We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trip of a life time!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vista de Olas
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
St. Croix
2 reviews
“Trip of a life time!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Where do I start, well first off Hotel Vista de Olas is a beautiful hotel! It has the best view and the ambiance is so relaxing! My Husband and I went to Costa Rica for our honeymoon and we couldn't have picked as better place to stay. Roger and Heidi both went above and beyond to make both of us comfortable and feel like family! Not only is this place beautiful and peaceful , but the staff is incredible. They took very good care of us and even gave us a little extra with the surprise of flowers and champagne when we arrived, Renting us an ATV for the 6 days we were there, which I highly recommend to do if you stay here. Words can't describe how much being at Vista de olas with the amazing company of Roger and Heidi made our honeymoon all the more special!!! I HIGHLY recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grantannaschmitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    49
    12
    13
    11
See reviews for
36
344
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Meadow, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Best view and extremely relaxing place..this place is owned by a great family..the vibe is chill and they definetly make you feel like your part of it..they are very accommodating...service is great and the people working there are super friendly...I've been to mal Pais before and have stayed at a couple different places and they've all been good but vista de olas is by far at the top...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabio714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We arrived at Vista de Olas after a less-than-stellar trip over to the penninsula. The hotel looks just like the photos, beautiful! We were greeted by the bartender and immediately felt at home and relaxed. It was very easy to rent quads from the hotel and it was cheaper than in town. Being able to grill your own food in the restaurant added a unique experience for us, we went off shore fishing one morning and grilled the fish at the hotel that night. Delicious! Our room was very clean and kept up well. Breakfast in the morning was awesome, it made my husband a plantain lover! Roger and Heidi were great hosts and we will definately be back. We had so much fun that we plan to visit them every July with our group of friends! If you're looking for the best sunsets on the coast and the BEST atmosphere a hotel can offer, stay at Vista de Olas!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMTraveler_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a family run place atop a big hill overlooking the ocean. It's quiet and serene. The rooms are unique and lovely, and the photographs of the sunset over the pool and spa are gorgeous. Be prepared for a serious walk up and down the hill, but this place won't disappoint.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was the best trip ever.... Roger, Heidi, Michii, Sven... Randall, Rosa everyone was so wonderful. We really felt part of the family while we were there. Our coffee and breakfast in the mornings was always served with an amazing view. The BBQ dinner was delicious there recommendations for everything was spot on!!!
Michii's ATV tour of the jungle and waterfalls was the best, he showed us so much, and had us giggling the entire time. The monkeys, jumping off the waterfall, zipling,and the hike will always go down as one of my favorite!!! His surf lessons were top notch, I got up 5 times!!!! It truly was a perfect vacation... Relaxing, peaceful, adventurous, and full of great company!!! You even sent us pictures.. We will always come back to see you guys! Thank you...Yewwwwwww!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trish f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

A phenomenal view. An awesome pool. Terrific accommodations. Excellent food. I could say this about a lot of places. And its all true at Vista de Olas. What takes Vista way over the top is the people and their warmth. Roger, Heidi, sons and staff all let us into their lives and shared their piece of paradise with us. We even played with their friendly (and cute) dogs and cats. Roger and Heidi gave spot on advice for all food, activities, and exploring in the region. Trust their recommendations on everything. The ATV tour was a thrill and convinced us that the ATV rental was a must for the whole trip. We were able to balance adventurous outings (zip lining was heart poundingly exciting) with loads of relaxation. It was great to be able to come back from a sweat filled day in the sun and chill back down in the pool while admiring the view. With so much to explore and such welcoming company we are already planning our next trip back!

Room Tip: Villas 4 and 5 get some spill over noise from the at night but it typically doesn't go to late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fritz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Everything was prefect. This was the most relaxing vacation I could ever imagine having. The rooms were the right size for a couple and the bed was super comfortable. On days that we didn't want to go explore or do anything in town, we didn't feel like we missed anything because we still got to see monkeys playing in the trees right outside our room. Roger, Heidi, and the boys make everyone feel like family right from the beginning and do an excellent job making sure you enjoy your stay. I'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.1 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#3 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#5 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#6 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista de Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista de Olas

Property: Hotel Vista de Olas
Address: Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mal Pais
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
#4 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vista de Olas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista de Olas is a refined hotel in Mal Pais perched on top of a peaceful hill. From this vantage point our guests are treated to sweeping views of Mal Pais and watch the most memorable sunsets. The hotel offers 6 sumptuous, secluded deluxe villas with ocean view, AC, open-sky bathroom, and private porch. Hotel amenities include fast WLAN, a luxurious infinity pool and jacuzzi, pool lounge, and the best BBQ restaurant in Mal Pais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vista de Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Olas Mal Pais
Hotel Vista De Olas Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing