We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice sunset bar”
Review of Ronny's Place

Ronny's Place
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Located in the middle of a 90 acres farm, where restaurant is the only building, you can find our Restaurante y Mirador Ronny´s Place, a beautiful "rancho" at farm´s highest mountain peak, allowing for a magnificent view of a 2 bay private beach and horizon.Our privileged location, make us the only restaurant in town where you can see the sunset 365 days a year.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice sunset bar”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Cute location, good for cocktails at sunset.

The sangria is nice but I would be disappointed if it is -as lonely planet claims- the best in Costa Rica.

The ceviche was disappointing but the snapper was good, albeit expensive.

Helpful?
Thank scn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    643
    437
    178
    53
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pina coladas are to die for”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great view! Good food and drinks. Service fast. All four of us enjoyed our meals even though we were told that the food here was so-so. The pina coladas are the best though! Never in my life have I had one this good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Savanah66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It's worth it!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Ok maybe not five star rated. Ok down a dirt road. But it deserves an excellent because it's a fun place with great food at fair prices. Try the piña Colorado served in an entire pineapple. And the fish brochettes, a perfect evening

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank benplat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Off road to get to it and it is popular”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Seems like Lonely Planet got hold of this restaurant, and that makes it a restaurant that many people seek out. Am sure the views must have been stunning. But when we went it was dark.
You have to drive on a gravel road - so, watch out if you have a very delicate vehicle.

The food was the normal Costa Rican fare, and some. The ceviche was good. The Guaro shots at the end as desserts was one thing that was different and would definitely recommend trying.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Easy_Traveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go for the view!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The view and atmosphere are the best part about Ronny's. Sangria is supposed to be their specialty drink but I thought it was very bitter. The food was good but not worth the money. We had a zucchini appetizer to take a break from ceviche and it was not very exciting and the red sauce they used tasted like it came from a jar. I ordered the shrimp and steak dish. The shrimp were cooked very well and the steak was tender but lThe service was also the slowest we experienced in Costa Rica. So, go for the view and a drink at sunset. Eat somewhere else though.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank srhilg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ronny's Place also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Ronny's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing