We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service but worth it for the sunset & food”
Review of Ronny's Place

Ronny's Place
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Located in the middle of a 90 acres farm, where restaurant is the only building, you can find our Restaurante y Mirador Ronny´s Place, a beautiful "rancho" at farm´s highest mountain peak, allowing for a magnificent view of a 2 bay private beach and horizon.Our privileged location, make us the only restaurant in town where you can see the sunset 365 days a year.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Down a rocky, dirt road is this 'gem'. The sangria is incredible, as is the food. You can either make a reservation, or sit around the edge of the deck on a barstool, or at one of the tables across the road (closer than it sounds). We got there at about 5ish, and were able to get a seat. Within 1/2 an hour, hoards of people arrived. Very relaxed and enjoyable. The service is slow, but who needs fast service when watching the sunset?

Thank Jillkc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,073 - 1,077 of 1,522 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

The night we went it was very crowded so the service was not very good but the food was delicious! The sunset was spectacular which is why it was so crowded. Reservations would have helped also.

Thank contactmso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurPleasure, General Manager at Ronny's Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Contactmso,
First, thank you for the time taken to review our restaurant.
We are sorry that our – usual excellent – service did not work out for you, on your visit.
Regarding the crowded atmosphere, we would like to recommend – for a future visit of yours – to make a reservation, by email (info@ronnysplace.com) or by phone (2777-5120).
We hope that your next visit will be more pleasant in terms of kindness and attention.

Saludos
Ronny's Place Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Best dinner we had while staying in Manual Antonio. The view and sunset was amazing. The menu and food was exceptional, service was friendly and top notch. If anyone orders a desert they put on a little fire show, real cool. This place is off the beaten path so take a cab, well worth it. Ronnie the owner is very personable, super nice guy. Prices are real good.

1  Thank Carl Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurPleasure, General Manager at Ronny's Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

+-+-+-+-+-+ +-+-+-+-+
|T|h|a|n|k| |y|o|u|!|
+-+-+-+-+-+ +-+-+-+-+
Ronny's Place Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

we unfortunately took the bus from Manuel Antonio Park and had to walk a 1/2 mile up a dirt and rock path. The sangria was okay and the food average. Maybe at sunset it is a great view, they were very obliging and called a taxi there was no way we were going to walk back to take the bus to our resort.

Thank annieKingwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurPleasure, General Manager at Ronny's Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear AnnieKingwood,
We are sorry we did not meet your expectations.
However – reading your review - we understand that food, drinks and service were fine, and your final opinion was (100% justified) compromised by the unfortunate way you got here. All hotel clerks in the area know that the best way to get to our place – if you don't have a car – is by cab. We are sincerely surprised that you were not aware of this.
We always suggest our customers, to catch a cab (it cost about $ 5) and arrive at our restaurant around 5:30 pm, to see – probably - the most amazing sunset in Costa Rica.
Again, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at our restaurant, and we hope next time you come back to Manuel Antonio, you pay us a visit and give us another chance.

Thank you, and PURA VIDA!
Ronny's Place Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We found this place on our 2nd to last day, when we had sangrias and checked out the afternoon view. If we ever go back to Manuel Antonio, we will definitely return for a sunset dinner.

Thank Kathy32530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ronny's Place also viewed

Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Ronny's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing