We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Beutiful bungalow and gardens, great food in their restaurant. Located about a mile from the beach. It is right next to Manuel Antonio national park. We saw a huge iguana roaming the hotel grounds. We were able to set up some really nice tours that left from the hotel. The resteraunt/bar is open air and they have really good, very healthy food and great service. The hotel has a laundry service and did an entire bag of laundry for only $10 and returned it the same day.

Room Tip: Number 6 is away from the other bungalows and is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    191
    37
    11
    5
See reviews for
215
519
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The boutique hotel is at the top of the hill, the lobby is small and cozy, walk around the corner and you are in a garden paradise - the bar is staffed buy Luis and Rodolfo - these two are the heart of the hotel. The stunning garden is a paradise and the rooms are so lovely. Every room is a treasure, mosquito nets over bed, big walk in showers, front porch sitting area. The hotel feels like a garden paradise. Monkeys in the trees at dawn and dusk, agutes and wildlife abound -
The Resturant was al fresco and delicious !

Room Tip: Ask for Room # 9 its private bungalow with own path
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TMenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

As many reviewers have noted The Falls has an unassuming exterior that opens to a tropical paradise. It is so densely planted you cannot seek most of the rooms. It also appears to be a travel way for the white face monkeys and squirrel monkeys. Outside the hotel there is a monkey crossing rope that allows the monkeys to cross the street to the roof of the hotel. They often come by in the morning and evening.

Rooms are large, with vaulted ceilings, beautifully appointed with very comfortable beds. Great restaurant as well. $5 cab ride to the beach or less the $1 bus ride.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is a hidden gem behind an inconspicuous front. The rooms are full of rich woods and louvred doors. Units are all arranged around a beautiful tropical garden. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. We stayed three nights and were entertained on two mornings and one evening with a troupe of capuchin monkeys passing through the property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BubbaLui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay Wisconsin
Level Contributor
239 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

All of the rooms are very quiet and peaceful. We saw agoutis, many birds, and the howler monkeys woke us to their calls each morning.
The last morning there a troop of white-faced monkeys decided to come across the area while we ate breakfast. There were about 18 of them, climbing the the trees right overhead and jumping unto the roof of the office. What a beautiful sight!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a beautiful view, and lots of wildlife nearby. However, some of the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HawaiiAloha777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and I purchased a Groupon deal for this resort during our short six day Manuel Antonio/ Arenal vacation. We stayed at the Falls from Nov. 16 - 19, it was paradise!!
Because we were bouncing around CR, we decided to rent a car which was a great experience; however, we will definitely hire a driver next time bc the cost came out about the same (approx $500). We arrived at the Falls at about 8pm (about 3 hr drive from San José w/ lots of new construction traffic). It was an easy drive w/ the GPS the rental car gave us. When we arrived we were greeted by a very nice receptionist who checked us in and called someone to show us to our room, who was very nice as well. We were able to leave our car parked in one of the few spots in front of the hotel w/o incident. Not sure what our options would have been had it been more crowded.

Rooms: Loved, loved, loved it!! We had a detached one bedroom villa which was surrounded by trees, flowers and wild life. It was so quiet and secluded we felt like we were there all alone, especially at night. We spent our mornings and evenings on the porch in the hammock, even when it poured we were ok out there, and experienced visits from monkeys, sloths, and humming birds. The doors and shutters to the room open so that the porch and the room became one. The room itself was immaculate. The king size bed had linen draped around it from the ceiling, and was clean and extremely comfy. The flat screen TV was a good size and offers movie channels in English & Spanish. There was also a mini fridge stocked with soda and snacks, a safe in the closet in the bathroom w/ robes, a ceiling fan, and remote controlled ac unit. Furthermore, we were able to dim the lights in the room for a little ambiance, it was very romantic. The iron we had to get from the receptionist and used the desk with a towel over it to iron on which was no big deal. I loved the bathroom, it was huge and clean w/ an open shower (no door) on one side, an enclosed toilet on the other, and in between was a bowel sink vanity and mirror. There were windows at the top of the walls that permitted views of nature. The rooms are separated by shutter doors if you are keen on privacy while in the bathroom.

Pool: There is a pool and a jacuzzi but we didn't use either.

Food: For most of our stay in MA we at breakfast, lunch, and dinner on the resort. We were served typical meals along w/ some American staples. The food was always delicious and service exceeded expectations. Luis really took care of us and made us feel welcomed. The restaurant is nice, clean, and has a bit of an ambiance in the evenings. The only downside was that it wasn't open on Sunday evening which we were made aware of upon arrival.

Staff: Everyone was really nice and went above and beyond to let you know you're appreciated. Even the owners are personable and chatted with us a little before we headed of to their zip lining excursion, which if you have the chance to do you must. The park is very well put together w/ plans for future expansion.

Overall: I definitely recommend this hotel. Having stayed at many other hotels up and down the hill, I can stay this was by far the best. We are looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: There is a convenience store nearby in case you want snacks or forget the bug repellent, like we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCH2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is the best hotel we stayed in in Costa Rica and I think really good value for a Costan Rican mid range priced hotel. The rooms are really luxurious, we had a standard room which was set back in the grounds. It was just really nice, large bed, new furnishings, veranda with our own hammock etc. etc. The grounds of the hotel are like being in a little bit of jungle and it feels very private and secluded. The photos on this site are a good indication of the rooms.
The location is pretty great: the beach and national park are a short bus ride away, with the buses stopping right outside. There are loads of nice restaurants nearby.
The hotel give you a big info pack with a list of restaurant recommendations.
Breakfast was delicious: buffet + order of hot food. Bar service and cocktails at happy hour all great with friendly staff.
The best thing was that after we left our camera behind the hotel found it and were kind enough to post it to us in London for a small cost.

Room Tip: The standard rooms at the back of the site have a private veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTDott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 934 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#10 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,303 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#9 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 984 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel San Bada
Hotel San Bada
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio

Property: Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Address: 50 Mtr Sur de Si Como No, Manuel Antonio National Park 94-6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica is an amazingly beautiful and tranquil garden and waterfall setting within walking distance of this famous little town's best restaurants and gorgeous beaches. White faced capuchins, sloths, toucans, and the endangered mono titi monkeys frequent the trees overhead, while blue iridescent morpho butterflies and hummingbirds bustle about the garden. Whether you are seeking an adventure of a lifetime or just want to relax in one of the most beautiful places on earth, the Falls Resort may be the perfect place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Resort At Manuel Antonio Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Falls Hotel At Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort At Manuel Antonio Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing