We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to see the sunset in Mal Pais”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vista de Olas
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
159 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best place to see the sunset in Mal Pais”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

The drive up to Vista de Olas is horrible but it is worth it once you get there. The infinity pool has a swim up bar and there is a hot tub too. Staff are friendly and helpful and the food is good. You chose what you want to eat and then BBQ it yourself. Friends had rib eye steaks and said they were delicious, my chicken was good too. There is a very relaxed, friendly atmosphere as everyone watches the sunset, which is spectacular most days.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    49
    12
    13
    11
See reviews for
36
343
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

First time to Costa Rica.. First time vacationing as an adult and I couldn't have imagined staying in any other place in CR. Breathtaking views, wonderful staff, and the most relaxing atmosphere. Loved the privacy of having only 5 villas during the day and after 4 is a party. We stayed week of 2/17/14 and weather was perfect! No bug bites. Wifi only available in restaurant/pool area so got to relax on the day bed and catch up on Netflix. Roger and Heidi were so wonderful in getting everything for us. They really want to make sure you're taken care of as well as the staff. They have a cat and 2 big dogs which didnt bother us at all.

Def rent an ATV, hotel sits on top of a steep dirt/rocky hill. Close to neighboring town Santa Teresa. Ziplining and guides were awesome. Waterfall tour was cool. Got to jump into the swimming hole. Be prepared to hike! I shouldve hit the gym at least once lol.

We are two extremely busy female friends in our early 20s with 2-3 jobs/school/a kid back home in the snowy Boston/merrimack valley and loved that Vista was our little piece of escape from life. It was like Heaven!! I can't wait to return sometime soon!!

P.S. Their sons and Diego were a lovely piece of eye candy and wonderful to talk to ;) which made our stay that much better. We loved their accents and could listen to them talk all day :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eang T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My husband and I travel twice a year, so we have a bit of experience (good & bad). This is one of the best experinces we have had. From the moment Swen picked us up at the Tambor Airport until he hugged me goodbye a week later, we felt like valued and respected members of the family. Mikey was a great tour guide and we loved that he took us to Chico's for lunch.
Our room was comfy and very clean. My husband groused about the lack of TV for about a minute... then didn't even notice there wasn't one. The outdoor shower was perfect. Diego's breakfasts were great, but his "Good Morning" and description of what he was preparing was delightful. John, TJ, Chrissie, tthe grounds keepers etc..were all welcoming, friendly, caring and respectful. We always felt safe and secure. With only 5 Villas, we were able to make friends with other guests. It was intimate and comfortable. Roger was athe perfect host.... the regular guy having you over for a weeklong stay. Would we go back? In a heartbeat!
Elaine & Phil W Worcester MA

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed at Vista de Olas last week (March 3-8, 2014). It was like heaven! Wish we were still there enjoying the beautiful ocean vistas from the infinity pool while sipping a drink made by TJ and enjoying dinner served out in the open fresh air under the moonlight. Roger, Heidi and their staff were awesome. We never wanted for anything. They definitely have the gift of hospitality, always have smiles on their faces and are always looking for ways to make our stay more enjoyable. We brought back brochures to give to all our friends! Having our own private villa was awesome! The cleaning staff kept it immaculate. The outdoor shower was a wonderful and unique experience. Where else can you shower while gazing up at a sky full of stars?

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa #5 and can highly recommend it. Some friends we met showed us their villa, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Vista de Olas is certainly one of the best options for lodging in the Santa Teresa/Mal Pais area. There are tons of hotels, and most of them aren't worth mentioning. At Vista de Olas you get top notch service, and all of the staff works incredibly hard to ensure all the guests are taken care of. The pool and rooms are amazing, all with great views and the sunsets alone are worth a visit. The breakfast was always a nice touch (consisted of toast, fruit, drinks, and one dish - usually eggs), and the morning staff is always extra friendly. The fruit was always fresh.

My tips: Rent an ATV from Roger. They are cheaper the best way to get around town.
While sunsets are spectacular from the pool area, make sure to enjoy it during the morning and early afternoon hours. That is about the only time that you will have some privacy at the pool.
The beach at Cabo Blanco is a must see during low tide. You can walk out to some coral, and it is several hundred meters from shore.

Room Tip: All the rooms are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jordan6429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

My husband and I went to Vista de Olas for our honeymoon in 2013. We loved it so much that we came back for our 1 year wedding anniversary and brought two friends. The staff was amazing, as always. Diego's breakfasts every morning were delicious!!! Everyone that works at Vista de Olas is wonderful. They make you feel like you're family there. The villas are beautiful and the views, breathtaking. Roger and his family have done an amazing job building this place. When we return to Costa Rica, which hopefully wont be long, there is no question where we will choose to stay. Thanks again Roger!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We had a fun and relaxing time during our stay! The owner Roger, his fam and staff were all great- super friendly and helpful. That pool was our favorite! It has such an amazing view- we enjoyed the swim up bar & pina colodas every day watching the sunset. The food was amazing! We tried the rib eye, bacon wrapped filet and fish as well as the salad bar - all delicious! We also had breakfast there every morning- all soo good! We really enjoyed the feel of the small resort- in the mornings it was really quiet and peaceful - we would drink our coffee, relax and take in the gorgeous view. In the afternoon, the resort then opened up to the tourists for happy hour which was fun. We stayed in Villa 1- which was convenient, being the first villa off the path- and was still very quiet! Roger and his fam made it very easy when scheduling/arranging our excursions, etc- We did ziplining and the ATV tour/waterfalls and massages - all I highly recommend! It was alot of walking when exploring outside of the resort- and alot of uphill (especially walking back up to the resort). The beach was about a 10-15 minute walk from the resort which wasn't too bad. Overall, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.1 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 9 in Mal Pais
417 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 9 in Mal Pais
146 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#3 of 26 in Santa Teresa
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#5 of 9 in Mal Pais
112 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#6 of 9 in Mal Pais
170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 9 in Mal Pais
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista de Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista de Olas

Property: Hotel Vista de Olas
Address: Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mal Pais
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
#4 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vista de Olas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista de Olas is a refined hotel in Mal Pais perched on top of a peaceful hill. From this vantage point our guests are treated to sweeping views of Mal Pais and watch the most memorable sunsets. The hotel offers 6 sumptuous, secluded deluxe villas with ocean view, AC, open-sky bathroom, and private porch. Hotel amenities include fast WLAN, a luxurious infinity pool and jacuzzi, pool lounge, and the best BBQ restaurant in Mal Pais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vista de Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Olas Mal Pais
Hotel Vista De Olas Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing