We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Sunsets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vista de Olas
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santa Cruz, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Peace and Sunsets”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Me and my girlfriend had the pleasure of staying at Hotel Vista de Olas, and it was a trip we will not forget. the staff was friendly, the villas in which you stay are private and the pool is amazing. We came from the California cost and we where blown away by the beauty of the coastline and pacific ocean. The breakfasts in the morning where one of my big pleasures, but I think my girlfriend enjoyed the swim up bar more.

I will never forget how beautiful the view was from the infinity pool, match it with the amazing sunsets and the tasty cheap local beer and it was just perfect.

Thank you Vista de Olas for a great week of fun and relaxation

Austin.

Room Tip: Don't drive, Take the small plane from San Jose to Tambor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustinLeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    50
    12
    14
    11
See reviews for
36
355
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, NC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

I hardly know how to begin. This little corner of costa rica is so so wonderful. Hard to get to and far less developed than I'm accustomed to in the states and Caribbean, it's a little slice of heaven on earth.

The Vista has a perfect combination of attention to detail and luxury combined with a family feeling. As two girls traveling alone we felt completely safe and that we were given a good sense of what was safe to do by Roger and his family.

We rented the hotels ATVs had a wonderful time driving up and down the beaches and exploring the towns. The canopy tour was also a fantastic experience soaring above the Costa Rican trees and the ocean.

But the pool and the sunset were perhaps the most magical moments. Watching the sunset over the pacific at the edge of the infinity pool was truly amazing. And when night came the number of stars in the sky twinkling was like looking at heaven. I realize this is full of hyperbole but the whole experience was full of hyperbole.

It was without a doubt my best trip ever. From the fresh fish grilled nightly for us to the beautiful salads to the lush tropical fruit the beautiful mixed drinks -- eating drinking relaxing was all fantastic.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CoreyBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

If you are looking for a beautiful tropical place to relax and enjoy the sunsets, Hotel Vista de Olas is the place. Staff are very accommodating, friendly and helpful. The villas are beautiful. We stayed in Villa #5, which had a great outdoor shower. The breakfast served by poolside is incredible. The owners, Heidi and Roger, are amazing. Roger is very quick to respond to all inquiries and booked all our transportation needs. If you are looking for activity, there is zip lining, ATV riding, surf boarding, and horseback riding. I would definitely recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalianTravelerLargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Our time at Vista de Olas was wonderful! It is absolutely beautiful location. The town, Mal Pais, is a right on the water, but this resort is up on a hill, giving the most beautiful view of the sunset over the water we've ever seen. Having in infinity pool at the edge looking out onto the water makes it even better! The bar and outdoor restaurant are also right next to that pool. Great area!
I think one of the greatest things about this place was the staff. Each person working there, along with the owner, Roger, make it a point to get to know you by name and ask how everything is going with your stay anytime they see you. The resort only has 5 villas, meaning there are 10 people staying there at most at one time. The staff actually want to get to know you and make sure you're taken care of, instead of making you feel like just another number like in any other bigger resort.
Just as a heads up, the resort does not have direct access to the beach, but it is not far. We didn't mind the walk, but everything else about this place definitely makes up for it! Our time here was so great! We would definitely go back and recommend this place to others!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knvisc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Where to start? We stayed in #5- beautiful room, shore and views! Staff was amazing! Pool and food and drink were top notch. Sunsets were perfect! Thank you to Heidi and Roger for this amazing experience including the zip lining and ATV to the Falls. Hated to leave! I miss it all! Heidi took great care of us and I hope to be back again one day!

Room Tip: Loved #5- great view and beautiful room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michj12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

How can you put into words the trip of a lifetime? My husband, who was my fiance at the time, decided to go to Malpais not knowing anything about the location and made the decision to stay at Vista de Olas for our Christmas vacation, best decision ever! After making reservations, we decided to get married while there and since I did not know the area I contacted Roger, the owner, who was helpful beyond belief! We wanted our own bungalow within walking distance of the town even though we had a car and Vista filled the requirements. The pool is the place to be at sunset or any time for that matter. The bungalows are fantastic and the staff goes above and beyond especially Sara, Eric and Sean! From the moment we arrived we were treated like family instead of guests which is what we loved. We got married on the beach at sunset after taking some of the most beautiful photos at the pool. Heidi, Roger's wife made my bouquet of flowers which was so thoughtful as she knew I didn't have flowers. We would relax in the morning by the pool after breakfast, leave to explore the area and return for the sunset and cocktails at the pool. The weather was excellent and the location excellent. Because most people look for something wrong and can't imagine a place being this perfect I will tell you our one complaint......we had to come home!

Room Tip: There are 5 bungalows which all have views of the ocean so any of them are perfect. We stayed in #5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JChinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Both my wife and I enjoyed our experience at Vista de Olas. The staff and family are excellent hosts. While there, we went on the canopy and ATV tour, both of which were excellent experiences. We really loved the cabin views of the ocean (number 4) as well as the outdoor showers and restrooms. However, our favorite spot on the property was the pool which has one of the best ocean views in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jordanelle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 8 in Mal Pais
423 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 8 in Mal Pais
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#5 of 8 in Mal Pais
114 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#6 of 8 in Mal Pais
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 8 in Mal Pais
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista de Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista de Olas

Property: Hotel Vista de Olas
Address: Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mal Pais
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
#4 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vista de Olas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista de Olas is a refined hotel in Mal Pais perched on top of a peaceful hill. From this vantage point our guests are treated to sweeping views of Mal Pais and watch the most memorable sunsets. The hotel offers 6 sumptuous, secluded deluxe villas with ocean view, AC, open-sky bathroom, and private porch. Hotel amenities include fast WLAN, a luxurious infinity pool and jacuzzi, pool lounge, and the best BBQ restaurant in Mal Pais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vista de Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Olas Mal Pais
Hotel Vista De Olas Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing