We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Fabulous stay at Vista de Olas!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vista de Olas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vista de Olas
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous stay at Vista de Olas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

From the moment we left, until the very last moment of our trip, the staff at Vista de Olas was certain that our stay was perfect! Beautiful location with views and off the path to make it private. We were able to have a surf lesson, ATV tour of the area to a waterfall, zip line tour of the canopy, watch a local surf contest, enjoy many beaches and local restaurants, as well as enjoy a hearty and healthy breakfast every morning and wonderful barbecue dinner while staying at Vista de Olas! I would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: View the website and select your room. All are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HLR541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    44
    11
    10
    10
See reviews for
32
317
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

From our arrival to the tambor airport we were met with hospitality. it only continued at the hotel. The Crew working this place are amazing, Roger, Heidi, boys and staff treated my friend and I like family from the start, and it only got better. The view and activities were fantastic, the ATV tour and zip line battle each other for first place. I fully intend to book again for next year and actually surf this time. The horse riding on the beach is engrained in history as my Facebook profile photo. This trip was outstanding, I highly recommend this hotel its so worth the memories you will create. I am still on a Costa Rica vacation high..
Thanks Vista crew. You are truly fabulous.

Room Tip: There are five villas to choose from, mine was villa 4 and it was just as the website showed. Absolu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Serena, Chile
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

from the first day Roger and Heidi, their boys made me feel like family i have been all over the world to many resorts but this is the first one that i truly hated to leave--got me so stoked about the area im already looking for property in the same area.
the surfing was totaly awesome-atv ride was a hoot--and zip line i could do a couple of times. as far as the resort itself the dinners were out of this world loved the ribs--guess i just loved the total kick back aura of the resort and never felt so at home on a vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fred f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We miss The view of the ocean at Vista De Olas, and Roger, Heidi and the boys. The atv tour was the best, thanks Swen. We also really enjoyed the boat adventure and surfing lessons Michi and Antony were great. The fish and mohito's were so delish at the resort. It was an epic trip. Thank you. Jamie and Jay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6555339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Nice mix of hotel luxury with real jungle experience lol! House keeping, A/C, fridge, coffee maker, etc all in the room/villa, amazing breakfasts and dinners, swim up bar and infinity pool, ALL the luxury you look for in a typical hotel! However vista de olas then gives it it's own local flair: beautiful scenery, secluded villas (we were in villa 3 and it is the perfect honeymoon villa!) tours that aren't super touristy and take you up slippery cliffs and local roads , casual attire, just enough bugs to make I feel like you're in the wild but not to make you run lol (take bug spray if bugs like you, I'm terrified and they Didnt bother me they stay away from people generally) and the possibility to go out and roam on your own. The staff gives you genuine advice not things to take yor money. Remember this is a business too so obviously some things are a little expensive like drinks but not too bad. He owner roger and his boys were so fun and helpful! I have nothing bad to say! It's a must! Go to vista de olas people!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judyyyy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We are so glad we booked at Vista and had the chance to get to experience an incredibly relaxing yet adventurous trip to Mal Pais! Roger and Heidi were amazing and we loved the low-key vibe and awesome hospitality they offered us. We enjoyed Villa #2 in mid July and I'd go back in a heart beat. The weather was great, I loved the rain storms, breakfast was amazing each morning and we always had plenty of options of stuff to do (ATV tour, horseback riding, surfing, read on the beach, and zipline) - including nothing but relax and enjoy their paradise by the pool. We always seemed to make our way back to enjoy the sunset each night - definitely a highlight! I would highly recommend all of the activities Roger offers, his connections are top-notch and some of our favorites from our 3 week Costa Rica trip!

We're already planning a trip back next summer to bring more friends who all want to come see what we've been talking about!

Room Tip: #2 was great - location was private and was the only villa we think that had both an indoor and an o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EJFRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My nine year old son and I stayed at Vista de Olas for four days late in July and enjoyed every moment there. After running away from a fleabag hotel in Santa Theresa, I saw the sign for Vista de Olas in Mal Pais, drove up the steep, rocky hill, wandered to the restaurant/pool area where some guests were relaxing and instantly knew this was the place! Roger and his wife Heidi are awesome hosts - when Roger says "No Worries" he means it. Forget about it all, this is one relaxing place. The views of the Pacific from the pool are gorgeous, the grounds immaculate, and the bungalows are clean, comfortable, and well designed. From the skeleton key locks to the outdoor showers tiled in a tropical ocean sunset, the particulars of each detached bungalow come together beautifully. The bungalows are an attractive and comfortable respite after a day of surfing, hiking, or fishing. Or, you can just hang out at the awesome infinity pool overlooking the mountainside and the Pacific. Roger's staff are all extremely friendly. Breakfast is great and relaxed, and the bar is open all day. I like the dinners there, you pick your meat (fish, steak, or chicken in various cuts) and grill it yourself on a big grill while the staff gives you a huge plate of salad and vegetables. I didn't think I'd like that, but I did! Also, I didn't think I would care for the intimacy of the place, but I did! Chatting with the others there was fun and we all gave each other tips on what we liked about the days' adventures. Anyway, if you go to Mal Pais or Santa Theresa, you can't go wrong with Vista de Olas, it's worth twice the amount Roger and Heidi charge.

Room Tip: We were in unit 5 I believe. There was one other unit next door, and I think the other 4 were on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hhiwaterlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.1 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
9.8 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#5 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
0.5 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#6 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista de Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista de Olas

Property: Hotel Vista de Olas
Address: Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mal Pais
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
#4 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vista de Olas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista de Olas is a refined hotel in Mal Pais perched on top of a peaceful hill. From this vantage point our guests are treated to sweeping views of Mal Pais and watch the most memorable sunsets. The hotel offers 6 sumptuous, secluded deluxe villas with ocean view, AC, open-sky bathroom, and private porch. Hotel amenities include fast WLAN, a luxurious infinity pool and jacuzzi, pool lounge, and the best BBQ restaurant in Mal Pais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Vista de Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Olas Mal Pais
Hotel Vista De Olas Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing