We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks to Roger and the family for a wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vista de Olas
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 21, 2012

My girlfriend and I purchased the Living Social "Adventure Package," and we loved our six nights at the Vista. To start, Malpais/Santa Teresa itself is certainly off the beaten path. We flew in to Liberia, drove to Arenal for a night, then made the drive down to Malpais. If you choose this route, be ready for the final stretch (about 90 kilometers) of very bumpy, dirt and rock roads. Another (seemingly preferred) option is to fly down from San Jose to Tambor (no direct flights from Liberia to Tambor). Once you get there, the hotel itself is great. Roger, his family and the staff feel like friends by the end of the trip; however, they maintain a degree of professionalism such that anything you want or need is just a request away (do yourself a favor and ask Ty or Dustin to make you a blended fruit drink). The activities (ATVing, horseback riding, ziplining, diving from waterfalls) were quintessentially Costa Rica. The staff know EVERYTHING there is to do and see in the area and will take care of all reservations... couldn't be easier. The pool is gorgeous, and the sunset views have to be amongst the best in Costa.

The extreme minority of average to negative reviews seem to bemoan the lack of modern and resort-like amenities. No, there are no TV's in the villas, and no, the Vista is not the Peninsula. The villas are, however, extremely spacious, clean and comfortable, and if you're on vacation to watch TV, this probably isn't the right place for you anyway! There is wifi in the main area for those news and sports junkies. Thanks again to the whole gang for making it a great trip. Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Vista de Olas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 519 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2012

We just came back from Vista de Olas a few days ago and we absolutely loved our vacation.

We rented a jeep from San Jose and drove to Puntarenas, then took the ferry to Paquera and drove to Mal Pais. The drive was a great adventure, especially between Paquera and Mal Pais. The roads are narrow, with multiple hills and turns. The hill to get to Vista de Olas is quite impressive the 1st time you drive it. It was very convenient to have a car all week to visit the towns around Mal Pais and to drive to restaurants, shops and beaches.

There are a lot of activities to do and Roger was very helpful in planning them for us. We went on the Canopy tour twice, once in the afternoon and we went back a couple of days later for a moonlight Canopy tour, which I will never forget the experience. It was amazing. We also did an ATV tour with Roger’s sons. They are very kind and full of information about the area. We also took a surf lesson and loved it so much that we rented surf boards for the next couple of days and surfed in playa Hermosa which is one of the most beautiful beaches I have been to.

We stayed in Villa 1, which is a beautiful villa; very private and spacious with a beautiful outdoor shower.

The staff at Vista de Olas is extremely friendly and always ready to help. The view from the infinity pool is stunning. You never get bored of watching the sunset every night.

Simply loved our trip and we will definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VacanceReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Roger and his staff were attentive, friendly, and knowledgeable. The villas were all we hoped for, the outdoor bathrooms being unforgettable. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darladenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We spent our honeymoon here on the living social adventure deal. It was beautiful and very fun. The advertised adventures (an ATV tour led by the owner's sons and a private surf lesson) were GREAT and some of the highlights of our trip. The owner picked us up from the airport and was very helpful in providing advice for our trip. When we arrived at 9 pm, they had on loud hip hop and there was definitely a young club vibe.
PROS: location was beautiful, pool/bar/restaurant has a great vibe and beautiful view, staff helpful, the owner went out of his way to facilitate our activities and travel to and from the hotel. BEAUTIFUL view and beautiful beach. the owner has cute cats/dogs that roam around the hotel. activities provided by the owner were so fun.
CONS: you pay for the view with the arduous trip down the hill to the beach/town, to walk to and from the town at night is near impossible (so you basically add a $12 round trip cab ride to your dinner bill if you don't eat at the hotel). The food at the hotel is just okay and overpriced - definitely not as good as some of the places in town (Brisas del mar, basta pasta, franks place (cheap and great authentic tico food)). The room was not well lit and the bed wasn't that comfortable. Also one door didn't close well (both doors lead outside so we never felt totally "inside").

Room Tip: we stayed in villa 3 at the end of the bottom walkway. it was pretty private and had a nice view.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank funkybuttonhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I went to this hotel with my husband and two children (6 and 9) at the end of a vacation in Costa Rica and simply loved it! The view was fabulous and elevates the spirit. The owner, Roger, and his team were warm and helpful and their love for the place created a happy vibe. The beautiful pool serviced with a bar was a huge hit especially with the kids who got a great kick out of being able to sip smoothies while in the water. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated and we enjoyed the outdoor bathroom and taking a shower under the stars. The food was tasty especially the evening barbecues! Overall, a wonderful, magical place for a restful, fun time!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackieM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Roger, the resort owner, is super nice. He picked us up from the airport, scheduled all of our activities and really went above and beyond to make sure our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. While at the resort, we went ziplining and horseback riding on the beach. We also took an ATV tour into the jungle with a pit stop at a butterfly farm before ending the tour at a massive waterfall. We took advantage of the awesome one hour deep tissue massage and we both felt like jelly afterwards. The in-shore fishing was totally awesome as well. I didn't think I would like fishing, but it was amazing seeing the sun rise over the ocean and catching quite a few salmon and grouper. On the way back to shore we saw dolphins, sea turtles and manta rays! That night we got to enjoy the grouper we caught earlier in the day. Nothing like having a freshly caught fish.

The turn-down service was seamless also. We would often wake up early (carpe diem!) for the delicious free breakfast and then head out on an adventure. When we would return mid or late afternoon, the room would be immaculate. We never needed a refill of anything.

At dinner time, you can do a bbq at the resort or, if you're feeling adventurous, you can go into town (a short walk away) and eat at a restaurant there. We had dinner at the resort a couple times and the food was always really good. The tropical drinks are made fresh and the salsa/guac and chips...it sounds simple, but it tasted amazing. Again, it's about the fresh ingredients. You really can tell the difference. Also, order the peach iced tea if you can. It's so delicious and refreshing. My only gripe is that there are not a lot of vegetarian options. If you're a meat lover, you'll be in heaven, though. Since there wasn't a lot of variety for me, I would venture into town and get something vegetarian there. Everywhere we ate in town was amazing. There wasn't a single dish I could complain about.

The beach isn't far away from the resort. I'd say it's a 10-15 minute walk down a dirt road and there are two side paths you can use as shortcuts. I'd suggest using those side routes, because it can get really dusty on the roads due to traffic from pickup trucks and ATVs. The beach is vast and gorgeous and there's ocean as far as the eye can see with a huge sun ever looming. Being so close to the equator, the sun seems so much more majestic. As a result, the sunsets are just spectacular. Just remember to bring a lot of sunscreen. I mean A LOT. It was triple digits on at least one day we were there and it's a different kind of hot. I'm originally from Texas, so I know what I'm talking about. Hehe.

The thing I will miss most about the trip is watching the sun set from the resort's infinity pool. It's such a gorgeous sight that it draws people from town and from other resorts. Many an evening we'd share the infinity pool with locals and people from all over the world. We met people from Newfoundland, Montreal, Toronto, Italy, etc.

All in all, we felt so comfortable, relaxed and carefree. If only we could have stayed longer!

P.S. - Don't be alarmed if you hear a zombie invasion in your sleep. It's just the howler monkeys! It's pretty intermittent. It doesn't happen often and after a while you get used to various sounds of the night. ;) We saw many howler monkeys while we were there. We also saw white-faced monkeys and a huge iguana. It's the jungle, after all! =) - Anna

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Amazing place. Amazing staff. Amazing food. We felt like they knew what we needed before we did. So helpful,so nice. We did the living social deal and felt like we were stealing from them. So much value! Rodger and his family treat you like family. We are homebuilders and were blown away with the quality and detail of the villas and main cabana. WOW!

Best part of our two week trip. Thanks rodger! Sorry it took me so long to write a review. It was hard to come home, after staying in your paradise. The sunsets from the pool are un forgettable.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 8 in Mal Pais
423 reviews
0.4 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 8 in Mal Pais
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#5 of 8 in Mal Pais
173 reviews
9.8 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 8 in Mal Pais
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista de Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista de Olas

Address: Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mal Pais
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
#4 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range: $157 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vista de Olas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista de Olas is a refined hotel in Mal Pais perched on top of a peaceful hill. From this vantage point our guests are treated to sweeping views of Mal Pais and watch the most memorable sunsets. The hotel offers 6 sumptuous, secluded deluxe villas with ocean view, AC, open-sky bathroom, and private porch. Hotel amenities include fast WLAN, a luxurious infinity pool and jacuzzi, pool lounge, and the best BBQ restaurant in Mal Pais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vista de Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Olas Mal Pais
Hotel Vista De Olas Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing