We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food, good location, fun time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ronny's Place

Ronny's Place
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Central American, Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the middle of a 90 acres farm, where restaurant is the only building, you can find our Restaurante y Mirador Ronny´s Place, a beautiful "rancho" at farm´s highest mountain peak, allowing for a magnificent view of a 2 bay private beach and horizon.Our privileged location, make us the only restaurant in town where you can see the sunset 365 days a year.
Lakeville, MN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good food, good location, fun time”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our evening at Ronnys was a fun night watching the "show" as people ordered the Bananas Foster. Ronny actually took our order and gave me suggestions on what to have and his advice was great! Good place for adults and kids!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bunnymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    430
    173
    52
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The spot to watch the sunset”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Definitely the place to watch the sunset. We were surprised that given all the attention on the view we assumed the food would be just ok. Wrong, the food was very good and the service was just as good. Worth watching the sunset and staying for dinner.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1safaripro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean
Level Contributor
190 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Busy, noisy but good service”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We arrived without a reservation and although they had several very large tables filled, they found us a table for 5. Very polite and friendly welcome. Seafood is their speciality but they had good steaks and pasta. They are also well known for their cocktails in coconuts and pineapples..but this adds to your final tab. One starter, 5 mains, 3 cocktails a wine and a beer came to $30 per person which I think is quite reasonable and the food was also reasonable. Though we had to also pay for a taxi to and fro but that would have been the same anywhere we were going. When we were ready to leave we asked them to call us a taxi which was prompt and as it was raining they held an umbrella over us as we got in the taxi...all in all a hospitable, nice place for a casula meal...if a bit noisy..especially if someone orders a banana flambe when there is a lot of noise, music and flashy but impressive flambe show.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank natmicstef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great views. No A/C”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

World class vista, about 3 km off the main drag down a bumpy semi dangerous road. Food was tipico. Hotter then hell.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great views but disappointing...”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I learned of this restaurant thru Fodor's Guide, which rated Ronny's as a Fodor's Choice. So we were looking forward to dining there during our stay in MA.

The restaurant is down a winding dirt road, so make sure to take a taxi or a sturdy car, if you choose to go there at all. The restaurant itself was an unassuming, open space set atop a hill with spectacular views of the Pacific, ideal for watching the sunset. Unfortunately, it was raining the evening we went, so there was no sun to be seen and there are several holes in the roof, which prompted us to change tables mid-meal in order to the avoid water falling on us. However, this is not the reason why we were disappointed with our meal.

We ordered a pitcher of the recommended sangria and a couple of ceviche appetizers. The sangria was okay but the taste was on the bitter side, primarily because of the starfruit they add, and the ceviche was okay, but nothing to write home about. The main courses were another matter altogether. Fodor's highlighted their filet with mushroom sauce, so I decided to give it a try. Not only was the meat overcooked and tough, the side dishes were cold! Others in our party were served sides they hadn't ordered and the temperature of their meats was off as well. The grouper was slightly better, but it, too, lacked any real finesse.

Mind you, while I do enjoy delicately flavored dishes, I am equally pleased with more rustic fare provided the food is prepared well. It is not too much to ask for food to be cooked to the temperature requested and there is absolutely no excuse for serving cold food, especially when we arrived well before the dinner rush (i.e. bus loads of tourists).

What made the experience all the more egregious was the price. This was the most expensive meal we ate during our stay and it paled in comparison to Kapi Kapi and La Gondola. Had it been more reasonably priced, I would have rated it as average. However, at close $100 per couple, I would have expected a lot more than was we got.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ronny's Place also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Ronny's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing