We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sushimi tuna margarita. get one..” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Agua Azul

Cafe Agua Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Latin, Bar, Seafood, South American, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dallas, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“sushimi tuna margarita. get one..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and i ate here twice during our 3 month stay we thought it rated about a 5 or a 6 out of 10 during lunch and maybe an 8 for dinner. To us the best thing we had was the sushimi tuna margarita WOW i want one now.but its only available at dinner so needless to say my lunch here has a lower rating. But the owners are from the deep south united states and im all about that..GO DOWGS!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank xtrmn8r1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    997
    451
    151
    35
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quepos, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great ocean view and very good food, BUT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I been there last weekend with my girlfriend, the food still being excellent, but the place need some renewals. The tables are blacks and dirty, the ceiling are rusty, 90s TV
But no big deal, just some small details, Grat ocean view and very good food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A fun experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I went to Agua Azul twice on my trip to Manuel Antonio. I enjoyed my chicken that had a breading with macadamia nuts a coconut. The service was very good. When we first arrived it was very busy and we got moved from the bar to a table almost immediately afterwards. The waiter even remembered us when we went back. It wasn't to expensive which was good. They were famous for their burgers which wet from 1/2 pound to 2 pounds! Of course we had to try one...they were excellent and you had a variety of choices to choose from and also vegetables to put on, bacon,etc. There was an open bar with the kitchen on the inside so, you could watch the chefs prepare your meal which was nice. I went back it was so good, the next time I went back for lunch. When I went back for lunch it was very very filling. I was so full I didn't even want to go out for dinner! We are five people so the men split the burger an the ladies had the BLT wrap, quesadillas and everyone spilt nachos. There was a scenic view and when you look over the railing you can see the hotels and houses. It's beautiful at night time. I had such great times at Agua Azul. The appetizer of patacones which are fried plantains were very delicious it was served almost immediately. Lovely restaurant overall...I would go back when I come back to Costa Rica! It was a fun experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank harris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“best restaurant hands down!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Do not miss this place on your trip to Manuel Antonio! Beautiful view awesome food!!! I had the Big A*s burger it was excellent, my wife and daughter had the chicken tacos that they both raved about them.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mudweiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ahh Crusted Tuna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Agua Azul food is amazing. The view is even better. The lunch menu also has some great items. I loved the shrimp basket and burgers. You will spend a little more but this restaurant has one of the best views in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Agua Azul also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Cafe Agua Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing