We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vista de Olas
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
1 review
“Absolutely Amazing”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Vista de Olas was an amazing experience. The hospitality and friendliness of Roger and Heidi, their awesome sons, and a caring staff only contributed to the beauty of the resort. They went out of their way to make sure we got to experience all Mal Pais had to offer (horseback riding, ATVs, waterfalls, ziplining, etc). And the view of the sunset from the resort pool was one of the most spectacular sights I've seen. Our villa was beautiful, clean, and spacious with good AC. Admittedly, I was not looking forward to the outside showers (although private), but showering under the beautiful night sky full of so many stars was something I will never forget. Absolutely amazing. The entire experience was wonderful, ...except....maybe the driveway. It can be a bit of a challenge to get up to the top if you're not in a 4WD vehicle. But to end on a high note, the morning chef, Diego, made the best breakfast potatoes I've ever eaten in my life.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    49
    12
    13
    11
See reviews for
36
341
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Vista was above any expectations I could have ever had.
We booked with a coupon from " Living Social" so I wasn't sure what I was getting myself into.
The setting is so beautiful you can't put it into words.
The staff was so kind, friendly, caring and helpful with the surrounding area spots to visit.

I can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: There are only 5 villas and we stayed in Villa #2, Roger gave us the history of this location and I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Five star resorts have nothing on V de O. It is so beautiful. The pool is perfect, the villas are clean, and showering under the stars is an experience I will never forget. The staff seem genuinely interested in making sure we had everything we needed. I loved it with my entire being.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GitanaDelMundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polson, Montana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I read those negative reviews and was skeptical...it turns out that Roger and Heidi were the perfect hosts. They went out of their way to make sure we were having a good time. The property is outstanding...the staff is exceptional...the driveway is...well, unforgettable. We used the Living Social package and were never made to feel like second class guests. Upon check-out, there were no surprises...everything was as we were lead to expect. We could not have been happier with the entire experience...except maybe for the driveway!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAUL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My husband and I bought this vacation and looked forward to it for almost a year and we were definitely not disappointed! We loved every second of our stay and wished we could have stayed longer. Roger, Heidi and all the employees were wonderful and helped with anything that was asked for. The view was so amazing that everyone still asks if the pictures are real. Wish we could have brought our dogs and stayed forever!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Roger and Heidi together with their two sons have created Paradise In Mal Pais. From check in until check out they and their staff did everything they could to make our vacation an amazing one. The resort is small and quaint. It is very special that within a few days the guests know each other on a first name basis.

I love the poolside happy hour and watching the sunset. It was the best pool party I have every been to.

I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We loved our stay at Vista de Olas. Our little cabana was luxurious, just beautiful. Sunset at the Rancho, where breakfast and drinks are served, and the view from the infinity pool of the endless beaches was breathtaking. Roger and Heidi were fun, knowledgable, and warmly welcoming. They clearly love their life and their work. The other staff were sweet and accommodating. We bought this on a Living Social coupon, which came with even more than we expected. We are a same sex couple and found ourselves comfortable and happy.

We'd love to go back and can heart-ily recommend Vista de Olas and Mal Pais.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvntry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.1 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 9 in Mal Pais
416 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 9 in Mal Pais
146 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#3 of 26 in Santa Teresa
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#5 of 9 in Mal Pais
112 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#6 of 9 in Mal Pais
170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 9 in Mal Pais
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista de Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista de Olas

Property: Hotel Vista de Olas
Address: Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mal Pais
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
#4 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vista de Olas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista de Olas is a refined hotel in Mal Pais perched on top of a peaceful hill. From this vantage point our guests are treated to sweeping views of Mal Pais and watch the most memorable sunsets. The hotel offers 6 sumptuous, secluded deluxe villas with ocean view, AC, open-sky bathroom, and private porch. Hotel amenities include fast WLAN, a luxurious infinity pool and jacuzzi, pool lounge, and the best BBQ restaurant in Mal Pais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vista de Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Olas Mal Pais
Hotel Vista De Olas Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing