We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“What an amazing Trip!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vista de Olas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vista de Olas
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kissimmee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What an amazing Trip!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was the best trip ever.... Roger, Heidi, Michii, Sven... Randall, Rosa everyone was so wonderful. We really felt part of the family while we were there. Our coffee and breakfast in the mornings was always served with an amazing view. The BBQ dinner was delicious there recommendations for everything was spot on!!!
Michii's ATV tour of the jungle and waterfalls was the best, he showed us so much, and had us giggling the entire time. The monkeys, jumping off the waterfall, zipling,and the hike will always go down as one of my favorite!!! His surf lessons were top notch, I got up 5 times!!!! It truly was a perfect vacation... Relaxing, peaceful, adventurous, and full of great company!!! You even sent us pictures.. We will always come back to see you guys! Thank you...Yewwwwwww!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trish f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    44
    11
    11
    10
See reviews for
32
319
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

A phenomenal view. An awesome pool. Terrific accommodations. Excellent food. I could say this about a lot of places. And its all true at Vista de Olas. What takes Vista way over the top is the people and their warmth. Roger, Heidi, sons and staff all let us into their lives and shared their piece of paradise with us. We even played with their friendly (and cute) dogs and cats. Roger and Heidi gave spot on advice for all food, activities, and exploring in the region. Trust their recommendations on everything. The ATV tour was a thrill and convinced us that the ATV rental was a must for the whole trip. We were able to balance adventurous outings (zip lining was heart poundingly exciting) with loads of relaxation. It was great to be able to come back from a sweat filled day in the sun and chill back down in the pool while admiring the view. With so much to explore and such welcoming company we are already planning our next trip back!

Room Tip: Villas 4 and 5 get some spill over noise from the at night but it typically doesn't go to late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fritz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Everything was prefect. This was the most relaxing vacation I could ever imagine having. The rooms were the right size for a couple and the bed was super comfortable. On days that we didn't want to go explore or do anything in town, we didn't feel like we missed anything because we still got to see monkeys playing in the trees right outside our room. Roger, Heidi, and the boys make everyone feel like family right from the beginning and do an excellent job making sure you enjoy your stay. I'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

From the moment we left, until the very last moment of our trip, the staff at Vista de Olas was certain that our stay was perfect! Beautiful location with views and off the path to make it private. We were able to have a surf lesson, ATV tour of the area to a waterfall, zip line tour of the canopy, watch a local surf contest, enjoy many beaches and local restaurants, as well as enjoy a hearty and healthy breakfast every morning and wonderful barbecue dinner while staying at Vista de Olas! I would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: View the website and select your room. All are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HLR541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

From our arrival to the tambor airport we were met with hospitality. it only continued at the hotel. The Crew working this place are amazing, Roger, Heidi, boys and staff treated my friend and I like family from the start, and it only got better. The view and activities were fantastic, the ATV tour and zip line battle each other for first place. I fully intend to book again for next year and actually surf this time. The horse riding on the beach is engrained in history as my Facebook profile photo. This trip was outstanding, I highly recommend this hotel its so worth the memories you will create. I am still on a Costa Rica vacation high..
Thanks Vista crew. You are truly fabulous.

Room Tip: There are five villas to choose from, mine was villa 4 and it was just as the website showed. Absolu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Serena, Chile
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

from the first day Roger and Heidi, their boys made me feel like family i have been all over the world to many resorts but this is the first one that i truly hated to leave--got me so stoked about the area im already looking for property in the same area.
the surfing was totaly awesome-atv ride was a hoot--and zip line i could do a couple of times. as far as the resort itself the dinners were out of this world loved the ribs--guess i just loved the total kick back aura of the resort and never felt so at home on a vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fred f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We miss The view of the ocean at Vista De Olas, and Roger, Heidi and the boys. The atv tour was the best, thanks Swen. We also really enjoyed the boat adventure and surfing lessons Michi and Antony were great. The fish and mohito's were so delish at the resort. It was an epic trip. Thank you. Jamie and Jay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6555339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.1 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
9.8 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#6 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#7 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#9 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista de Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista de Olas

Property: Hotel Vista de Olas
Address: Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mal Pais
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
#4 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vista de Olas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista de Olas is a refined hotel in Mal Pais perched on top of a peaceful hill. From this vantage point our guests are treated to sweeping views of Mal Pais and watch the most memorable sunsets. The hotel offers 6 sumptuous, secluded deluxe villas with ocean view, AC, open-sky bathroom, and private porch. Hotel amenities include fast WLAN, a luxurious infinity pool and jacuzzi, pool lounge, and the best BBQ restaurant in Mal Pais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Vista de Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Olas Mal Pais
Hotel Vista De Olas Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing