We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is good, area is awful- touts, scams and gringos galore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We just spent three weeks traveling all around Costa Rica and the Quepos/Manuel Antonio area was by far the worst place to visit (in an otherwise amazing trip.)

This hotel is good, its grounds are beautiful, and it's a real peaceful oasis from the awful area outside. But why would you go somewhere that you need such an oasis?

This is the most over-developed area in the country. The park is beautiful, but you have to get through miles and miles of touts and narrow roads lined by ugly tourist attractions and hotels. Why would you come here at all? There are many other beautiful parks in Costa Rica, and you can see monkeys in other places, if that's what you're into. Sadly this is all a result of people like us (tourists) flocking here in such droves that the natural beauty of the park is distorted and ruined by the grotesque environment that has sprung up all around it.

SCAM: If/when you go to the park, ignore the very official-looking men (often in park ranger uniforms) flagging down your car and waving you to the side of the road to park. They will tell you the lots near the park are "full" or there's an "event" happening etc. These are just scams to get you to park far from Manuel Antonio Park, under the supervision of their touts who will expect a payment after. As a reward, you'll have a nice long walk on the hot pavement.

NB: We had a nice walk in the park, but only because we got there at 7am. By 9 on a Saturday there are already lineups to get into the park, and your bags etc are searched at the entrance... wow, fun.

If you HAVE to come to this area the Falls is a good choice. But remember... you don't HAVE to come here at all! Costa Rica is beautiful, don't see it at its worst!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not on the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Weeebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,029)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Falls Resort, located near the Manuel Antonio park and beach, is a pretty place, with winding pathways through its gardens. The room was spacious, with a large walk-in closet and a roomy bathroom; the room had comfortable quiet air conditioning and the bed came with netting for mosquitoes. The attached restaurant had surprisingly good food and a menu with typical and non-typical CR choices.

The downsides: our room was in a building far from the main lodge, so we couldn't get wi-fi access -- we had to go to the lobby in the lodge; the office wasn't open until 7 and closed at 9, and the office people seemed a little stressed out; breakfast didn't start until 7 am and our park tour pick-up time was 7:15, leaving little time to eat; and on the day we had to leave to catch our flight in San Jose, we were given a box breakfast at 6:30 and not much was in the box to sustain us, though we had pre-paid for the breakfast.

But otherwise, the place had a nice ambiance, a nice pool, and we even saw an agouti and a basilisk on the garden pathways, as well as a beautiful motmot bird.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samsarah714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in the first week of march. We thought the hotel offered good value for the price. Hotel pool was comfortable and quiet, the staff was friendly and the restaurant was excellent. Thy fed us some of our best meals in Costa Rica for reasonable prices. The only down sides to this hotel is there is no wifi in the rooms (only at the lobby) and no coffee maker in the room- this may not be a downside for some but for me, this would have made my stay a little more enjoyable. I would also bring my own pillow if i stayed there again. Overall, we enjoyed and would def return to this hotel if we go back to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Two girlfriends and I recently stayed at the Falls for a girls getaway weekend. The standard room (with an additional bed) fit the three of us perfectly. We were a little concerned to see that our room was on the street, but with the door closed we never heard a sound from outside.
We enjoyed the large breakfasts (which were included) and a lunch and a dinner in the open air restaurant. The food was amazing.
I highly recommend their zip line tour (Santuario)- we had a blast! The guides were fun and did a great job and the views are amazing. We also enjoyed a tour of the National Park with one of their knowledgable guides- we saw so many animals and learned more than we expected about the ecology of the area while taking a leisurely walk through the park.
The hotel grounds are stunning, with rich foliage, an infinity pool that overlooks a small waterfall, open air dining, and lots of monkeys and lizards passing through!
The only drawback of the hotel is it's distance to the beach- it's a steep mile and a half walk, or a quick 60 cent bus ride each way. This seems to be pretty standard, at least for the Manuel Antonio area- most of the hotels are located up and off the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at The Falls resort for 3-nights during our visit to Manuel Antonio. This hotel was one of the best spots. From the outside on the street, don't be nervous. It looks like any chain hotel but once thru the doors - you're in paradise. Great pool to relax at - it seemed everyday while laying poolside a colony of monkies would swing thru! How awesome! Also, a toucan was in the lush gardens that we didn't see elsewhere during our 11-nights in Costa Rica. The restaurant was mediocre but there are plenty of food options nearby. We loved our stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David4NO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here three days in early March, and the hotel met our every expectation and we would definitely recommend it. It is relatively small, but with the garden layout, there is a lot of privacy. the pool is small but nice, and the breakfast is good. The staff was helpful, and the hotel offered a lot of activity options. Falls Resort is conveniently located, about half way between Manuel Antonio Park and Quepos. we had a rental car, but plenty of other transportation options are available to get to the park. I would definitely recommend the Manuel Antonio nature walk, the guides were all amazing, knowledgeable, and it was one of the highlights of our trip. Several restaurants and shops are within walking distance as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tyler W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed two nights here one in a standard room and the other in a deluxe room. The rooms were great, but I do not understand why the deluxe room is more money. I preferred the Standard room, more secluded and romantic. Be ready for a lot of stairs though!

Room Tip: Standard rooms are less money but a better room personally!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.5 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,276 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,588 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,488 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1.7 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#18 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio

Address: 50 Mtr Sur de Si Como No, Manuel Antonio 94-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $120 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica is an amazingly beautiful and tranquil garden and waterfall setting within walking distance of this famous little town's best restaurants and gorgeous beaches. White faced capuchins, sloths, toucans, and the endangered mono titi monkeys frequent the trees overhead, while blue iridescent morpho butterflies and hummingbirds bustle about the garden. Whether you are seeking an adventure of a lifetime or just want to relax in one of the most beautiful places on earth, the Falls Resort may be the perfect place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Resort At Manuel Antonio Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Falls Hotel At Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort At Manuel Antonio Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing