We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and even better people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Backpackers Manuel Antonio
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a little over a month while I attended cosi(costa rica Spanish institute) and had an amazing time. The school is located next door and made it a breeze to attend early morning classes. The rooms were nice enough for the price and I always felt safe. The staff is awesome and very personal, they assisted me with my Spanish greatly. Over all an awesome hostel!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rq1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Backpackers Manuel Antonio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 204 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2012

We had bed bug bites for the 2 nights we stayed in the room closest to the check in. Nice place besides that.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Backpackers has lovely grounds at the top of the hill in Manuel Antonio and is behind and under Comida Tipica where you can enjoy well-priced Costa Rican food.

The staff is friendly and responsive.

They have a very big, open shared kitchen and common areas with couches and hammocks, WiFi as well as a couple computers with internet to share, a swimming pool, and a beautiful view overlooking the jungle canopy and wildlife.

They have shared dorms and some private rooms all at hostel prices. Don't think you have to stay down in Quepos if you are on a budget -- you can still enjoy the amenities of Manuel Antonio. This is about midway between Quepos and the beach/national park and has bus stops going in both directions within a half block. Super Joseth, the local grocery and liquor store, is one block toward the beach. Very convenient location.

If you are arriving on the bus from San Jose, do not get off in Quepos. Tell the driver to stop across from the soccer field (por favor parada al frente del campo de fútbol) and you will be there. To take the bus back to San Jose, buy your ticket in advance at the Quepos bus station then be ready holding your ticket out when the bus approaches and the driver will stop and pick you up.

It's a popular place and you can make lots of new friends from around the world.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank choroni03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I don’t like writing these kinds of reviews but, it is, what it is.
The hostel is located about one kilometer from the center of village Manuel Antonio. This is a party youth hostel. It can accommodate up to 70 people. However, it is not large enough for this amount of people.
During my stay the hostel was full. I only ended up staying here because my first two hostel options were full as well. This was the first time in my 5 month Central American travel that something like this has happened. It may be good idea to make a reservation for your visit of Manuel Antonio.
Do not stay in dorm E. It is an eight bed dorm opening onto the common area and serving as a hallway for the connecting girls’ dorm in the back. I found this dorm to be a bit of a joke. At night there is noise coming from the party area until late night and there were people coming and going through the dorm at all times. Even though you were given a key for the dorm door, during the day it was always wide open and there is nobody in the dorm … The dorm was very hot during day and night. There were three smallish fans working all night. One of them was quite loud. This dorm has no private bathroom but the connecting girls’ dorm does. Anytime the girls’ washroom was used their bathrooms light lit up our dorm through a window (yes, for some reason the girls’ bathroom has a window into the second dorm). The noise from this bathroom transferred into our dorm as well.
The sheets I was given were clean but the mattress covers were filthy. There were many spider nets in the corners and at the ceiling. There are not enough garbage cans (none in the dorm) and as a result people just leave garbage lying around. Towels are not for rent but only for sale (at $8.00 each).
The shared bathrooms and showers were filthy. It must be hard to keep them clean as there are many people for only few WCs and showers. I had to wait few times during the busier times for my turn for WC and/or sink. This can also be why the two showers had a strong smell of urine in the morning.
There are just too many people and not enough space!
The view of a valley from the deck was nice and so was the pool. Definitely these are the highlights of this hostel. The inclusive breakfast was OK and consisted of coffee and pancakes which you make yourself.
The staff was decent and helpful. At check in I was assured that there is a Wi-Fi even in the dorm, but there was not the case (not a big deal, but still…) The Wi-Fi is available in most common areas. They will let you store your luggage and take a shower after check out (11:00).
I recommend this hostel only for people in their early 20’s who want to party, otherwise stay elsewhere. Manuel Antonio is expensive and this hostel has one of the cheapest accommodations but, it is still not worth staying here. I don’t know where all the positive reviews come from but, I guess your experience will depend on in which room and at what time of the year you will visit this hostel.

Room Tip: Do not stay in dorm 'E'
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank povetron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This is a nice hostel with good access to the beach and town. Nice views (tho not of the sea) and a decent social area. The staff seem a bit clueless and unhelpful, but otherwise it was a decent stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bootlemarmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I stayed for 2 nights during my trip in December. The front desk people were very helpful and gave lot of tips for places to visit and eat.
The place is nice and very friendly and is right in the middle of Quepos town and the beaches. The bus stop is right across the hostel and supermarket is nearby too. The beds were clean and the restrooms were clean too. The views of the mountain from the hostel are amazing. They offer pancakes for breakfast (make u'rself). The place is very convenient and friendly.
I met nice friendly travelers here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikram22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Comfortable.and has got an amazing view with pools
Wonderful setting
5 min bus ride to the park, yet a big far from the madness called the park
Rooms are a bit too small and pricey, but o believe prices in man Antonio are about the same ..

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThiaTravelvast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
560 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
383 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,581 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Manuel Antonio
Hotel Manuel Antonio
#32 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Vista Serena
Hostel Vista Serena
#3 of 40 in Manuel Antonio
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Manuel Antonio

Address: Across from the Manuel Antonio soccer field, Manuel Antonio 0000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $25 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our rooms have shared bathrooms with hot water and are equipped with fans. We have a private trail to one of the best views of the sunset over the beach. There is a communal entertainment room with cable TV, DVD-Player, over 80 DVDs, Play Station and a stereo. We keep a clean kitchen with new amenities for everyone to use. We also offer our customers free high speed internet, free parking, free tour information, all-night security guard, laundry service, no curfew, snacks and beverages for sale and a 24-hour Check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Manuel Antonio Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Backpackers Manuel Antonio Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing