We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful Hotel, wonderful People” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel The Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel The Place
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel, wonderful People”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

When we got there, Candice (the manager) immediately made us feel at home…Very friendly, she spent time giving us tips on where to us where to go, what to see… We also had a great time speaking with her and her husband who is the Chef and prepare delicious meals (Chez Moi Restaurant).
The bungalows are clean, large, comfortable and very nice (equipped with fan and AC). The swimming pool and gardens are very well maintained and really beautiful.
The whole staff is great and friendly (thanks Nicolas – the Barman). A special thanks to the owners who have invited us to a barbecue with their friends!!
If you like big resorts with standardized room without any soul ….don’t stop there because it is just the opposite. It is a place to relax, chill out and lay back….
There is also Laurent (Lolo), the surf instructor, Candice’s friend who can provide surf lessons….he brought me to uncrowned beaches and we had epic surf sessions with him and his wife.

For me “The Place” is the spot to be in Mal Pais – Pura Vida!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoFred_overtheplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    35
    14
    9
    7
See reviews for
27
77
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Close to town yet its own private paradise. Surrounded by beautiful landscaping and lush flowers, the pool and cabanas are arranged for the utmost in privacy and relaxation. The pool is perfect for kids and adults alike with several levels and a soothing waterfall. The lounge chairs are so comfortable and the food is fantastic. We were in Malpais for 10 days and The Place made the best breakfast! The owner is super friendly and full of great advice for activities. The manager Candice is also fabulous for planning activities (quad rental, zip line and snorkeling). We walked to the beach and town with ease. After a long day in the sun, The Place is so welcoming and relaxing - fantastic open kitchen for guests to use to prepare your own meal as well as a bar/restaurant area if you aren't up for cooking. The kids loved the pool and the cabanas are positioned so well that you hardly see one from another. Clean, modern, fresh. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ny, Ny
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

The Place is quiet and relaxing. Spent a week there and enjoyed every minute of it. Owner is very nice and willing to help us whenever we needed anything. I recommend staying here if you have the chance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights Thursday through Saturday. Unfortunately it was the week of Semana Santa but the bar here is very accommodating for travelers unaware of the religious dry days. =)
The pool is great, clean and the lounge area is small but comfy for about 15-20 people. There were never more than like 8 people in the area so it was very nice.
We had the Mexican themed room and we had no issues. I was surprised about the swinging bathroom doors and open wall situation but we figured it out. I like the bar tab system because it's convenient, grab a beer and hop back in the pool.
Candace was amazing and helped us immensely throughout our trip. She even warned us that if we wanted to make the ferry off the island after semana santa we'd need to leave the hotel 3+ hrs to get there on time. I thought it to be too much time but trusted her judgement and I'm thankful I did.
On another note, I happened to be a guest at the hotel when the reviewer below had the lamp issue. I was quite surprised at how the situation was handled by the owner. I was also surprised, from a business aspect, that in a room that goes for $100 per night, such a costly lamp would be used for decoration, in an area that would be at risk for breakage. This is an unfortunate circumstance that hopefully won't be repeated.
All in all I'd consider staying there again.

Room Tip: seems that the love rooms is not the best choice. I had the mexican themed room with no issues, howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

The place has had several bad reviews and it all comes down to the inhospitable owner. We spent 8 days here and enjoyed the hotel. We met great people and the manager, Candace, was awesome. At the end of the week stay, we accidentally broke a lamp by accident. When we reported it to the manager, she called the owner who was very short, rude, and unwilling to listen. She ended up charging us $80 for the lamp, stating that the cost + the time it would take her to replace it warranted the price. After further discussion she tried to claim that the price for the lamp is justified since she gave us a deal on our weeklong stay. Needless to say, business lost! We will not be recommending this place to friends.

However THE PLACE NEXT DOOR is HALF the price with nice facilities and rooms with complete walls. Did we mention that the walls of our bungalow were not sealed properly and we had crabs sneaking into our room in the middle of the night.The hotel's solution was to give us a few extra towels to stuff all the cracks!!! The manager said that it was common for them to get everywhere but no one in the hotel next door had crabs in their room =)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tahnete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theplace, Propietario at Hotel The Place, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear Trip advisor
This client has signed and agreed by check in that he will be responisble for any damages on the property done by him. False statement from the client that i justified the broken lamp charge ( 50% of the original price!) because they have received a discount ! She called me a lier. The client is comparing our hotel with the one next door, were they did not even stay, in price and quality. We can not be critizised by angry clients which do damages to our hotel and beeing charged for, in a business sence. Also the client can not quote the owner or staff or make a comparason of two hotels next to each other acording to trip advisor policy.
Please take this critic asap of our site.

Looking forward to hear from you

Hotel the place
Yvonne Khan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed there for three nights and had a great time there. The stuffs were very friendly the whole time. It was possible to take two friends from outside to the pool area. The bungalows looked awesome and were really clean. The whole area looks very sophisticated. In the "town" you will find a backery maybe the better (cheaper) choise for breakfast. But try the cocktails at the bar!!!! Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mese m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Spent 4 nights at the place this past January on vacation. My boyfriend and I stayed in a bungalow room and the accommodation was great. The bungalow was big and had AC a fan, hot water and other amenities.

Candice, the manager was fantastic. She helped arrange everything for us and was incredibly helpful! She knows everything about Costa Rica, and pointed us in all the right directions.

The restaurant at the hotel, Chez Moi was delicious, and has a great chef. We ate there most nights and mornings.

Overall, had a great experience at The Place and would highly reccomend staying there.

Thanks, Candice!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amandadilauro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.8 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#1 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#6 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#4 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Place

Property: Hotel The Place
Address: 200 mts from Hotel Frank's Place direction Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel The Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Place is within short walking distance to the main beach Playa Carmen,in close proximity to the center of town with easy access to shops,restaurants and banks. The hotel features standard rooms, bungalows and a vacation home. A beautiful free form pool with waterfall invites our guest for a swimm.You can enjoy breakfast in our lounge in the morning or, starting april 2012, prepare your own meal in our open Rancho kitchen.We gladly organize tours and transfers leaving from the Hotel.The Place is an ideal establishment to relax and feel at home for couples, families and smaller groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel The Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf The Place Hotel
Hotel The Place Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing