We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here if You are a Surfer”
Review of Hotel Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Oasis
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Reviewed July 30, 2007

For the ride across the ocean on a barge, and the rocky drive to Mal Pais, I wouldn't recommend this "hotel."

There is not much to this property, and if you are used to nice accomodations don't stay here. There is a little cooking area outside with a refrigerator. Inside, there is little more than just beds. I know that one goes to Mal Pais for surfing, but I wanted to watch TV before falling asleep. There was no TV (there might be now).

The doors allow plenty of bugs to crawl under at night, along with geckos, to join you in bed or make noises on your ceilings at night.

There was a property next door that showed movies, outdoors, at night while the crabs crawled across your feet. Other than that, I was aware of no night life.

Mal Pais is mostly a surfing area, not suitable for those of us that are used to entertainment and nicer hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gettaway_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 149 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2007

Stayed at Hotel El Oasis in Mal Pais on the Nicoya Peninsula for 3 nights. Overpriced - cabins aren't kept up well. Ceiling fan was very noisy and didn't work well. They did promptly deliver a standing fan which worked great, but they seemed a bit annoyed. There were burnt out light bulbs, and a very worn out set of pots and pans and cutlery for the kitchen. I think $70 a night is too much for what they offer. Their little pool is nice, but quite small. When we were awakened by someone next door zooming around on a motorcycle for 1/2 an hour, we complained to the Oasis staff who looked at us like we were crazy to complain. They didn't seem concerned about provided top notch service here.

5  Thank SophyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank spicekariboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
1  Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JeroenNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
1  Thank Frangonzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
580 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 8 in Mal Pais
424 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#2 of 8 in Mal Pais
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#6 of 8 in Mal Pais
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#5 of 8 in Mal Pais
173 reviews
1.1 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 8 in Mal Pais
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis

Address: | 300 Meters South of Playa Carmen Intersection, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range: $89 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oasis 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oasis is a cozy, friendly, family-owned hotel in Mal Pais (or Malpais) on the southern tip of the Nicoya Peninsula. It is located just a mile away from the Cabo Blanco Nature Reserve, and steps away from the Pacific Ocean.Costa Rica’s famous Playa Carmen and Santa Teresa beaches are a five minutes walk away. Both beaches are considered some of the best surf spots in all Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Hotel Mal Pais
Hotel Oasis Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing