We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bijou in Malpais!”
Review of Hotel The Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel The Place
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2009

I did spent 2 weeks at this very nice place, which I call it's a "Bijou". The pool is outstanding! The hotel is located very near to the center of Malpais and the beach is very close. I love the rooms, which are decorated with heart and each bungalow shows up in a different style. I love little Boutique-Hotels as "The Place" and the service is friendly with a warm atmoshpere. I only can recommend that hotel. The staff was very helpful in booking and find your activities.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaconda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 175 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2009

Firstly, I'm very surprised after reading some of the other reviews.
Anyway, we spent two weeks at The Place and loved it, -the service, the bungalows, the food... the works. When travelling is always nice to have someone "local" to trust. We did several "expeditions" while there, and when we asked the staff at The Place for tour recommendations we always got very helpful, but even more importantly, honest answers.

Go, it's the place!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enberget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

This was the most expensive hotel we stayed at on our visit to Costa Rica and it was not worth the money. While the room was nicely furnished it was dusty and bug infested (we were visiting at the end of the dry season). The pool was not clean and the courtyard again was coated with a layer of dust. The upside was a friendly staff, but they did not compare to the level of service we recieved in the two other hotels we visited on our trip to Costa Rica (Pura Vida in Alejuela and El Silencio Del Campo in La Fortuna). I would advise travelers to look elsewhere for a hotel to stay at in Mal Pais.

Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
3  Thank amyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights and did not enjoy the hotel at all. While the bungalows are pretty cool and have an excellent layout, they were not very clean and were run down.

Mal Pais can get very dry and dusty in the warm season which we can live with providing we have a nice place to sleep at night. The sheets seemed clean but the bathroom was disgusting. The toilet looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months, there were brown stains on the inside and the seat was gross. The showers were not clean and i would not go barefoot in that thing.

One our 2nd night there we had an ant infestation and found at least 50-60 ants crawling out of a hole and up the walls. These were not small ants either but very large ones and some had wings. We told the person at reception who was very helpful and sprayed Raid throughout the room that night. Bugs are common in CR but these ants were more than we could comfortably handle. On our last night there we found a scorpion in our room! We ended up pulling the bed away from the wall to sleep that night. I woke-up at about 4am to go to the bathroom, when i noticed there was no water. The water was out for the rest of the day until we left that afternoon.

The pool looks nice but is actually steaming hot. It's not that refreshing to come back from the hot beach and take a dip into a hot pool. Oh and we didn't trust eating at the restaurant there since no one else was eating there.

The staff were friendly but this was by far the worst place we stayed at during our 2 weeks in Costa Rica. They've unfortunately let the place go downhill over the past few years.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meshelle_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2008

We found the Place to be most relaxing and friendly for our 2 night visit. The staff were friendly and cordial the room was very nice and cleaned nicely, the pool divine and breakfasts were excellent. The grounds are very nice and airy with many birds. The AC did not seem to work but the ceiling fans were powerful and it wasnt too warm at night perhaps since we were between seasons. Mal Pais has seriously lovely beach and the town offers many eateries. We enjoyed our stay here and especially the sunsets with Pina coladas.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shreiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2008

We stayed at The Place for 3 nights while in Mal Pais - we were on a budget and couldn't afford one of the cabanas (we did see them and they were really nice) and had to settle on one of the smaller rooms in the main building. Since business was a little slow they gave us a great rate of only $60 night (including tax). Our room was nicely decorated and probably had one of the most comfortable beds I've slept on in four trips to Costa Rica.

The property has one of the nicest pools I've seen in Costa RIca and there are great and comfortable lounge chairs scattered about. Breakfast was offered for $8/person but we chose to eat elsewhere while we were there. They also offer a laundry service for $10/bag that we used.

Next door is Ritmo Tropical which has some really good Italian Food - so good we ate there twice!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

We stayed at the hotel last month and it´s definitly¨ the place¨ to stay. They have a very friendly staff that helped us during all our trip.
The rooms are really nice decorated, we stayed in a bungalow, an open room a lot like costa rican style. We talked to the owner she told us that they are going to remodelate and close them to put a/C, a grate idea because costa rica it´s really really hot!!!!!!!!! We enjoy a lot the amazing drinks mayrol made for us sitting in the pool listening to music a very chilled experience.
Thank´s a lot the place for making our vacations an experience we are never going to forget.
Catalina

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CaliforniaKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
1 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 8 in Mal Pais
429 reviews
1.2 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#6 of 8 in Mal Pais
44 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#2 of 8 in Mal Pais
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 8 in Mal Pais
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#7 of 8 in Mal Pais
117 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Place

Address: | 300 mts south from shopping mall Playa Carmen, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Price Range: $81 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel The Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a charming boutique hotel located in Mal Pais/Santa Teresa, the premier surf destination in Costa Rica. Our hotel is secluded enough to maintain serenity yet conveniently situated within walking distance of the main beach of Playa Carmen along with numerous restaurants, shops and nightlife attractions. The Place features tastefully furnished bungalows, standard rooms and a private villa. Our pool adorned with a waterfall combined with our bar area offers our guests a serene and private environment to kick back an relax. Our multilingual staff will gladly assist you by arranging day trips and other activities in the area at your request. All our prices include breakfast, for special packages and surf retreats please contact us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel The Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf The Place Hotel
Hotel The Place Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing