We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic Spot in Mal Pais”
Review of Hotel The Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel The Place
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Chic Spot in Mal Pais”
Reviewed January 21, 2010

Our stay here was a great surprise. The modern decor and fabulous outdoor space made our visit so much more enjoyable. The beautiful pool area was perfect for hanging out and enjoying the sun with comfy lounge chairs and umbrellas, as well as hammocks for chilling in the breeze. We stayed in the villa which was very comfortable and had a great living space for us all to hang out in with 3 different outdoor spaces with a table and chairs for dining, outdoor beds, and a hammock. The beds in each of the rooms were a little hard and didn't have much cover but, it's pretty warm out there and the airconditioning works great. The staff were wonderful and very accomodating. I would go back in a heartbeat.

It is quite the trip to make it to Mal Pais between the pot holes and dirt road but, once you're there you have reached paradise. The hotel is in close proximity to the "town square" where great restaurants, shops, and surfboard rental can be found.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gloriousglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    38
    14
    9
    8
See reviews for
31
82
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Since this is the first (and maybe only) review I've ever written, that alone should say how great The Place is. Yes, location is important...and with a short walk to Playa Carmen, The Place has it. But with immaculate rooms, an amazing pool and grounds, and a restaurant (Chez Mois) which makes you feel like you're missing something if you go out to eat - as well as all the amenities you don't have at home - The Place has the whole package. Credit must be paid to Yvonne whose Swiss way of doing things shows clearly in the facilities and operations...to Candice, Janine and Florence whose welcoming and accommodating demeanors make them instant friends, and to Nico whose cooking needs to be discovered beyond just Mal Pais. No sane person will be anything but ecstatic with their stay at The Place

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BreckNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2009

The Place is a wonderful, a very clean and a very friendly place. I would go there anytime again. And can recommend it to everybody. We stood there 16 nights and it was very sad to leave.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnamariaHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2009

When we found The Place, with it's enticing oasis-like pool, it was like love at the first sight. The African-themed bungalow we stayed in was spacious, clean, and everything that we needed when we arrived after 7 hours of rough off-roading from Samara Beach. The manager, Candice, was friendly and helpful. A great stay overall!

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank harrysurja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2009

we drove by and wanted to stay for 3 days but we stayed til the end 1o days later. That should say enough about this perfect place. Thanks and see you for sure again.

  • Liked — privacy at your bungalow and perfect pool
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FriedlVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2009

I stayed in the Place for 8 nights, with my friend in the last week of October. The hotel was wonderful, very close to the Playa Carmen. It was getting some remodel and our room was not available but we got a better deal:) The Aftrican Bungalow, what a treat!!! The Bungalow was amazing, very spacious with extra day bed and very comfortable bed. The pool at the place is to die for....had the whole hotel to ourselves. The service at the Hotel is excellent, very helpful and willing to go above and beyond to make your stay very enjoyable. I would highly recommend The Place!!! I definitely will be back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surfgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2009

The Place has a very unique design and each bungalow is individually decorated. The pool is very cool with great landscaping. The location is a short walk (5 min) from the center of town so it was great to be secluded but also close enough to walk for dinner and drinks. The staff/host was excellent, she pointed us in the right direction every time and made our experience more enjoyable. The only dislike is there was no personal mini fridge to keep drinks cold.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMC7389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
565 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 8 in Mal Pais
423 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#1 of 8 in Mal Pais
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#6 of 8 in Mal Pais
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 8 in Mal Pais
149 reviews
1.2 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 8 in Mal Pais
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Place

Property: Hotel The Place
Address: 200 mts from Hotel Frank's Place direction Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel The Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Place is within short walking distance to the main beach Playa Carmen,in close proximity to the center of town with easy access to shops,restaurants and banks. The hotel features standard rooms, bungalows and a vacation home. A beautiful free form pool with waterfall invites our guest for a swimm.You can enjoy breakfast in our lounge in the morning or, starting april 2012, prepare your own meal in our open Rancho kitchen.We gladly organize tours and transfers leaving from the Hotel.The Place is an ideal establishment to relax and feel at home for couples, families and smaller groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel The Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf The Place Hotel
Hotel The Place Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing