courtyard. But the roof seems covered with metal, sounds terrible when it's raining. You'd better pray never rain at night. Compared to all other nice hotels we stayed in Costa Rica, this one is definitely overpriced.

We would like to give our special thanks to the waiter Luis at the hotel restaurant. We ate here almost every day during our stay. He's service is impeccable and his recommendation is always excellent. My son loved him!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabaluluQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.0 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio

Property: Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Address: 50 Mtr Sur de Si Como No, Manuel Antonio National Park 94-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica is an amazingly beautiful and tranquil garden and waterfall setting within walking distance of this famous little town's best restaurants and gorgeous beaches. White faced capuchins, sloths, toucans, and the endangered mono titi monkeys frequent the trees overhead, while blue iridescent morpho butterflies and hummingbirds bustle about the garden. Whether you are seeking an adventure of a lifetime or just want to relax in one of the most beautiful places on earth, the Falls Resort may be the perfect place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Resort At Manuel Antonio Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Falls Hotel At Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort At Manuel Antonio Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing