We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to meet people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpackers Manuel Antonio
Reviewed March 31, 2011

I stayed there while i was backpacking Costa Rica alone and i met a couple of my favourite people here. The staff upstairs are actually very very helpful. Internet was good. Fairly clean place. Kitchen and eating area with the perfect view. Ohhhhh and those hammocks, i've never found ones quiet like those ones.... I slept in one all afternoon one day.
The 10 person room was where i stayed. Had no problems though, locked my important stuff away in the lockers.
There was a movie section, and book exchange right outside the room.
The bathrooms were good, actually i quite liked the showers there.
The pool was a bit of a hike down the hill, but who cares! It was more fun with a bunch of drunk people, lol. Loved the pool area, great view.

The best part is the eating area.... i met so many people. !!! Cards, and games, and so much goes on. Ohhhh and there was always music playing. It was great. I'd go back for sure...

A bit far from the park, so take a taxi!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OceanMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 204 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2011

This hostel was clean and had basic amenities. However, it is rather far from the beach (have to take the public bus or taxi). I would recommend looking at places closer to the beach if that's the main reason for your trip.
The best thing about this hostel is the front desk staff, especially Cheri. She helped us book trips and gave us suggestions on where to go for dinner, nightlife, etc... She's awesome!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwmmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

These people were so nice and helpful. the rooms are big and the hostel is clean.
only gave it a four because the pool wasn't cleaned properly.
the view from the pool will make you forget that fact!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttsnss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

We loved our stay. The common area makes for a great social environment with other travellers and they don´t let it get out of hand so it doesn´t become a loud, drunken rock fest. Staff is extremely helpful. I forgot my laptop there and Cheri drove it all the way to the next town a few hours away so I could pick it up. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustinandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Backpackers was recommended by a friend of a friend. The place was clean and friendly. The parking was okay (off road) but needed to do a 3 point turn to get out when we were there. No big deal. The pool is about 100 meters from the hotel (not such a big deal). The staff was courteous and helpful.

My issue was with the fact that you get a nice clean (private w/shared bath)r oom, but no towels. I go ask for towels and they want a 10,000 colone deposit for two towels up front, plus the towels cost 1,000 each to use. Never, ever have i had to pay for towels anywhere in CR or Nicaragua. Then they do offer free wireless and have a few pc's to use, but no chair to sit down. C'mon......put up a sign with a time limit, but put some chairs in there.

Then they offer FREE breakfast. Well, it is free IF you cook it yourself. The day we were there, they supplied pancake batter to make our own pancakes. WTF? Another first for us at a hostel. We were in a hurry and there were too many hungry people ahead of us, for us to wait to cook and eat. So we had to go pay for breakfast....that we already more or less paid for.

The private room price i feel is a little high ($30 US) when you have to share a bath, fix your own breakfast, pay for towels and have to stand while using the internet. I may sound spoiled, but have been to more than one hostel in my day and these are all firsts for me.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

This hostel is located on the road between Quepos and Manuel Antonio, so maybe location wise it's not the best option. However, the place is cheap (we paid 12 US$ for a shared dorm), it's relatively new, it's absolutely spotless (really, it's amazingly clean), the staff is friendly, has a nice (small) pool where to relax, and the rate includes breakfast (pancakes and coffee). You may use a communal kitchen to cook, and there's also an area where to watch TV and meet other travellers. While we were there, a bar was being built right by the pool, so it's probably finished by now. WiFi works well and they also have two computers for guest to use (but without a chair, probably to not encourage guests to spend hours using the computers).

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmhbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

The hostel was absolutely wonderful. The rooms were clean, the staff was very friendly, and the location is great. The location was convenient and close to everything in Manuel Antonio. Additionally, the place has a beautiful view, great common area, and a pool. It was an amazing value for our money.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eurotravelingstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.5 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#18 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
925 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Vista Serena
Hostel Vista Serena
#4 of 41 in Manuel Antonio
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Selina Manuel Antonio
Selina Manuel Antonio
#8 of 41 in Manuel Antonio
131 reviews
1 mi away
Hostel Plinio
Hostel Plinio
#5 of 41 in Manuel Antonio
239 reviews
0 mi away
Torino Backpackers Beach
Torino Backpackers Beach
#16 of 41 in Manuel Antonio
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Manuel Antonio

Address: Across from the Manuel Antonio soccer field, Manuel Antonio 0000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $26 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our rooms have shared bathrooms with hot water and are equipped with fans. We have a private trail to one of the best views of the sunset over the beach. There is a communal entertainment room with cable TV, DVD-Player, over 80 DVDs, Play Station and a stereo. We keep a clean kitchen with new amenities for everyone to use. We also offer our customers free high speed internet, free parking, free tour information, all-night security guard, laundry service, no curfew, snacks and beverages for sale and a 24-hour Check-in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Backpackers Manuel Antonio Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Backpackers Manuel Antonio Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing