We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property, great staff - DO NOT get a massage there!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great property, great staff - DO NOT get a massage there!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The property itself is charming and unique. The small cabins are a perfect getaway. We enjoyed cabin #4, in fact they all seem to be quite secluded and peaceful. The garden area is beautiful and well kept, various creatures wander through at different times so there's a realistic chance that you will see something while there!

The food is excellent, the staff in the restaurant and at the bar are great. Check in is easy, and the concierge is very helpful. They have a happy hour, which is rare in such nice properties, so it was a pleasant surprise to be able to eat great food and drink local beer at some surprisingly good prices. The small infinity pool is a great place for a relaxing soak, there isn't really much more I can say about it, other than it is worth the stay.

The ONLY downside to the place is the local masseuse. He is supposedly trained in many types of massage, but frankly only knows how to give relaxation massage with the help of some incense. And the price is just as expensive as going to a spa in North America. Unfortunately I have to say NO NOT waste your money on a massage here.

Both myself and my partner each rated our massages from there as the worst we have had in years. Anywhere. We had both asked for specific types of therapeutic massage for different ailments that we each have, and sadly neither of our massages were geared to the trouble areas that we clearly explained. During my massage I had to keep reminding him of the areas that were in pain, which got all of about 5 minutes of gentle rubbing while the usual back relaxation massage took up all the rest of the time. My partner's was no different. Except that in their case their massage for their pain areas consisted solely of 2 incense sticks, and no actual deep tissue massage just an oil rub after the incense.

If you DO decide to give the massage a go, I also suggest that you only expect a light relaxation rub. And make sure you are worked on for your full session time. Ours were shorter than they should have been, He was on the phone for almost 10 minutes of my session, which I didn't realize was counting as part of my hour of paid time.

If it wasn't for the massage, I would definitely give the Falls a rating of 5. It's not luxuriously posh, but it is defined, has character, great ambiance and is enjoyable for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank conceptguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greatwater1, Managing Director at Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Concept Guy,

Thank you for taking the time to write us on the Trip Advisor forum. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our gardens, rooms, and the food in our restaurant.

We regards to your comment about the masseuse, I would love to discuss this further with you. I am not sure exactly when you visited us in June. If it was in the last 10 days of June, you would not have seen our normal contractor (Spa service providers are not employees of the hotel. However, they are highly valued and thoroughly vetted professionals) as he was away and has just returned to work. In speaking with our normal masseuse, he does not use incense and he has a policy (and it is our requirement) that his phone be stored in a locker in our office during his treatments. If the treatment was booked, outside of our front desk, I can understand that we may have had a less than qualified or professional provider. If it was booked directly with us, I would love to have further information to take appropriate action. If you would, please email me at scott@fallsresortcr.com with your contact information and I will contact you immediately (or give me a call here at the hotel)

Thank you again for taking the time to write.

Kind Regards,
Scott
on behalf of the entire team at The Falls Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    210
    41
    14
    5
See reviews for
245
571
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Had a great stay there, the rooms are very nice. We had a king deluxe room, it had a large walk in closet and nice stone work. We saw monkeys one morning, a lot of various birds and other wildlife. The hotel restaurant had a great breakfast and a pretty good dinner. The hotel is also within walking distance (or a bus/taxi ride) to several other great restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyHockenberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I just left The Falls Resort after a four night stay. We really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were very clean and spacious. My husband, two children and myself had a double room just above the restaurant, which made it easy to get happy hour drinks and access the pool. The king sized rooms offered a nice walk-in closet.

The service was good and the grounds were well maintained. On two mornings we saw monkeys, along with a sloth one morning and agouti every morning at the hotel. We were able to spot a sloth in the tree one morning. We also saw a variety of colorful birds.

We enjoyed the free breakfast each morning and we certainly ordered a few drinks from the bar which were delicious. If you dont want to eat at the hotel, it is very easy to walk/bus/taxi to local restaurants and the beach. No worries if you don't speak Spanish, the staff is fluent in English.

We booked our entire trip through Catalina at CR Reffferals. Everything she booked and recommended for the trip turned out perfect!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristieLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, California
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I agree with other reviews-no street/curb appeal, but once you pass through the front entrance, it is gorgeous. The location is within walking distance of other restaurants, but you should have dinner at the restaurant at the hotel. Fresh fish. Excellent. The bus stop is across the street (50 cents one way to the beach/Manuel Antonio) The best part of The Falls Resort is the staff (especially Luis, Ricardo and Jorge) they will make you feel welcome - like family. Each day, after our adventure, we looked forward to going back to the hotel for the wildlife, a great meal, and conversation with these guys.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somrtravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The hotel doesn't have a great deal of street appeal, but once you see the lovely garden and spacious rooms this is inconsequential. The rooms are lovely and the walk in wardrobe was a nice surprise! The food in the restaurant was good and happy hour cocktails were delicious. There is an abundance of wildlife in the lush gardens - with lizards and birds and we were also fortunate to see a family of white-faces monkeys eating from the coconut trees. The hosts are very friendly and helpful - we left our and camera battery and charger in the room and they were kind enough to send it onto our next hotel at no charge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in February 2013 and we absolutely loved it! It is an quiet oasis in Manual Antonio, yet close to everything. The rooms are minimalist, yet lovely and have everything you need. Initially we were concerned about noise as we had a room very close to the restaurant, but commented on how quiet is was despite our proximity. The food in the restaurant is delicious and you must order the fries - the best around! Many other restaurants in walking distance, but, truly, The Falls is one of the best places to eat. Several days we hopped on the bus to head to the beach. The local bus stop is steps away and is (I think) 25 cents/person one way. A deal! The beach is gorgeous and we were some of the only people there! We also did used the ziplining company that is associated with the falls - DO IT!! They have the longest zip line in Central America and the second longest in the world. We had such fun and safety is their #1 priority! Loved everything about The Falls and would not hesitate to return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonrereg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mims, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here for five nights at the end of May 2013. Each room has a lot of privacy. We really liked the private front porch. We got to watch the monkeys from our room. The gardens were beautiful. The room itself was beautiful with a very large shower. El Avion Restaurant is across the street and we had an excellent meal and service there. The daily breakfast at the property was good, but we wished there was more variety. Loved the gardens and pool area. Manuel Antonio Beach about one mile away and there's a daily rate per person to visit (closed Mondays). The main town was 7 km the other direction. The nicer area and restaurants were in the Manuel Antonio area. It would be better to take the bus or a taxi if you want to spend time in this area because finding parking can be difficult.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Explorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,537 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,434 reviews
1.7 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio

Property: Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Address: 50 Mtr Sur de Si Como No, Manuel Antonio 94-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica is an amazingly beautiful and tranquil garden and waterfall setting within walking distance of this famous little town's best restaurants and gorgeous beaches. White faced capuchins, sloths, toucans, and the endangered mono titi monkeys frequent the trees overhead, while blue iridescent morpho butterflies and hummingbirds bustle about the garden. Whether you are seeking an adventure of a lifetime or just want to relax in one of the most beautiful places on earth, the Falls Resort may be the perfect place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Resort At Manuel Antonio Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Falls Hotel At Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort At Manuel Antonio Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing