We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location...Breathtaking views...Relaxed ambiance!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vista de Olas
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 27, 2011

The owner and his staff are exceptionally friendly and will go out of their way to make your trip to Costa Rica a fabulous experience. The air conditioned rooms in each villa are quite large and the beds are very comfortable. Complimentary and very delicious breakfasts are served poolside every morning. Watching the sunsets from the infinity pool every evening is a must. Lunch and dinner are available, if desired. The views are so amazing that tourists staying at other places in Mal Pais hear about this paradise and arrive for drinks and/or dinner to be able to enjoy its ambiance. Downtown Mal Pais is close by for shopping as is Playa de Carmen for great surfing. Other fun activities to choose from are: zipline through the rain forest, horseback ride on the beach, ride in a sailboat, or fish.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewrightsva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 519 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2011

Spent just a few days in Mal Pais in January, and this was the highlight of the trip. The property is run by a very welcoming family who has worked tirelessly to ensure every guest has a fantastic experience. The accommodations are very nice, but the true highlight is the pool, restaurant, and bar area. You will experience first class service in an environment that will make you want to spend more and more time in Costa Rica.

Set on a hillside just above the beach, this is a truly amazing location.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljones787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We had a positive feeling from when we first read about Vista de Olas in the Travel Guide and then after looking at the website and Vista de Olas kept its promise. The villas are very nice, a lot of space, big beds, fan, a/c, fridge, great terrace with a stunning view - everything you need. The top where the restaurant, bar and pool area is, is just absolutely amazing, especially the pool with direct view of the ocean, forest etc. The owners are very nice people, you feel like at home with your family. Everything you need can be organised, be it a quad or a massage. The massage was absolutely great, you can have it in your room, they have a massage table - it was fantastic. It was a good desicion to stay with Roger and his family at Vista de Olas, we have found new friends and had a great time. If you like meat then you can barbecue every evening with a great salad bar and meet a lot of people because eventhough they have "only" got 5 villas, everyone can come up for the barbecue at night so an easy and good opportunity to meet other people. We were very sad to leave. Thanks Roger & family for a great time xxx

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKRZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

My boyfriend and I spent Christmas and a few days after at Vista and we had an amazing time. We stayed in #2 and from our room and porch we had a beautiful view of the waves and the sunset. The best part of staying here, for me, was the friendly people I met there. The staff was fun and helpful. The breakfast chef gave us a surfing lesson, driving us down to the beach in his 1968 truck- a real fun experience. The other guests we met during our stay have become friends that I hope to keep in touch with.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deniseiscool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

If you are looking for the most direct connection to the vibe of Mal Pais, Vista de Olas is probably one of your better bets. The proprietor and his family have been active members of the community for years and their hotel serves both regular customers and travelling guests. Getting up the steep hill to this place is an experience in and of itself. Definitely plan to rent a 4-wheel drive car or an ATV if you want to do any exploring around the area, and plan for it to take longer to get around than you expect.

If you are accustomed to a certain standard of service found in more urban, or tourist-y destinations then it may take some initial adjustment to harmonize with the scene. This is especially true for Vista de Olas, but also for the entire Mal Pais area. This area is OFF the beaten path. The community revolves around surfing, and the culture of the community reflects that.

We found our villa/bungalow to be refreshingly secluded and private. It was tastefully decorated, the furniture was minimalist yet quite functional. Even though the main communal area of the hotel was just up the hill-side, we never heard noise or music in the morning or evening. The shades made the room extra dark, the A/C kept the room comfortably chilly, and the mattress was wonderfully firm. The outdoor lavatory and bath was something new for us, but we’re typically game and found it to be a decent experience. While the water temperature in the shower was good, the water pressure could use some work. We didn’t mention it to our hosts, simply because we decided to just go with it.

The “pavilion” functions as the heart of the hotel. The bar, the pool, the restaurant, the reception area, the concierge desk, the kitchen, and most importantly, the awesome view, are all in a single common area. They open the area up to the public around 4 PM and (during the high season at least) many people from town come to have drinks and watch the sunset. At first, we weren’t quite sure what to make of it. Over time, we began to appreciate it as kind of like our neighborhood joint: a place to meet friends and connect with new people. The breakfast and lunch offerings suffer in the sense that there wasn’t any real choice of what to eat. But, we found the breakfasts they prepared to be varied and very tasty.

The dinner service is totally different. There is a great selection of prepared beef, pork, sausage, fish or chicken that the guest must cook over a gas grill, baked potatoes and a salad bar. The quality of the beef is quite good given our experience in Central America and it is worth a dinner here even if you are staying somewhere else (as is the view, by the way). My suggestions would be that the large communal table should be changed out as more flexible four-tops and if possible, that instead of one large gas grill, they perhaps install three smaller ones. It can be difficult to use a grill when there are so many cooks opening and closing the lid, using the tongs, etc..

Overall, we’re pleased with our choice and our experience, even if we were questioning our decision to stay there that first night. There are aspects of Vista de Olas that are an acquired taste, but it is easy and fun to do if you can find a way to relax and adjust your rhythm to their tempo.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilLepanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Me and my husband (both 30 years) stayed 5 nights at Vista de Olas. It´s a good place with an amazing ocean view. The thing is that the hotel is like a "After beach" place were people stay for a couple of hours in the afternoon having some drinks. When the sunset is over a lot of people leave for the restaurnats nearby and some of them stay for the bbq. The bbq ends at 9 o´clock and after that there was nothing to do than go to bed.
We stayed at Vista de Olas in Feruary and there were not many other people staying there. We liked the place but we think that 5 days was a to much. Every day we walked to another hotel (Luz de Vida) located on the beach in Santa Theresa and bougt day passes for the beach and poolarea for 10 dollars incl. lunch. It was a 4-5 km walk, This place was great and located close to many good restaurants.
We think that Vista De Olas is a little bit over charged. You don´t get that much for the money. The breakfast is simple (scrambeld eggs, fruits, toast, lemonade and coffe), the rooms are clean and nice but nothing extra and the staff is friendly but not always available.
If yoú´re looking for a calm and peaceful place Vista De Olas is perfect but a little bit expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elman08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

My wife & I visited a few different areas in Costa Rica for 2 weeks and we had a great time everywhere we went, but we have to say, staying at Vista De Olas in Mal Pais was by far our best experience.

If you are thinking about a place to take that special someone, whether it be for a honeymoon, anniversary, etc., you will not be disappointed with Vista De Olas.

We can't say enough about the property, ocean / sunset view, owners & staff. Thank you so much Roger, Heidi, Swen, Mikey, Danny, Amy, H & Tanya for a wonderful 2nd year wedding anniversary! And their Pina Coladas at the Pool Bar are great also.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VancouverChris37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
585 reviews
0.4 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 8 in Mal Pais
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 8 in Mal Pais
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 8 in Mal Pais
149 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#5 of 8 in Mal Pais
173 reviews
3.8 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#9 of 27 in Santa Teresa
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista de Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista de Olas

Address: Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mal Pais
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
#4 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range: $242 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vista de Olas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista de Olas is a refined hotel in Mal Pais perched on top of a peaceful hill. From this vantage point our guests are treated to sweeping views of Mal Pais and watch the most memorable sunsets. The hotel offers 6 sumptuous, secluded deluxe villas with ocean view, AC, open-sky bathroom, and private porch. Hotel amenities include fast WLAN, a luxurious infinity pool and jacuzzi, pool lounge, and the best BBQ restaurant in Mal Pais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vista de Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Olas Mal Pais
Hotel Vista De Olas Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing