We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Backpackers Manuel Antonio
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Terrible beds, uncomfortable mattress. No plug outlets..! Too many people per dorm, only 1 toilet for 10 people, gets dirty quickly. Old, run down, far from the beach. Pancakes for breakfast, everyday. Nothing special

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travels200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    90
    32
    17
    22
See reviews for
12
43
44
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We had a larger group coming in for an extended stay. The hostel was so helpful with setting everything up (even giving us a discount!). All the receptionists are awesome, but Cheri is the best! She's so nice and so helpful. The rooms are all large and the windows have screens on them. There are also huge fans to keep the rooms cool. We were never hot. The pool is very nice and all the hammocks are very relaxing. You make your own pancakes in the morning and enjoy them on the outside balcony where you can watch monkeys swinging around. There is also a sweet tarzan swing! This place felt like home and we did not want to leave. Also, the location is right between Quepos and the main part of Manuel Antonio so it's perfect!!

Free 10 minute phone calls every night! :)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Personal_Legend1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay here. The girl who worked the front desk, I think her name was Lori, was amazing. The rooms were clean and the bar/pool area was too much fun. About a five minute bus ride or 10 minute walk to the beach and the main part of Manuel Antonio. I really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hughes945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Me and my family (2 adults and 3 children) stayed at the Backpackers for 4 nights. We paid $87.50 per night for 5 pers, breakfast included (bake your own pancakes) which is expensive for Costa Rica for normal in the Manuel Antonio area. We enjoyed the place but we felt a little old. The average customer age seemed to be around 20 years old or so...At 40 with young children, we felt a little "out of place". Plus people are making lot of noise when they are coming back from town at late hours...But generally speaking, we enjoyed our stay. Cherry at the reception was nice and helpful, Tours sold at the desk are more expensive than if you go to the park on your own...but that is not specific to this hotel, always good to know. PC with Internet but it did not work 50% of the time (although Facebook seemed to work very well for the guy at the reception...). Bad if you depend on it to book your next hop. But the reception can help for these matters.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2bbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanagan Falls, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

I stayed there while i was backpacking Costa Rica alone and i met a couple of my favourite people here. The staff upstairs are actually very very helpful. Internet was good. Fairly clean place. Kitchen and eating area with the perfect view. Ohhhhh and those hammocks, i've never found ones quiet like those ones.... I slept in one all afternoon one day.
The 10 person room was where i stayed. Had no problems though, locked my important stuff away in the lockers.
There was a movie section, and book exchange right outside the room.
The bathrooms were good, actually i quite liked the showers there.
The pool was a bit of a hike down the hill, but who cares! It was more fun with a bunch of drunk people, lol. Loved the pool area, great view.

The best part is the eating area.... i met so many people. !!! Cards, and games, and so much goes on. Ohhhh and there was always music playing. It was great. I'd go back for sure...

A bit far from the park, so take a taxi!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OceanMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

This hostel was clean and had basic amenities. However, it is rather far from the beach (have to take the public bus or taxi). I would recommend looking at places closer to the beach if that's the main reason for your trip.
The best thing about this hostel is the front desk staff, especially Cheri. She helped us book trips and gave us suggestions on where to go for dinner, nightlife, etc... She's awesome!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwmmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2011

These people were so nice and helpful. the rooms are big and the hostel is clean.
only gave it a four because the pool wasn't cleaned properly.
the view from the pool will make you forget that fact!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttsnss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#25 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
551 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
1.2 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,009 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,540 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Manuel Antonio

Property: Backpackers Manuel Antonio
Address: Across from the Manuel Antonio soccer field, Manuel Antonio 0000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our rooms have shared bathrooms with hot water and are equipped with fans. We have a private trail to one of the best views of the sunset over the beach. There is a communal entertainment room with cable TV, DVD-Player, over 80 DVDs, Play Station and a stereo. We keep a clean kitchen with new amenities for everyone to use. We also offer our customers free high speed internet, free parking, free tour information, all-night security guard, laundry service, no curfew, snacks and beverages for sale and a 24-hour Check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Manuel Antonio Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Backpackers Manuel Antonio Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing