We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want the real Costa Rican experience in a dream location don't bother looking anywhere else!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mal Pais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mal Pais Surf Camp & Resort
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I have traveled the entire coast of Costa Rica and stayed and tons of different places. My main focus was surfing and adventure. At the Mal Pais Surf Camp you can choose between camp sites, ranchos or houses with AC! A 3 minute walk to some of the best breaks, awsome clean pool, resturante/bar with breakfast lunch and dinner. The staff there is very helpful and all speak English. I don't bother going anywhere else , you know it's a good place when you go back there and see people you met 3 years ago! Elise is very helpful and will answer all your questions. Rooms are clean, security 24/7 !Don't waste a trip going somewhere else , believe me!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jzeno186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 127 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

To put it simply , I love Surf Camp . Been there a couple of times and Douglas , Elise , and the rest of the staff do a wonderful job making you feel at home . The other guests you meet , you will see year after year , adding to the Mal Pais Surf Camp experience .

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keem0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

After hearing about this place from a fellow guest at a hostel in Jaco, my friend and I decided to check it out. Upon pulling into the driveway, we looked at each other and knew we had found our home for the rest of our trip. Off season pricing allowed us to stay in our own villa with more than enough space to be extra comfortable. Even in the high season though, there are so many options you will definitely find something in your budget. The staff was terrific: Elise was so sweet and Estaban went out of his way to show us a great time. The other guests were so much fun, we felt like we had our own little Costa Rican family, even cooked a big dinner in the shared kitchen one night. I thought the location was great. We were a quick walk or bike ride from the beach and the town. I highly recommend Surf Camp and hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We spent a full week at Mal Pais Surf Camp, and never wanted to leave.
Amazing place, great staff, flawless service.
It's like a family with folks coming back year after year.
And you get off the beaten track close enough to town, but far enough to feel out of the tourist path.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed here for about 3 weeks in January and loved it! Its the third time we have stayed here and cant recommend it enough. Douglas (the owner) is a really nice guy who runs a great surf camp with a great friendly atmosphere and Elise is brilliant too, so friendly, helpful and welcoming as are all the staff here! The food is soooo good, the rooms are really clean and comfy and the campground is great, the lush tropical pool and grounds are beautifully kept and the beach is less than a minute stroll away with great waves and soo much wildlife, its so nice to stay here also because although the town is a short walk away you really feel like your staying in your own little paradise! Really hope to be back next year :-)

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alinwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Beautiful! my fourth visit was as great as the first. Weather, waves, vibe all awesome. Douglas and Elise and the rest of the staff made it a wonderful time. I will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Just returned from my 7th stay at Mal Pais Surf Camp and it was as always a great time with great people, staff, food, surf, fishing, and weather. Its a guaranteed good time. We have been from one end of Costa Rica to the other and we will always return to Surf Camp and from now on it will be our only destination in Costa Rica. Upon arrival this trip, we were greeted by a new staff member who informed us he was there to do whatever we needed. We haven't been treated this well when paying $400 a night at the Marriot. While there is petty theft on the beaches,[do not leave Anything unattended}, I would not say it was dangerous. I have had my children and grandchildren at Surf Camp and will continue to do so. Upon arrival you will notice the pool, pool table, ping pong, bar, HD TV, great music, and also the high chairs and playground for kids. One Canadian surf couple had their 16 month old son with them. So if your out going and love and enjoy meeting people of all ages within the international surf community then Mal Pais Surf Camp is for you. Peace, Love and Pura Vida

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#1 of 8 in Mal Pais
522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 8 in Mal Pais
149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#7 of 8 in Mal Pais
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#6 of 8 in Mal Pais
42 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#5 of 8 in Mal Pais
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mal Pais Surf Camp & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mal Pais Surf Camp & Resort

Address: Lista de Correo, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Mal Pais
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Mal Pais Surf Camp And Resort
Mal Pais Surf Camp Hotel Mal Pais
Mal Pais Surf Camp & Resort Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing