We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, great accommodations, fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our family (my husband, myself, and our two kids, 10 & 13) recently returned from Costa Rica, after staying at the Falls for a week. We had the time of our lives, and we cannot say enough good things about the Falls. The flora on the grounds was so beautiful - it felt like you were staying in the jungle, especially when troops of squirrel monkeys came through! In addition, we saw agouti on the property & a basilisk lizard almost daily. The pool was very nice; the dining room was great - nice daily breakfasts, and we also had lunch and dinner there, and they were excellent (the dinner we had there was the best we had in Costa Rica). Our room was very nice, and spacious, even with 4 of us. Scott and his wife, Tracy, were incredibly helpful and friendly, as were the rest of the staff. We walked to the beach daily, and saw wildlife every time (howlers, squirrel monkeys, white faced monkeys, sloth, iguana)! Bus was also easily accessible, and we often returned from the beach via bus. Many other restaurants within walking distance, as well. We already miss being there, and we would HIGHLY recommend staying at the Falls, and hope to return again some day!

Room Tip: We stayed above dining room - room was large (2 Queens), but if you are traveling just 2, I would re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfattor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,031)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Set in beautiful tropical gardens with la little waterfall. Very helpful staff.

The pool is an oasis on a hot day. Positioned with shade from palm trees. Perfect.

Restaurant is good value. The sea bass sandwich is excellent. The staff are friendly and helpful. Will organise tours. Their recommendation for nature guide turned out to be fantastic.

It's a fair hike to the beach but you can easily catch the local bus for 60c.

A great place to stay

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixiefairweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

When you pull up the the hotel it does not look like much. Once you walk in it is beautiful. You are really in the middle of the jungle. The rooms are great and all have a private patio area. The wildlife is just steps out your door. There are many different sitting areas away from the pool. The staff is very accommodating. The food is good. You are also just a very short walk from the bus line.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bweber11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My favourite hotel I visited in Costa Rica! As you pull up is does not look anything special but as you walk you it turns into a tropical oasis! The grounds are so beautiful, the pool is gorgeous, as is the hotube with a cocktail when the rain falls! There is a waterfall, a little bridge, lovely rooms all dotted about everywhere. The highlight was when the troupes of monkeys would come around and all of a sudden you would be surrounding by monkeys having fun and eating the bananas and coconuts off the trees. We also saw many many Jesus Christ Lizards, little lizards, hummingbirds, morph butterflies and agoutis’s which were very cute scuttling about the place! The staff are so very friendly and happy to help with anything, I couldn’t print my boarding pass so they allowed me to use the front desk computer and printer, very trusting indeed! The rooms were spacious with very modern bathrooms, plenty of towels and robes and lovingly cleaned every day. Cable TV with many choices which was good when you are getting ready! Breakfast was wonderful with lots of choice and big portions! The hotel location is excellent near many restaurants and near bus stops too. I would thoroughly recommended this hotel to anyone staying in Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shoecrazybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

A solidly good place to base a stay near Manuel Antonio. It's not spectacular, but I'd be surprised if anyone really had a bad experience here.

It's on the main road from Quepos to Manuel Antonio Park (and the beach) - just like a 1,000 other hotels and restaurants. It's too far to walk easily to either but an easy drive or taxi ride. There are a few restaurants in ready walking distance so you are not car bound. It's on the 'wrong' side of the road so no ocean views, but the gardens are very pleasant and the open air feel of the place (the bar, reception area and restaurant all all 'open air' and next to the patio and pool) make it easy for everyone to find a suitable spot to hang out.

The staff are friendly and very helpful and the manager/owner visible and accessible (although we didn't realise who he was when he asked how we were enjoying the place). From what we saw the tours that they arrange were well organised with staff around to make sure the right people ended up at the right place.

Our room was big and clean. The A/C was a very effective in-room unit, but pretty noisy. We had room 22. My impression was that it was not one of the better rooms, but it was fine. What it did lack was any windows other than the massive glazed patio doors where the entrance was. It wasn't dark or dingy, but the only light was also the entrance from the path outside, so there was a trade off between privacy and light.

Although we were right above the restaurant, the free WiFi didn't extend to our room, but was fast in the public areas.

The restaurant and bar we reasonably priced and pretty good quality. However the restaurant is closed on Sundays which was a surprise to us. It would have been useful to us to be reminded that it would be closed the night before or at breakfast. Breakfast was a little limited, but not seriously. The extra charge of $2 for bacon was strange, especially when you can borrow DVDs for free - not a big deal, but seemed a little idiosyncratic.

When we were there the place was lively without being overly busy despite being fully booked on one night. The layout of the public areas does mean that, apart from your own room/terrace, it is difficult to distance yourselves from other guests. That wasn't a problem for us, but the manager and clientelle are mainly American (at least when we were there) and, naturally, the atmosphere and dominant culture or the place is American. No real complaint at all from us on that score, but it may not be everyone's ideal.

In short, lots to like, not much to dislike, but realise that the layout of the public space will ensure you get to know (or, at least, be close to) the other guests without being crowded.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank chris_butler_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The room we had was a delight--king size bed, walk in closet, beautiful wooden shutters, sofa, wet bar, large shower. Only thing it lacked for us was a place to hang your wet beach clothes. The front desk staff was extremely helpful, Luis and Ricardo at the restaurant felt like old friends within minutes. They were both professional and accommodating. Quick 3 minute bus ride to the beach and National Park.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inmotion99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our travel agent suggested we stay at the Falls. It was the BEST decision we made for the whole trip! The resort is really one, big, lush garden full of flowers, plants, birds, butterfiles, etc. Everything is convenient. The food was as good as, if not better, than anywhere we ate in Costa Rica. The rooms are large, clean, have updated bathrooms and granite countertops. The closets are huge! the mattresses are great, and the linens/towels perfect. We had a mosquito net over our bed but never used it. Our room also had a large LCD TV. There is a covered sitting area outside the room. Housekeeping was perfect. There is a small-ish pool, but it is convenient and was never crowded during our one-week stay. Plenty of lounge chairs by the pool. An open-air lounge area is located at the front with computer for checking email, etc. However, all this pales compared to the quality of the staff. By the time we left Luis and Ricardo were like family to us! We can't thank them enough for all the great service, fun, laughs, and advice on what to see and do. They totally made our experience! Also, Joanna, in the office is wonderful and helped us with several excursions, etc.! They all went well beyond what was expected and were exceptionally gracious.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 18 & 19. Very close to restaurant. Couldn't be more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelj60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.0 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
923 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.5 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,291 reviews
1.7 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#18 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio

Address: 50 Mtr Sur de Si Como No, Manuel Antonio 94-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $119 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica is an amazingly beautiful and tranquil garden and waterfall setting within walking distance of this famous little town's best restaurants and gorgeous beaches. White faced capuchins, sloths, toucans, and the endangered mono titi monkeys frequent the trees overhead, while blue iridescent morpho butterflies and hummingbirds bustle about the garden. Whether you are seeking an adventure of a lifetime or just want to relax in one of the most beautiful places on earth, the Falls Resort may be the perfect place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Resort At Manuel Antonio Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Falls Hotel At Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort At Manuel Antonio Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing