We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and I purchased a Groupon deal for this resort during our short six day Manuel Antonio/ Arenal vacation. We stayed at the Falls from Nov. 16 - 19, it was paradise!!
Because we were bouncing around CR, we decided to rent a car which was a great experience; however, we will definitely hire a driver next time bc the cost came out about the same (approx $500). We arrived at the Falls at about 8pm (about 3 hr drive from San José w/ lots of new construction traffic). It was an easy drive w/ the GPS the rental car gave us. When we arrived we were greeted by a very nice receptionist who checked us in and called someone to show us to our room, who was very nice as well. We were able to leave our car parked in one of the few spots in front of the hotel w/o incident. Not sure what our options would have been had it been more crowded.

Rooms: Loved, loved, loved it!! We had a detached one bedroom villa which was surrounded by trees, flowers and wild life. It was so quiet and secluded we felt like we were there all alone, especially at night. We spent our mornings and evenings on the porch in the hammock, even when it poured we were ok out there, and experienced visits from monkeys, sloths, and humming birds. The doors and shutters to the room open so that the porch and the room became one. The room itself was immaculate. The king size bed had linen draped around it from the ceiling, and was clean and extremely comfy. The flat screen TV was a good size and offers movie channels in English & Spanish. There was also a mini fridge stocked with soda and snacks, a safe in the closet in the bathroom w/ robes, a ceiling fan, and remote controlled ac unit. Furthermore, we were able to dim the lights in the room for a little ambiance, it was very romantic. The iron we had to get from the receptionist and used the desk with a towel over it to iron on which was no big deal. I loved the bathroom, it was huge and clean w/ an open shower (no door) on one side, an enclosed toilet on the other, and in between was a bowel sink vanity and mirror. There were windows at the top of the walls that permitted views of nature. The rooms are separated by shutter doors if you are keen on privacy while in the bathroom.

Pool: There is a pool and a jacuzzi but we didn't use either.

Food: For most of our stay in MA we at breakfast, lunch, and dinner on the resort. We were served typical meals along w/ some American staples. The food was always delicious and service exceeded expectations. Luis really took care of us and made us feel welcomed. The restaurant is nice, clean, and has a bit of an ambiance in the evenings. The only downside was that it wasn't open on Sunday evening which we were made aware of upon arrival.

Staff: Everyone was really nice and went above and beyond to let you know you're appreciated. Even the owners are personable and chatted with us a little before we headed of to their zip lining excursion, which if you have the chance to do you must. The park is very well put together w/ plans for future expansion.

Overall: I definitely recommend this hotel. Having stayed at many other hotels up and down the hill, I can stay this was by far the best. We are looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: There is a convenience store nearby in case you want snacks or forget the bug repellent, like we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCH2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    215
    42
    14
    5
See reviews for
248
577
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is the best hotel we stayed in in Costa Rica and I think really good value for a Costan Rican mid range priced hotel. The rooms are really luxurious, we had a standard room which was set back in the grounds. It was just really nice, large bed, new furnishings, veranda with our own hammock etc. etc. The grounds of the hotel are like being in a little bit of jungle and it feels very private and secluded. The photos on this site are a good indication of the rooms.
The location is pretty great: the beach and national park are a short bus ride away, with the buses stopping right outside. There are loads of nice restaurants nearby.
The hotel give you a big info pack with a list of restaurant recommendations.
Breakfast was delicious: buffet + order of hot food. Bar service and cocktails at happy hour all great with friendly staff.
The best thing was that after we left our camera behind the hotel found it and were kind enough to post it to us in London for a small cost.

Room Tip: The standard rooms at the back of the site have a private veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTDott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hotel is not much when you pull up to it from the main road into M.A. National Park. But once you enter, it's a peaceful oasis, very clean, modern with big rooms (we stayed in a standard room #2), very comfortable beds (we slept like rocks), quiet and effective A/C amidst the hot and humid weather, no bugs in the rooms, huge bathroom, and great breakfasts to order. The hotel is away from the ocean views, but is also away from the road so it's quiet, and does a great job of creating a garden feel with water features, huge plants, outdoor seating area, and a small pool. We crossed the small street and got our ocean view at El Avion Restaraunt. We had a very comfortable and pleasant stay here; it was worth every dollar. We would definitely recommend this place to our friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veggi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Hotel overall is great (service, rooms, staff). Location is okay but its a 15 min walk to the beach. View is okay.

Pros:
-excellent rooms (clean/quiet/large beds)
-excellent service (offered free currency exchange at a decent rate / offers tips and suggestions which we great / offered insights into restaurants)
- Staff was always kind and will to help

Cons:
- location is 15 min away from the beach (you can walk to the beach but need to take the bus back since its uphill)
- no work out room

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Everything said about the TheFalls rang true. We had a beautiful room with comfy king bed. Lots of wood and stone decor with lovely porch which looked out to greens and flowers. Surprisingly quiet and private feeling.
Breakfast was abundant with fresh-baked pastries or breads along with choices of several items. Sometimes we saw monkeys nearby playing the trees.
Very comfortable feel. Small, but pleasant lobby and bar area. Helpful staff with good recommendations.
Great location within walking distance to free beach, even Park if you don't mind a bit longer walk.
Would definitely recommend to anyone in the area.

Room Tip: Room 15 was great--close to lobby but peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aspen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We just returned from an incredible 10 day Costa Rica trip (Arenal 3 nts, Monteverde 2 nts, Manuel Antonio 4 nts) planned through Catalina at CR Referrals (highly recommended). We are a family of 3 including our adult daughter. We were looking for nice but not extravagant hotels with a spacious room to accommodate the 3 of us. Plus an additional challenge of Easter week and limited availability.

We loved the Falls Resort! It only has 25 rooms so it is not huge. It is not a super luxurious resort but casual and comfortable with beautiful lush landscaping. The infinity pool is not huge but kept very clean and sparkling and great for a dip. We enjoyed sitting in the shady patio area and wifi was accessible from there (not available in our room). All of the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Our room #18 was close to the restaurant on the first floor and had a porch with chairs in front. The room was very comfortable and spotless. Huge comfortable king bed and pull out sofa bed for our daughter. There was a walkin closet with lots of shelves which worked out great for keeping all of our stuff out of the actual living space. The bathroom was spacious with good shelving around the sink. There was an overhead fan, and air conditioning worked well. The included breakfast was great. Buffet with breads, cereal, fruit, juices and then a waiter serves you a choice of 3 items including eggs, potatoes, french toast, pancakes.

We had dinner the first night at the hotel, in the Falls Cafe. Had mahi mahi, seafood pasta, and amazing dessert of warm coconut chocolate cookie with ice-cream. It was good and not too expensive.

We liked the location of the hotel very much. Lots of restaurants nearby and we were able to walk back to the hotel after our hike in Manuel Antonio National Park. The public bus stop is close by as well.

While in MA we did the Mangrove Boat tour and the Park hike with guide Paul Gonsalves, Manuel Antonio Expeditions. Highly recommended.

We also had a great time river rafting with Amigos del Rio (www.amigosdelrio.net)
We did their 3/4 day (7 hours) Savegre River.

Our first lunch in MA was at the El Wagon near our hotel and there was a mom and baby sloth in a nearby tree and they were very active (for sloths). It was very exciting and the lunch was good too!

We went to Cafe Milagro twice (easy walk from the Falls)

For Easter dinner we splurged and had dinner at La Luna in the Gaia Hotel. The view from there is beautiful. We took the bus from Falls to Gaia Hotel, 280 colones (about $.55cents).

If we ever have the opportunity to return to Manuel Antonio we would definitely stay at The Falls again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoveToTravel524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The staff was excellent, courteous and was a great resource for us while we were there. The resort had spectacular views while also inviting tranquility surrounded by exotic trees, plants and flowers. The dining in the restaurant featured a different specialty item each evening and the overall cuisine was great. We never experienced inferior food or service during our entire 8-day trip. There was plenty of wildlife around the beautiful manicured grounds most of the day. The rooms were updated and clean featuring comfortable beds and fresh linens.

The resort is also centrally located to surrounding points of interest. We are planning another trip there soon because of our recent experience to the Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio. Each staff member was courteous and professional and made each us feel welcome with a sincere greeting each time our paths would cross. Special kudos to Jorge, Luis, Andres, Ricardo and the rest of the professional resort staff.

A must see while you are there is the El Santuario Canopy Tour. Our family of five had a great time on the zip line tour. It is a must!!

Rich
Highlands Ranch, Colorado

Room Tip: Resort interior rooms give an excellent view of the trees and wildlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichC1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,565 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,237 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,454 reviews
1.7 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#20 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio

Property: Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Address: 50 Mtr Sur de Si Como No, Manuel Antonio 94-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica is an amazingly beautiful and tranquil garden and waterfall setting within walking distance of this famous little town's best restaurants and gorgeous beaches. White faced capuchins, sloths, toucans, and the endangered mono titi monkeys frequent the trees overhead, while blue iridescent morpho butterflies and hummingbirds bustle about the garden. Whether you are seeking an adventure of a lifetime or just want to relax in one of the most beautiful places on earth, the Falls Resort may be the perfect place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Resort At Manuel Antonio Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Falls Hotel At Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort At Manuel Antonio Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing