We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fun stay, Incredibly rude owner” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel The Place
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
california
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun stay, Incredibly rude owner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The place has had several bad reviews and it all comes down to the inhospitable owner. We spent 8 days here and enjoyed the hotel. We met great people and the manager, Candace, was awesome. At the end of the week stay, we accidentally broke a lamp by accident. When we reported it to the manager, she called the owner who was very short, rude, and unwilling to listen. She ended up charging us $80 for the lamp, stating that the cost + the time it would take her to replace it warranted the price. After further discussion she tried to claim that the price for the lamp is justified since she gave us a deal on our weeklong stay. Needless to say, business lost! We will not be recommending this place to friends.

However THE PLACE NEXT DOOR is HALF the price with nice facilities and rooms with complete walls. Did we mention that the walls of our bungalow were not sealed properly and we had crabs sneaking into our room in the middle of the night.The hotel's solution was to give us a few extra towels to stuff all the cracks!!! The manager said that it was common for them to get everywhere but no one in the hotel next door had crabs in their room =)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tahnete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theplace, Propietario at Hotel The Place, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear Trip advisor
This client has signed and agreed by check in that he will be responisble for any damages on the property done by him. False statement from the client that i justified the broken lamp charge ( 50% of the original price!) because they have received a discount ! She called me a lier. The client is comparing our hotel with the one next door, were they did not even stay, in price and quality. We can not be critizised by angry clients which do damages to our hotel and beeing charged for, in a business sence. Also the client can not quote the owner or staff or make a comparason of two hotels next to each other acording to trip advisor policy.
Please take this critic asap of our site.

Looking forward to hear from you

Hotel the place
Yvonne Khan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    35
    14
    9
    7
See reviews for
27
77
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed there for three nights and had a great time there. The stuffs were very friendly the whole time. It was possible to take two friends from outside to the pool area. The bungalows looked awesome and were really clean. The whole area looks very sophisticated. In the "town" you will find a backery maybe the better (cheaper) choise for breakfast. But try the cocktails at the bar!!!! Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mese m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Spent 4 nights at the place this past January on vacation. My boyfriend and I stayed in a bungalow room and the accommodation was great. The bungalow was big and had AC a fan, hot water and other amenities.

Candice, the manager was fantastic. She helped arrange everything for us and was incredibly helpful! She knows everything about Costa Rica, and pointed us in all the right directions.

The restaurant at the hotel, Chez Moi was delicious, and has a great chef. We ate there most nights and mornings.

Overall, had a great experience at The Place and would highly reccomend staying there.

Thanks, Candice!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amandadilauro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

The beach house style rooms were really well designed and comfortable. The staff were also very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rivkahrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

This place is a piece of paradise, well positioned a very short walk to all the action. Candice was a superb host, the pool and the bar very inviting and as an added bonus the monkeys eating fruit in the tree next to our cabin and the iguanas scurrying along the tin rooves was very entertaining. Overall, very clean and great value.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

great great great hotel
We stayed in the room and the bungalow and had a first-class stay
the daily managers (Candice and Nico) were the best we could find to make our stay absolutely fantastic
we enjoyed every minute of our stay and even canceled another hotel in Jaco (avoid!) to stay longer
The hotel is very well maintained, the swimming pool is perfect to chill-out, the atmosphere is friendly and stylish. The food is great and affordable, a beautiful mix of Belgium-French and exotic cuisine.
The location is perfect, just 2 minutes away to the town center with the Playa Carmen surf spot and 15 minutes to the beautiful Playa Hermosa.
The staff was always available and helpful.
Futhermore the location of Malpais has managed to keep its local touch, the nature is still wild, as untouched as it can be for a touristic place and so beautiful.
The name is right, for us that was "THE place"

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xavier A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We arrived to The Place for 3 nights in a room - we enjoyed everything, the location is perfect, just 5 min from the "center", 5 min from the sea, Candice, in charge of the hotel has been very helpfull explaining all there is to do around Mal Pais.
The restaurant is excellent, the best we tried in town, impeccable value for money and great chilled out atmosphere for a dinner next to the swimming pool. And the breakfast banana pancakes and waffles are delicious !
After those 3 days, we moved on to Jaco, expecting the same laid back atmosphere, but were so disappointed that we actually decided to come back to The Place and enjoy the rest of our stay in Mal Pais instead!! ... We also upgraded to a bungalow in the process, which I recommend as they are really lovely.
It is one of the rare place we would happily go back to on a regular basis to relax and enjoy all there is to do there (the surfing is amazing).
Best Wishes to everybody at The Place - I hope we'll come back soon enough !!!
Frederique and Xavier

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.8 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#2 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#7 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#9 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
1.1 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#6 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Place

Property: Hotel The Place
Address: 200 mts from Hotel Frank's Place direction Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel The Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Place is within short walking distance to the main beach Playa Carmen,in close proximity to the center of town with easy access to shops,restaurants and banks. The hotel features standard rooms, bungalows and a vacation home. A beautiful free form pool with waterfall invites our guest for a swimm.You can enjoy breakfast in our lounge in the morning or, starting april 2012, prepare your own meal in our open Rancho kitchen.We gladly organize tours and transfers leaving from the Hotel.The Place is an ideal establishment to relax and feel at home for couples, families and smaller groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel The Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf The Place Hotel
Hotel The Place Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing