We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not my kind of place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel The Place
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not my kind of place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My partner and I booked a standard room, and were extremely disappointed as the pictures on the hotels website did not even come close to resembling the room that we stayed in. The room is a decent size, but the room is old, dingy and lacking charm. The room did not have a television, and the internet was hit or miss; sometimes it worked and sometimes it did not. The pool is nice, however, they do not supply pool towels so some of the loungers were really dirty. The staff was not welcoming at all, and quite rude at times. I would not stay here again. Definitely not recommended.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ihearttravelling1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theplace, Manager at Hotel The Place, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear customer

We are sorry to hear, that you did not enjoy your stay. We would like to take the opportunity to clarify some points. We are committed to be an environment friendly business and are conscious of the waste of energy. In all rooms you will find the information about our towel policy. You have a fresh set of towels every day if you wish so, or you can keep your towels an extra day if you decide to help the environment. You always can ask for an extra towel which will be provided. At check in we inform our guests about our free pool towel service. We do not advertise on our webpage that we provide TV’s and unfortunately internet can cause some times a little problem in Costa Rica and it is not in our control.
We do appreciate that you contact the manager on site during your stay, if there is a problem with the staff and we are sure that we can provide a solution.

Hotel The Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    35
    14
    9
    7
See reviews for
27
77
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The location, the friendly helpful staff, the food, Yvonne our host, the beds, the pool, the mojitos everything was really, really great. We were very happy with our stay and hope to return some day.
Ryan

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rpmdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

What a great spot! Nice and quiet and just a touch away from the hub bub of Main Street. Easy walking distance to restaurants and beach. I stayed in one of the little villas overlooking the pool with which easily accommodated three adults and my daughter stayed in one of the basic rooms. Both were very nice and comfortable with easy access to the pool. Restaurant is very good, a little pricey but great selection. A very nice menu selection for the included breakfast was very good, much better than most included breakfasts (recommend the breakfast burrito to keep you satisfied until supper time). Staff was very accommodating and friendly making our stay a wonderful part of our Costa Rican adventure.

Room Tip: All of the rooms appeared to be nice. I loved our little villa but could use a little more path ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darcitalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

A beautiful property, with a handful of bungalows laid out on the hill ensuring privacy. Each bungalow is decorated uniquely and all our stunning. The place has a great pool area, serves amazing breakfasts, plays some decent tunes and is run very efficiently by Yvonne and Chris and their small team of passionate staff.

A great location just minutes walk from the restaurants and five minutes from the surf.

I rarely write reviews on trip advisor unless something is exceptional and the place truly is exceptional

Room Tip: Splash out extra on a bungalow you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MD888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Such an inviting place! We stayed at a very nice bungalow.. We chose the African styled room. Super clean and beautiful property with breakfast included. So relaxing, we didn't want to leave! We were a five minute walking distance to the center of town. Safe and secured parking. Clean pool and beautiful lounge area.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I loved how conveniently located "The Place" is. I did not rent a car but wherever I wanted to go the staff was very gracious to help me. Speaking of the staff Frank and Graciella were so very nice and pleasant. If I wanted to hang out and chat they where there and if I just wanted quiet time to myself they left me alone. They both were quite helpful in any excursions or advetures I was into. They made it very painless and hassle free. Breakfast options are delicious and the sunsets are beautiful by the pool. I also loved the fact that my bungalow was my home for a week. Very nice and clean. There were a few of the red ants at night but I don't think one can do much about that. Ants always have a way and then they go away. I would highly recommend if one is looking for a truly relaxing vacation. Mal Pais is awesome.

Room Tip: get a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waistdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Long story short - "The Place" does not live up to its name or its website. We stayed in The Villa & it was anything but luxurious. Baby ticks, crabs, and lizards to name a few of the fun encounters. It rained the first night and the entire living room area was flooded. It is a shame because it has wonderful potential. The owner is not even present to properly run and oversee the operations. We were very disappointed all around and found another hotel for the remainder of our visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 410girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.8 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#2 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#7 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
1.1 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#6 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Place

Property: Hotel The Place
Address: 200 mts from Hotel Frank's Place direction Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel The Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Place is within short walking distance to the main beach Playa Carmen,in close proximity to the center of town with easy access to shops,restaurants and banks. The hotel features standard rooms, bungalows and a vacation home. A beautiful free form pool with waterfall invites our guest for a swimm.You can enjoy breakfast in our lounge in the morning or, starting april 2012, prepare your own meal in our open Rancho kitchen.We gladly organize tours and transfers leaving from the Hotel.The Place is an ideal establishment to relax and feel at home for couples, families and smaller groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel The Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf The Place Hotel
Hotel The Place Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing