We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not impressed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Forest Lake, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Expectations of this hotel were not met. Booked trip because of online advertising. Thought we were at the wrong hotel when we arrived,outside looks very unkempt. Our room above the kitchen was priced the same as the bungalows and had no privacy or quietness. When we arrived, the staff did not offer any information...just apologized that it was raining. No concierge to help with bags. We were told to go through the dining room (at dinner time) towing our bags. Dangerous stairwell. We thought the waterfalls was near the property (hence the name "The Falls"). Based on this trip, we would not go back.

Room Tip: Don't take the stairway rooms over the kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarenG66_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    196
    38
    11
    5
See reviews for
220
527
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Pulling up in front of the Falls is less than impressive, from the road it doesn't seem like much. Once you take a few steps down into the lobby you discover that it is much more than meets the eye.
We were traveling with our 3 boys and stayed in two rooms at the Falls. The rooms were spacious and beautiful. The grounds were lush and well maintained. The pool is small but adequate considering the hotel doesn't have very many rooms. The location of the falls is very convenient, it is fairly central between Manuel Antonio National Park and Quepos. It is very easy to get to either by catching the public bus that stops almost in front of the hotel.
There are several restaurants in walking distance including El Avion but if you want to stay in the hotel restaurant is very good. They have a good dinner menu and a different special every night and the pricing is fair.
As with much of Costa Rica, the staff make the experience special. On our first night we met Luis in the restaurant, he was so good to our boys the entire time we were there. All of the staff were warm and welcoming, always making sure we had everything we needed. Our son was working on writing a postcard to send to his Spanish teacher, several of the staff helped him make sure his Spanish was written correctly...they seemed to enjoy his interest in learning the language.
I would certainly recommend the Falls to anyone going to Manuel Antonio...and would certainly stay there again.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_D90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked the apartment at The Falls as we had 4 people in our party. It was absolutely the right choice. We stayed 2 nights. It was spacious, clean and we loved it. The hotel staff could not have been more accommodating. Ricardo at the bar and Luis our waiter were marvelous! You were in walking distance of many other attractions in the area. Short drive to the entrance of Manuel Antonio Park. I highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Beutiful bungalow and gardens, great food in their restaurant. Located about a mile from the beach. It is right next to Manuel Antonio national park. We saw a huge iguana roaming the hotel grounds. We were able to set up some really nice tours that left from the hotel. The resteraunt/bar is open air and they have really good, very healthy food and great service. The hotel has a laundry service and did an entire bag of laundry for only $10 and returned it the same day.

Room Tip: Number 6 is away from the other bungalows and is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

The boutique hotel is at the top of the hill, the lobby is small and cozy, walk around the corner and you are in a garden paradise - the bar is staffed buy Luis and Rodolfo - these two are the heart of the hotel. The stunning garden is a paradise and the rooms are so lovely. Every room is a treasure, mosquito nets over bed, big walk in showers, front porch sitting area. The hotel feels like a garden paradise. Monkeys in the trees at dawn and dusk, agutes and wildlife abound -
The Resturant was al fresco and delicious !

Room Tip: Ask for Room # 9 its private bungalow with own path
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TMenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

As many reviewers have noted The Falls has an unassuming exterior that opens to a tropical paradise. It is so densely planted you cannot seek most of the rooms. It also appears to be a travel way for the white face monkeys and squirrel monkeys. Outside the hotel there is a monkey crossing rope that allows the monkeys to cross the street to the roof of the hotel. They often come by in the morning and evening.

Rooms are large, with vaulted ceilings, beautifully appointed with very comfortable beds. Great restaurant as well. $5 cab ride to the beach or less the $1 bus ride.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is a hidden gem behind an inconspicuous front. The rooms are full of rich woods and louvred doors. Units are all arranged around a beautiful tropical garden. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. We stayed three nights and were entertained on two mornings and one evening with a troupe of capuchin monkeys passing through the property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BubbaLui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.9 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
0.6 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#9 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#10 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio

Property: Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Address: 50 Mtr Sur de Si Como No, Manuel Antonio National Park 94-6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica is an amazingly beautiful and tranquil garden and waterfall setting within walking distance of this famous little town's best restaurants and gorgeous beaches. White faced capuchins, sloths, toucans, and the endangered mono titi monkeys frequent the trees overhead, while blue iridescent morpho butterflies and hummingbirds bustle about the garden. Whether you are seeking an adventure of a lifetime or just want to relax in one of the most beautiful places on earth, the Falls Resort may be the perfect place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Resort At Manuel Antonio Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Falls Hotel At Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort At Manuel Antonio Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing