We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Oasis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Oasis
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Beautiful bungalows with porch overlooking the Pacific with full cooking facilities and beautiful tropical gardens with clean deep swimming pool run by a very pleasant Israeli couple.
10 minutes walk to mal Pais beach and shops.
This is our choice of stay when we come back to mal Pais $73 per night inc tax
Our favourite in all costa Rica, wish we had stayed for a week.

Room Tip: It was a nice change to go to the supermarket and cook our own meals for a few days, we like the pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wallymcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    23
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
42
64
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alta, Wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We have stayed at the Oasis for many visits and each time it is like visiting family. Marianne and Haim are very accomodating and will do anything to help you be comfortable. We love the bungalows.They are clean and spacious for a couple and we love having a kitchen, especially for an extended stay. It's a great location, close to the beach, restaurants, and shops. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and it's a great place to watch the birds and relax on your covered patio. Every year they make improvements and we feel it is a value priced accomodation in a great location. We are already looking forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We returned to the Oasis earlier this year, and (as always) it was a delightful experience! The grounds are lush, the rooms are comfortable and our hosts are superb. I have been all over Costa Rica and this is my favorite place to stay and to visit. The hotel is clean and comfortable, the surfing is excellent, the beaches are clean, people are friendly, food is fabulous and margaritas are large. Yaaaaa!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SurfSandArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

We are just back from spending 11 days at the Hotel Oasis. It is a wonderful little hotel to relax. The well stocked little cottages are clean and confortable. There always seems to be an ocean breeze so there was never a need for AC. The veranda out front was delightful and a great place to watch birds and local wildlife. We almost always had the pool to ourselves and the comfy lounge chairs were a great place to curl up and read a book. It is a short walk to the wonderful beach of Mal Pais and Santa Teresa, where you can watch the surfing or walk to the many tide pools in the area. It is only a couple of blocks to some terrific restaurants in the area. We hope to be back at the Oasis soon!
Thanks for a wonderful stay Marianne and Haim.

Room Tip: Any of the three cottages would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanniToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

My boyfriend came to visit me in Costa Rica and we spent three nights at Oasis. After spending every weekend in hostels, this was luxurious! The property is beautiful and the bungalow was very well-kept. We spent most of our time at the pool or the beach during the day because of the heat. The bungalow didn't cool down to a comfortable temperature until late at night, around 10. We used the kitchen every day for all of our meals - the burners took a while to heat up, and we ended up not buying any meat to cook because we weren't sure if the burner would be hot enough to cook it! The store and restaurants are a 5 minute walk away. The road to the beach is 200m down the road from Oasis.
We only stayed here for three nights and had another place booked for the last two nights of our trip, but I wish we would have stayed in Oasis the whole time! It is the best place you will find for your money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed here at the end of February. It was great!!! Marianne was very helpfully but left you to yourself. Short walk to the beach and town. The pool is wonderful and staff are very friendly. Only down side was no air conditioning which made it a bit uncomfortable a couple of nights. It would be easy to just get lost down here though. Mal pais is amazing!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rotorslapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

A friend and I shared a non-airconditioned bungalow at the Hotel Oasis the last few days of January and first few days of February. We were extremely pleased with our stay. The ceiling fans were more than sufficient to keep us comfortable in the evenings. (We were out and about during the daylight hours.) Also, being set higher up on the hillside, we enjoyed the gentle breezes that came through the grounds of the resort. Although the beds all came with mosquito nets, we found that our stay during the dry season made them unnecessary. The bungalow came with a small fridge, hot plate, and dishes with drying rack. I missed not having a microwave, but not significantly as the only meal we ate in the bungalow would be primarily fresh fruit and juices purchased at local grocery stores. There is no restaurant on site or poolside bar, but proper planning and a well stocked fridge took care of that. The owner of the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful in setting up any activities we wished to participate in...a service level not frequently associated with hotels in this price range. The pool and hotel grounds overall are clean and quite pretty. I would recommend Hotel Oasis without reservation for those looking for a quality experience at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sketcheroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#1 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#4 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.6 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#5 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#6 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis

Property: Hotel Oasis
Address: 300 Meters South of Playa Carmen Intersection, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oasis 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oasis is a cozy, friendly, family-owned hotel in Mal Pais (or Malpais) on the southern tip of the Nicoya Peninsula. It is located just a mile away from the Cabo Blanco Nature Reserve, and steps away from the Pacific Ocean.Costa Rica’s famous Playa Carmen and Santa Teresa beaches are a five minutes walk away. Both beaches are considered some of the best surf spots in all Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Hotel Mal Pais
Hotel Oasis Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing