We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would love to stay their again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would love to stay their again”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

When traveling abroad it's very hard to be sure about the hotel you are booking and there can be lots of surprises. I booked 4 nights in a Deluxe Room at The Falls resort based on reviews I read, location and a little bit of wishful thinking.
We arrived in San Jose and were greeted by our driver that was arranged through Jorge (the Falls front desk staff). They were great about returning my emails when I had questions. We got to the hotel after a three hour drive and were very impressed. Jorge was anticipating our arrival and our room was amazing. Five minutes after checking in, a group of monkeys made their way through the trees that fill the grounds.
The hotel room was amazing, the staff was exceptional and we had a great time in Manuel Antonio. The only reason I didn't give five stars was because the prices are definitely aimed at the gringos. The rooms are worth it but the prices at the restaurant and bar are not much different from the prices in California. During a thunder storm my girlfriend and I split a steak and had a few rounds and it ended up at $80. I guess Costa Rica in general just isn't cheap like it used to be. That's not the fault of The Falls Resort though, it's everywhere. I would definitely go back there and would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Deluxe Room had a kind bed, a walk-in closet and a separate bathroom with a huge walk-in shower. Ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greatwater, Manager at Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hey Guys,

Thanks for the kind words. We are really pleased that you had I really like when we have the opportunity to use a review, good or bad, to give more insights into our region of Costa Rica or the country in general. Prices in Costa Rica do vary sometimes depending on the strength of the dollar, and how rural an area you are visiting. More important, is to remember that Costa Rica has a sales tax of 13% (some of the CR politicians have spent too much time in high tax states in the US I guess), and in all restaurants in the country (by law) you will see a charge of 10% "Servicio" which is essentially a mandatory tip. Sooooo....when you get your bill the number you see at the bottom is 23% higher than the underlying tab from the restaurant. As for additional tipping, some countries are not use to tipping at all, though most add 5-10% depending on service. Thank you for your visiting with us, and for allowing me to add some traveler tips in for future guests. Please also check us out on Facebook where we will be offering specials for return guests, and passes to our new Canopy Tour opening this winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    210
    39
    13
    5
See reviews for
237
562
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We were a family of 4 renting two rooms. We weren't sure what to expect for the price, but we were blown away by the quality of the rooms, the grounds, and the restaurant. We rented the "standard" room which is in bungalows in the rear of the property. You get to them via a garden path through lush foliage, flowers, butterflies, hummingbirds and monkeys!. The rooms have a rustic high ceiling look, are clean, and have a great walk in shower. I can't say enough about the food at the restaurant nor the service. The sea bass was the best I've ever had, and my grown daughter said the Mahi mahi was as good as Hawaii. The host made us feel like we had been invited to his home for dinner. Breakfast is included with your room and it's a full breakfast. Don't be put off when you pull up to the curb, it does not look like much, but once you're on the grounds it's heaven.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Lie on your private hammock outside your room and watch monkeys swing by, or let the sounds of the dink frogs lull you to sleep. Clean room, super friendly staff, beautiful grounds. Doesn't look like much from the road but all the rooms have a beautiful garden view. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Hands down one of the best places I've stayed at. Stayed in this hotel for 6 days for a honey moon in room 6. This was no standard room as it said when we booked it. We for our own little place that stands alone separate from the other rooms on top of a little hill that over looks the garden. It was clean, spacious, decorated nicely with a hammock in the porch. During our stay here, we saw white faced monkeys, lizards, bats, humming birds, frogs which was more animals than we saw on a Mangrove tour. We had capuchin monkeys swinging in the trees in front of our porch. The service is impeccable from the front line staff to the chefs, waiters, and cleaning ladies. We even got a personal goodbye from Luis, the bartender/waiter. We were always greeted with a friendly hola and waiting to serve us. The front desk was informative and helpful. To top it off their food was AMAZING! Their fish was cooked to perfection. I can't say one negative thing about this place. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Upon arrival to Manuel Antonio, we checked into another hotel that was previously arranged. Unfortunately this hotel was awful, unclean, and the exact opposite of any pictures and reviews posted on the hotel website. We immediately got a refund and a man at a realty shop just down the road recommended we try the Falls. Although we arrived later in the evening, they were extremely helpful and sympathetic to our situation. They had a delux room available for only 1 night but graciously offered to help us find accommodation for the following night. The room was amazing: super clean ad modern, big comfy bed, flat screen tv, gorgeous rock bottom and sizeable bathroom, walk inn closet + safe. The soap smells amazing also ha ha !! Compared with any other hotel, we even found the mini fridge bar prices to be quite reasonable. The pool was chilly but would be amazing on a hot day. The jacuzzi was nice! The complimentary breakfast has 5 options to chose from, we had traditional gallo pinto which was delicious. They gave us a coupon for complimentary appetizer or dessert if we returned, which we did and ha the chicken pesto pasta for dinner, it was exquisite! We appreciated that the owners came over and talked to us when we returned for dinner to ensure we had found other accommodations! We will definitely return here and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peanutandtucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
430 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I really mean this---quality, service, atmosphere...it has it all and then some. My wife and I stayed there in late July, 2012. After four nights in Jaco beach, we were ready to unwind, enjoy our vacation and appreciate the gift that Costa Rica offers its visitors--natural beaty! We didn't want to come home after being treated like the Royal Family! The food was tremendous, the service was exceptional and the scenery was to die for--even better than the nationa park. You miht just not leave the grounds. The service at this hotel beats what I have experienced at any in Montreal, New York, Toronto, Rome, San Diego, Bermuda, Jamaica or San Francisco--It simply is the best package money can buy. If I lived there, I would seek employment so enjoy the staff and scenery. The owner has done a wonderful job of creating an oasis for his guests. Thank you for allowing us to stay for 5 nights and offering the best accomodations that money can buy--It was an absolute pleasure and honor on our part.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelpapi153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I have recently spent 5 nights at The Falls as part of a 50th birthday trip to Costa Rica. The owners and staff went beyond the "call of duty" to make my birthday the best one I have ever had! From a room upgrade....to a complimentary chilled bottle of wine.... to a surprise birthday cake (complete with one of the owners leading the singing!) this place has it ALL! Beautifully appointed rooms, lush jungle gardens, monkeys swinging through the trees around the lovely pool area, lizards and iguana's, a very cute bar and restaurant not to mention the fabulous complimentary breakfast! But best of all is the incredibly warm, friendly and welcoming atmosphere which is totally due to the owners and the wonderful and professional staff they have working for them. A special thanks to Richard, Scott and Tracey for creating such a magical place to stay and to Ricardo, Luis and Andreas for your wonderful service, smiles and jokes!

Room Tip: room 11 is a great room to stay in if you don't mind walking up a couple of flights of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.0 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio

Property: Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Address: 50 Mtr Sur de Si Como No, Manuel Antonio National Park 94-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica is an amazingly beautiful and tranquil garden and waterfall setting within walking distance of this famous little town's best restaurants and gorgeous beaches. White faced capuchins, sloths, toucans, and the endangered mono titi monkeys frequent the trees overhead, while blue iridescent morpho butterflies and hummingbirds bustle about the garden. Whether you are seeking an adventure of a lifetime or just want to relax in one of the most beautiful places on earth, the Falls Resort may be the perfect place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Resort At Manuel Antonio Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Falls Hotel At Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort At Manuel Antonio Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing