We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're going to malpaís, this is where to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vista de Olas
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My wife and I bought a package deal for Vista de Olas through living social that included a 4 night stay, a ATV tour to montezuma falls, your choice of zip lining, surf lesson, or horseback riding, a bottle of wine, $30 bar/restaurant/spa credit, 2 welcome cocktails, and a killer BBQ dinner. It was well worth the price by far. Roger, his wife Heidi, and their 2 sons are running a truly special family business with THE BEST villas with the best views on the Nicoya peninsula. Our Vista de Olas experience was our favorite out of many great ones in Costa Rica. I know we'll go back soon. If you're going to malpaís, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeyfromOside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 527 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 weeks there for the second time and again it was unforgettable.
You must be open to this awesome family who run the place and is responsible for bringing all the charm and the key difference between vista de olas and any other place on earth. Each villa is spread apart from one another so you only feel you are in a hotel by sunset around the infinity pool, when others gather around to applaud the most beautiful sunset you have ever seen day after day.
Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Where do I start, well first off Hotel Vista de Olas is a beautiful hotel! It has the best view and the ambiance is so relaxing! My Husband and I went to Costa Rica for our honeymoon and we couldn't have picked as better place to stay. Roger and Heidi both went above and beyond to make both of us comfortable and feel like family! Not only is this place beautiful and peaceful , but the staff is incredible. They took very good care of us and even gave us a little extra with the surprise of flowers and champagne when we arrived, Renting us an ATV for the 6 days we were there, which I highly recommend to do if you stay here. Words can't describe how much being at Vista de olas with the amazing company of Roger and Heidi made our honeymoon all the more special!!! I HIGHLY recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grantannaschmitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Best view and extremely relaxing place..this place is owned by a great family..the vibe is chill and they definetly make you feel like your part of it..they are very accommodating...service is great and the people working there are super friendly...I've been to mal Pais before and have stayed at a couple different places and they've all been good but vista de olas is by far at the top...

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabio714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We arrived at Vista de Olas after a less-than-stellar trip over to the penninsula. The hotel looks just like the photos, beautiful! We were greeted by the bartender and immediately felt at home and relaxed. It was very easy to rent quads from the hotel and it was cheaper than in town. Being able to grill your own food in the restaurant added a unique experience for us, we went off shore fishing one morning and grilled the fish at the hotel that night. Delicious! Our room was very clean and kept up well. Breakfast in the morning was awesome, it made my husband a plantain lover! Roger and Heidi were great hosts and we will definately be back. We had so much fun that we plan to visit them every July with our group of friends! If you're looking for the best sunsets on the coast and the BEST atmosphere a hotel can offer, stay at Vista de Olas!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HMTraveler_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a family run place atop a big hill overlooking the ocean. It's quiet and serene. The rooms are unique and lovely, and the photographs of the sunset over the pool and spa are gorgeous. Be prepared for a serious walk up and down the hill, but this place won't disappoint.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheryti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was the best trip ever.... Roger, Heidi, Michii, Sven... Randall, Rosa everyone was so wonderful. We really felt part of the family while we were there. Our coffee and breakfast in the mornings was always served with an amazing view. The BBQ dinner was delicious there recommendations for everything was spot on!!!
Michii's ATV tour of the jungle and waterfalls was the best, he showed us so much, and had us giggling the entire time. The monkeys, jumping off the waterfall, zipling,and the hike will always go down as one of my favorite!!! His surf lessons were top notch, I got up 5 times!!!! It truly was a perfect vacation... Relaxing, peaceful, adventurous, and full of great company!!! You even sent us pictures.. We will always come back to see you guys! Thank you...Yewwwwwww!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trish f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.1 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 8 in Mal Pais
429 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
595 reviews
0.4 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#6 of 8 in Mal Pais
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#5 of 8 in Mal Pais
175 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 8 in Mal Pais
152 reviews
9.8 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista de Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista de Olas

Address: Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Price Range: $245 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vista de Olas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista de Olas is a refined hotel in Mal Pais perched on top of a peaceful hill. From this vantage point our guests are treated to sweeping views of Mal Pais and watch the most memorable sunsets. The hotel offers 6 sumptuous, secluded deluxe villas with ocean view, AC, open-sky bathroom, and private porch. Hotel amenities include fast WLAN, a luxurious infinity pool and jacuzzi, pool lounge, and the best BBQ restaurant in Mal Pais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vista de Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Olas Mal Pais
Hotel Vista De Olas Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing