We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice hotel in perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Prats Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Prats Hotel
sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a familyroom for 4, with a kitchenette that worked well for cooking breakfast and a simple lunch. There was plenty of space in the room and two balconies two sit on. The room, and the hotel,was very clean and we felt very safe here. There is a small pool that we didn´t use so much as the beach is so close by. The family who owns the hotel are really nice. We spent New years eve here and there was fireworks down on the beach. Restaurants and National park entrance is just around the corner so the location couldn´t be better!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SwedenFamilytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    33
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
21
29
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leesport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We (six guys) rented 3 rooms the end of Jan/early Feb. The rooms were clean, shower worked well and the air conditioning was superb. Very cozy hotel with 8 rooms. The help were amazingly helpful from getting us some beer, giving us directions,letting us use their safe deposit box and using their shower upon leaving late in the day on our last day. Juan was so friendly and helpful through out our stay. His english was remarkable. Causeway was most helpful also. Their breakfast was well worth the $5.00 each morning. THe hotel is very close to the beach and entrance to the park just as we wanted. You can't go wrong choosing their hotel to stay and the price is very reasonable.
Phil J. New Jersey

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phil1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We travel on a bare bones budget and have had wonderful experiences at the value priced accommodations we have stayed at all over the world. This was not one of those places. The location is convenient to the park but that is the only good thing about it. We did not feel safe, the room was not clean, the overall property seemed to be in a general state of disrepair and the service was basically non existent. Breakfast was included if you were willing to wait an hour to see if anyone showed up to cook it. Parking was very tough given the extremely small area to navigate. Parked the car when we arrived and did not move it again until we left. Really was not convenient to any restaurants or anything else other then the park. Would definately stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNtravelersscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
273 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Rather uninviting from outside - looks tatty and is sited on a gravel track. Big room, clean, hot water and A/C. Room rather in need of decoration. No breakfast as the cook 'didn't turn up'. Strong smell of sewers pervades the area. Convenient for the National Park.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel is perfect if you are looking for clean, affordable lodging steps away from Manuel Antonio. The rooms are clean and they give you two towels-one for the beach and one for the shower. The staff was very kind and bilingual and the Wi-Fi signal is excellent. I 100% recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoJohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I honestly hate complaining. I have stayed at many places including hostels in Africa so I can handle basic accommodations. Even accommodations that are not 100% clean doesn't bother me. Having said that, the room we rented in November 2012, was disgusting. I understand that this place is cheap and you get what you pay for, but it was truly filthy. I should have asked for my money back and left but we were tired when we arrived (after messing up our reservations to stay somewhere else) and chose instead to only stay one night. The bed linens were not clean and I instead slept on my jacket. We were very disappointed :(
To try to end on a positive note, the location is great and very close to the entrance of Manuel Antonio Park.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Joiev98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

I was really skeptical about staying at this hotel because a lot of glowing reviews came from people that have only reviewed this one property. I know some hotels get their friends to write them good reviews to bump their stats so I was a little on the fence. I dedided to try it anyway and I'm glad that I did because the price was right, the room was comfortable and the distance to the park entrance & the beach were wonderful. The service wasn't spectacular, not bad, just low key. Sometimes we'd stand at the front desk looking for some help and there would be no one around, then another guest told us that they lived upstairs and we needed to ring a bell by their door to get their help. It would have been nice to know this when we checked in. Sometimes we found that the language barrier was an issue, but that's partly our fault for not practicing our Espanol before going on our trip. At some point in our trip I lost my bank card and they let me into their house to use their phone to call my bank, which I found very helpful. The property was safe, some reviewer commented that it's down a sketchy back alley, but I would disagree about the sketchy part. Yes, it's just off the road, down an alley, but we didn't feel unsafe for one second. It was lit and you needed a key card to access the building. Manuel Antonio was probably our least favorite destination because the prices are so high and it's really touristy, but if you are coming here and you're on a budget, Villa Prats is a good option. Just don't expect a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hughsie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Manuel Antonio
Hotel Manuel Antonio
#31 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
#33 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Espadilla
Cabinas Espadilla
#24 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#21 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#9 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Prats Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Prats Hotel

Property: Villa Prats Hotel
Address: 10 metros de entrada manuel ant. nat park, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our rooms come with air conditioning, private bath hot water cable TV, and refrigerator. Our mini studios have a full kitchen all rooms have a double bed and single some have a sofa bed and a beautiful pool. From September to March our restaurant is open. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Prats Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing